Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

African-American Studies

Research Guides

Dudley Randall

African American poets : lives, works, and sources

Pettis, Joyce Owens. (Greenwood Press, 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
PS 153 .N5 P48 2002

Contents: Ai (1947- ) -- Maya Angelou (1928- ) -- Amiri Baraka (1934- ) -- Arna Bontemps (1902-1973) -- Gwendolyn Brooks (1917-2000) -- Sterling Brown (1901-1989) -- Lucille Clifton (1936- ) -- Wanda Coleman (1946- ) -- Jayne Cortez (1936- ) -- Countee Cullen (1903-1946) -- Toi Derricotte (1941- ) -- Rita Dove (1952- ) -- Paul Laurence Dunbar (1872-1906) -- Cornelius Eady (1954- ) --- Mari Evans (n.d.- ) -- Nikki Giovanni (1943- ) -- Jupiter Hammon (1711-1806) -- Frances Ellen Watkins Harper (1824-1911) -- Michael S. Harper (1938- ) -- Robert Hayden (1913-1980) -- George Moses Horton (1797?-1883?) -- Langston Hughes (1902-1968) -- Georgia Douglas Johnson (1886-1966) -- James Weldon Johnson (1871-1938) -- June Jordan (1936- ) -- Etheridge Knight (1931-1991) -- Yusef Komunyakaa (1947- ) -- Audre Lorde (1934-1992) -- Nathaniel Mackey (1947- ) -- Haki Madhubuti (1942- ) -- Colleen J. McElroy (1936- ) -- Claude McKay (1889-1948) -- E. Ethelbert Miller (1950- ) -- Thylias Moss (1954- ) -- Marilyn Nelson (1946- ) -- Dudley Randall (1914- ) -- Ishmael Reed (1938- ) -- Carolyn Rodgers (1945- ) -- Sonia Sanchez (1934- ) -- Melvin B. Tolson (1900-1966) -- Jean Toomer (1894-1967) -- Quincy Troupe (1943- ) -- Margaret Abigail Walker (1915-1998) -- Phillis Wheatley (1753-1784) -- Jay Wright (1935- ) -- Al Young (1939- ).

After the killing

Randall, Dudley. (T[hird] W[orld] P[ress, c1973)
McNichols Campus Library
PS 3568 .A49 A68

Located in the Dudley Randall Collection in the UDM Archives.

Ballad of Birmingham : on the bombing of a church in Birmingham, Alabama, 1963

Randall, Dudley. (Broadside Press, 1965)
McNichols Campus Library
PS 591 .N4 B71 no.1

Located in the Dudley Randall Collection in the UDM Archives.

Black aesthetic

Gayle, Addison (comp.). (Doubleday [1972, c1971])
NX 512.3 .N5 G38 1972

Contains a chapter by Dudley Randall entitled: "The Black aesthetic in the thirties, forties, and fifties."

Black love, Black hope

Long, Doughtry. (Broadside Press [1971])
PS 3562 .O493 B6

Located in the Dudley Randall collection in the UDM Archives.

Black poetry; a supplement to anthologies which exclude Black poets

Randall, Dudley. (Broadside Press [1969])
PS 591 .N4 R3

Located in the Dudley Randall Collection in the UDM Archives.

Black poets [a new anthology]

Randall, Dudley. (Bantam Books [1971])
McNichols Campus Library
PS 591 .N4 R31

Copies are located in both the McNichols stacks and the Dudley Randall Collection in the UDM Archives.

Black pride; [poems]

Madhubuti, Haki R.. (Broadside Press, 1968)
McNichols Campus Library
PS 3562 .E34 B5

Located in the Dudley Randall Collection in the UDM Archives.

Black unicorn: Dudley Randall & the Broadside Press

(Publisher Unknown, 1995)
McNichols Campus Library
PS 3568 .A49 Z533 1995

Located in the Dudley Randall Collection in the UDM Archives.

Summary: Provides a history of the Broadside Press and a biography of its founder, Dudley Randall. Includes interviews with Mr. Randall and other authors involved with the press over a twenty-five year period. (54 min.)

Blood river

Kgositsile, Aneb. (Broadside Press, c1983)
McNichols Campus Library
PS 3561 .G6 B4 1983

Located in the Dudley Randall Collection in the UDM Archives.

Booker T. and W.E.B.

Randall, Dudley. (Broadside Press, 1967, c1952)
PS 591 .N4 B71 no.8

Located in the Dudley Randall Collection in the UDM Archives.

Cities burning

Randall, Dudley. (Broadside Press, 1968)
McNichols Campus Library
PS 3568 .A49 C5

Located in the Dudley Randall Collection in the UDM Archives.

Counterpoem for Dudley Randall : from a very green apple

Tann, Eileen. (Broadside Press, 1974)
McNichols Campus Library
PS 591 .N4 B71 no.83

Located in the Dudley Randall Collection in the UDM Archives.

Different image: the legacy of Broadside Press: an anthology

Weatherston, Rosemary; House, Gloria; Ward, Albert Michael (eds.). (Broadside Press, c2004)
McNichols Campus Library
PS 591 .N4 D54 2004

Accompanied by a CD. Contents: Gwendolyn Brooks -- Etheridge Knight -- Audre Lorde -- Haki Madhubuti -- Dudley Randall -- Sonia Sanchez.

