Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Ethics

Research Guides

Environmental Ethics

CORE READINGS

Sand County almanac, and Sketches here and there

Leopold, Aldo. (Oxford University Press, 1949)
QH 81 .L58

Ecological conscience; values for survival

Disch, Robert (ed.).. (Prentice-Hall, 1970)
HC 110 .E5 D58

Case for animal rights

Regan, Tom. (University of California Press, 1983)
HV 4708 .R43 1983

Is there an ecological ethic?

Rolston Holmes III. Ethics. (85(3), April 1975, 93-109)

Available online through the JSTOR database. (Authentication required)

In defence of animals

Singer, Peter. (Blackwell, 1985)
HV 4711 .I6 1985

In defense of the land ethic : essays in environmental philosophy

Callicott, J. Baird. (State University of New York Press, 1989)
GF 80 .C35 1988

Sustainable development and deep ecology

Naess, Arne. Ethics of environment and development : global challenge, international response. Engel, J. Ronald; Engel, Joan Gibb (eds.)., Univ. of Arizona Press, 1990.
HD 75.6 .E84 1991

Ethics of environmental concern

Attfield, Robin. (University of Georgia Press, 1991)
GF 80 .A88 1991

Beyond the land ethic : more essays in environmental philosophy

Callicott, J. Baird. (State University of New York Press, 1999)
GE 40 .C35 1999

International Society for Environmental Ethics

This site includes a comprehensive bibliography on environmental ethics, a free online quarterly newsletter with full text from 1990, and conference information including full-text conference papers.

Enivironmental Ethics

Del Toro, Rosemary.

This website, compiled by a Marquette University librarian, includes many links to internet resources on alternative and renewable energy,  animal rights, biodiversity, conservation, environmental  health, environmental justice and environmental economics.

Subject Bibliographies in Environment Ethics

Weiskel, Timothy C..

This webpage includes extensive lists of resources on environmental topics such as sustainable agriculture, the equitable equitable water distribution, environmental responsibility and environmental racism.  It also includes links to the archives of the Harvard Seminars on Environmental Values.

RECENT WORKS

Deep water : the Gulf oil disaster and the future of offshore drilling : report to the President

National Commission on the BP Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill and Offshore Drilling. (U.S. GPO, 2011)
McNichols Campus Library
GC 1221 .U55 2011

Available in print or online.

Economics of climate change : the Stern review

Stern, Nicholas. (Cambridge University Press, 2007)
HC 260 .E5 E36 2007

Socially responsible engineering : justice in risk management

Vallero, Daniel A.; Vesilind, P. Aarne. (John Wiley, 2007)
TD 153 .V34 2006

Table of Contents

Engaging environmental justice

Waterhouse, Carlton. Justice in a global economy : strategies for home, community, and world. Brubaker, Pamela K.; Peters, Rebecca Todd; Stivers, Laura A. (eds.). Westminster John Knox Press, 2006.
HB 501 .J855 2006

Ethics of waste : how we relate to rubbish

Hawkins, Guy. (Rowman & Littlefield, 2006)
TD 793.9 .H38 2006

Global Survival: The Challenge and Its Implications for Thinking and Acting

Ervin Laszlo and Peter Seidel, (eds.). (SelectBooks, c2006)
McNichols Campus Library
HC 79 .E5 G597145 2006

Ecological ethics : an introduction

Curry, Patrick. (Polity Press, 2006)
GE 42 .C85 2006

Corporate responsibility for the environment

Vogel, David. Market for virtue : the potential and limits of corporate social responsibility. Brookings Institution Press, 2005.
HD 60 .V64 2005

Animal pragmatism : rethinking human-nonhuman relationships

McKenna, Erin; Light, Andrew (eds.).. (Indiana University Press, 2004)
B 832 .A55 2004

Ethics of environmentally responsible health care

Pierce, Jessica; Jameton, Andrew. (Oxford University Press, 2004)
R 725.5 .P547 2004

Table of Contents

Population puzzle : boom or bust?

Huggins, Laura E.; Skandera, Hanna (eds.).. (Hoover Institution Press, 2004)
HB 871 .P6695 2004

Morality's progress : essays on humans, other animals, and the rest of nature

Jamieson, Dale. (Oxford University Press, 2002)
HV 4711 .J36 2002

Skeptical environmentalism : the limits of philosophy and science

Kirkman, Robert. (University of Indiana Press, 2002)
GE 195 .K57 2002

Being human : ethics, environment, and our place in the world

Peterson, Anna L.. (University of California Press, 2001)
BJ 1012 .P464 2001

Ethics, medical research, and medicine : commercialism versus environmentalism and social justice

Thompson, Andrew; Temple, (eds.).. (Kluwer Academic Publishers, 2001)
R 725.5 .E89 2001

Environmental ethics in international society

Young, Oran R.. Ethics and international affairs : extent and limits. Coicaud, Jean-Marc; Warner, Daniel (eds.). United Nations University Press, 2001.
JZ 1306 .E873 2001

Life's intrinsic value ; science, ethics, and nature

Agar, Nicholas. (Columbia University Press, 2001)
GE 42 .A38 2001

Three challenges to ethics : environmentalism, feminism, and multiculturalism

Sterba, James P.. (2001)
McNichols Campus Library
BJ 1012 .S69 2001

Christianity and ecology : seeking the well-being of earth and humans

Hessel, Dieter T.; Ruether, Rosemary Radford (eds.).. (University Center for the Study of World Religions, 2000.)
BT 695.5 .C49 2000

Ethics and the built environment

Fox, Warwick (ed.).. (Routledge, 2000)
NA 2542.35 .E88 2000

Environmental challenges to business

Reichart, Joel; Werhane, Patricia H. (eds.). (Society for Business Ethics, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 194 .E68 2000

Global sustainable development in the twenty-first century

Lee, Keekok; Holland, Alan; McNeill, Desmond (eds.).. (Edinburgh University Press, 2000)
HC 79 .E5 G5972 2000

Working toward sustainability : ethical decision making in a technological world

Kibert, Charles J. (ed.).. (Wiley, 2012)
McNichols Campus Library
NA 2542.36 .W67 2012

Cindy Gilham

Associate Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

gillhaca@udmercy.edu
313-993-1810

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Journals Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top