Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Health Care Education

Scholarly Articles + Databases

Health Care Databases

CINAHL [Ebsco]

Includes abstracts of nursing and allied health articles from worldwide, scientific literature presented for the needs of health professionals. Includes abstracts of articles from nursing, allied health, biomedical, consumer health journals, and publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing. Covers health care books, nursing dissertations, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts and educational software. Although a bibliographic database, the CINAHL database continues to include selected original and full-text material. Full text is included for selected state nursing journals and some newsletters, standards of practice, practice acts, government publications, research instruments and patient education material. Coverage begins in 1982; currently over 1170 sources are included. The database contains over 4 million records. LINKS TO FULL TEXT MATERIALS IN OTHER SUBSCRIBED EBSCO DATABASES.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (Ebsco)

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides abstracts and indexing for more than 830 journals, of which 550 are availabile in full text. About 450 of the journals are peer-reviewed. This database includes Clinical Pharmacology, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Michigan Electronic Library logoHealth & Wellness Resource Center with Alternative Health Module (Gale)

MEL.

Provides access to information on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, Prescription Drugs, etc. Sources include journals, books and Internet links.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Cochrane Library (Wiley)

Contains articles and cbstracts/citations from the following evidence- based medicine databases:

  • The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews) Includes Complete Reviews and Protocols. [FULL TEXT]
  • Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
  • The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
  • The Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews (Methodology Reviews)
  • Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Health Statistics and Reports. Michigan Department of Community Health

The Department of Community Health is responsible for the collection of information on a range of health related issues. The information is collected to monitor the general health and well-being of Michigan's citizens. These data are useful for health program development, targeting and evaluation of program progress. The information is used to identify emerging health issues and trends and can be made available for epidemiological research. Statistics are developed from the data collected to provide basic information on these health events in Michigan. The data are provided at the state, county and community level. Included are data on: Natality, Mortality and Other Vital Statistics; Communicable Diseases; Health Care Statistics; Community Health Information; Birth Defect Statistics; Cancer Statistics; Population Trends. Published reports of the Department are also available.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Science Direct

Provides full-text of nearly 1900 journals published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries. Beginning coverage for journals varies, but most start in 1995 or 1996 and continue to the most recent issue. For many titles, articles in press are also available. Most journals are in the fields of science, technology or medicine, but journals in the social sciences, humanities and business are also included. The title holdings listed in "Full Text Journals in UDM Databases" show the start date for journals included in the Science Direct Freedom Collection; for most dates prior to 1995, only abstracts are available.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Full Text Journal Finder

This website will link you to all individual journals or magazines which are Full Text in any UDM subscription database.

Jill A. Turner

Associate Librarian
Reference Services
Dental School Library, McNichols Campus Library

turnerja1@udmercy.edu
313-494-6903 / 313-993-1157

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Journals Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top