Dressed all in pink

Randall, Dudley. (2nd rev. ed., Broadside Press, 1967, c1965)
McNichols Campus Library
PS 591 .N4 B71 no.2

Located in the Dudley Randall Collection in the UDM Archives.

Dudley Randall, Broadside Press, and the Black arts movement in Detroit, 1960-1995

Thompson, Julius Eric. (McFarland, c1999)
McNichols Campus Library
PS 3568 .A49 Z85 1999

Forerunners : Black poets in America

King, Woodie (comp.). (Howard University Press, 1975)
McNichols Campus Library
PS 591 .N4 K5

In the Dudley Randall Collection in the UDM Archives.

For Malcolm; poems on the life and the death of Malcolm X

Randall, Dudley (comp.). (2nd ed., Broadside Press [1969])
McNichols Campus Library
PS 595 .L5 R3 1969

Located in the Dudley Randall Collection in the UDM Archives.

Green apples

Randall, Dudley. (Broadside Press, c1972)
McNichols Campus Library
PS 591 .N4 B71 no.62

Located in the Dudley Randall Collection in the UDM Archives.

Homage to Hoyt Fuller

(Broadside Press, c1984)
PS 3556 .U39 H6 1984

Located in the Dudley Randall Collection in the UDM Archives.

Litany of friends: new and selected poems

Randall, Dudley. (Lotus Press, 1981)
McNichols Campus Library
PS 3568 .A49 L5 1981

Located in the Dudley Randall Collection in the UDM Archives.

Love you

Randall, Dudley. (P. Breman, 1970)
PS 3568 .A49 L6

Located in the Dudley Randall Collection in the UDM Archives.

Modern American Poetry: Dudley Randall (1914-2000)

Nelson, Cary.

Includes: Randall's Life and Career; On "Ballad of Birmingham"; A Dudley Randall Broadside; About the 1963 Birmingham Bombing; About the Black Arts Movement; Online Poems; Bibliography.

Moving deep

Stephany. (Broadside Press [1969])
PS 3552 .U745 M6

Located in the Dudley Randall Collection in the UDM Archives.

Poem counterpoem

Danner, Margaret. (2nd rev. ed., Broadside Press [1969])
PS 3554 .A58 P6 1969

Located in the Dudley Randall Collection in the UDM Archives.

Roses and revolutions: the selected writings of Dudley Randall

Randall, Dudley. (Wayne State University Press, c2009)
McNichols Campus Library
PS 3568 .A49 A6 2009

Tribute to Dudley Randall, 1914-2000 : May 22, 2001, 1:00-3:00 p.m., University of Detroit Mercy McNichols Campus Library

(University of Detroit Mercy Libraries/Media Services, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
PS 3568 .A49 Z86 2001

Located in the Dudley Randall Collection in the UDM Archives.

Notes: Program for ceremony dedicating the McNichols Campus Library of the University of Detroit Mercy as a Literary Landmark in honor of Dudley Randall. Insert consists of poem, The creature on the cane : written in memory of Dudley Randall / Yvonne Lubov Rusiniak.

We a baddDDD people

Sanchez, Sonia. (Broadside Press [1970])
PS 3569 .A468 W4

Located in the Dudley Randall Collection in the UDM Archives.

We be word sorcerers: 25 stories by Black Americans

Sanchez, Sonia. (Bantam Books, c1973)
McNichols Campus Library
PS 508 .N3 S31 1973

 

Includes "Incident On a Bus" by Dudley Randall.

Wrestling with the muse: Dudley Randall and the Broadside Press

Boyd, Melba Joyce.

Also available in print format.

Wrestling with the muse : Dudley Randall and the Broadside Press

Boyd, Melba Joyce. (Columbia University Press, c2003)
McNichols Campus Library
PS 3568 .A49 Z58 2003

Contents: Introduction : wrestling with the muse -- Beginnings and endings -- The fertile black bottom of Paradise Valley -- Poets of black bottom : Dudley Randall meets Robert Hayden -- War at home and abroad -- The return : poetry and prophecy -- Sojourn and return -- The emergence of the second renaissance in Detroit -- "Ballad of Birmingham" : the founding of Broadside Press and the Black Arts Movement -- "Ya vas Lyubil" : Alexander Pushkin, Dudley Randall, and the Black Russian connection -- Cultural wars and civil wars -- "Prophets for a new day" : diversity and heritage -- The new Black poets -- Dudley Randall's poetic dialectics and the Black Arts Movement -- "After the killing" : Dudley Randall's Black Arts poetry -- Poetry as industry -- "Shape of the invisible" : the rise and fall of Broadside Press -- "In the mourning time" : the return -- A poet is not a jukebox -- At peace with the muse -- "The ascent" -- Epilogue -- Appendix I : translating poetry in to film : The Black unicorn : Dudley Randall and the Broadside Press -- Appendix II : worksheets for "Frederick Douglass and the slave breaker".

Karl A. Ericson

Assistant Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

ericsoka@udmercy.edu
313-993-1120

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Library Instruction Journals Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top