Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Ethics

Research Guides

Stem Cell Research

CURRENT JOURNAL ARTICLES

Current Stem Cell Research Articles

Spreitzer, Jill.

Current articles from Academic OneFile, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (Ebsco), and Science Direct databases. 
Off campus access requires authentication

Bioethics Resources on the Web

National Institutes of Health: Stem Cell Research.

Links to government reports, research ethics links, and news and fact sheets on stem cell research. Also includes links to congressional hearings and legislation on the topic.

Stem Cell Research

Alden March Bioethics Institute.

Includes article and links to news articles and articles from the American Journal of Bioethics on stem cell research.

Guidelines for Human Embryonic Stem Cell Research

Committee on Guidelines for Human Embryonic Stem Cell Research, National Research Council.

The National Academy of Sciences Board on Life Sciences wrote this online book suggesting guidelines for privately funded human embryonic stem cell research.  It addresses ethical, scientific, and policy issues. (Free registration required) 

Monitoring Stem Cell Research

President's Council on Bioethics.

This online report includes background information on stem cell research, information on current U.S. law and policy, and recent developments in research, therapy, and ethical and policy debates.  The website also includes transcripts from committee meetings and background materials used to write the report. 

Report on human embryonic stem cell research

Commission of the European Communities.

This online report from the executive body of the European Union was prepared as background information for the European Parliament in making decisions on funding human embryonic stem cell research.  It includes information social, ethical and economic issues as well as on current regulations in both European Union members nations and other nations. 

VIDEOS AND DVDs

Ethics of biotechnology

Massof, Curt. (Films for the Humanities & Sciences, 2009)
McNichols Campus Library
QH 442 .E85 2009

Summary: "The Nuclear Age -- sprung upon the world with the atomic bomb -- remains a bitter memory. How biotechnology, with its power to change life on Earth at the most fundamental level, will be viewed in the decades to come depends on decisions being made right now. This program confronts viewers with some of the ethical and moral implications of cloning, stem cell research, and animal testing. Commentary is provided by Jeanne Orhnberger, of Genetics Squared; Bob Forgey, of ProNAI Therapeutics; Drs. Elliott Hill, Brian Athey, and James Baker, of the University of Michigan; and Susanne Kleff, of MBI International."

Stem cells, human embryos and ethics : interdisciplinary perspectives

Ostnor, Lars. (Springer, 2008)
McNichols Campus Library
QH 588 .S83 S7455 2008

Abortion and research on embryonic stem cells

Mappes, Thomas A.; DeGrazia, David (eds.). Biomedical ethics, 6th ed., McGraw-Hill, 2006.
McNichols Campus Library
R 724 .B49 2006

Fetal fix : stem cell research and moral conflict

(Films for the Humanities & Sciences, 2006)
McNichols Campus Library
QH 588 .S83 F48 2006

1 DVD, 53 minutes. Masahito Kasuga, director.

Summary: ". This program examines stem cell and fetal tissue research programs in the United States, Japan, and China and highlights the ethical concerns that surround these projects. Explaining why stem cells cultivated from embryonic or fetal tissue are useful for transplant work and for developing treatments for Parkinson's disease, spinal cord injuries, and other medical problems, the program explores a new dimension in the battle over the sanctity, and value, of human life."

Genetics revolution : history, fears, and future of a life-altering science

Morgan, Rose M.. (Greenwood Press, 2006)
McNichols Campus Library
RB 155 .M673 2006

Table of Contents

Stem cell now : from the experiment that shook the world to the new politics of life

Scott, Christopher Thomas. (Pi Press, 2006)
QH 588 .S83 S35 2006

Contemporary Catholic health care ethics

Kelly, David F.. (Georgetown University Press, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
R 725.56 .K438 2004

The ethics and policy issues in creating a stem cell donor : a case study in reproductive genetics

Kahn, Jeffrey P.; Mastroianni, Anna C.. Cross-cultural biotechnology, Brannigan, Micheal C. (ed.), Rowman & Littlefield, 2004.
McNichols Campus Library
TP 248.23 .C76 2004

Science, ethics, and policy : relating human genomics to embryonic stem-cell research and therapeutic cloning

Magill, Gerard. Genetics and ethics : an interdisciplinary study.
McNichols Campus Library
QH 438.7 .G445 2004

Stem cell research

Humber, James M.; Almeder, Robert F. (eds.). (Humana Press, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
QH 587 .S7226 2004

European perspective on quality of life of stem cell transplantation patients

Fliedner, Monica C.. Quality of life : from nursing and patient perspectives : theory, research, practice, King, Cynthia R.; Hinds, Patricia S. (eds.),Jones and Bartlett Publishers, 2003.
McNichols Campus Library
RC 266 .Q35 2003

God and the embryo : religious voices on stem cells and cloning

Waters, Brent; Cole-Turner, Ronald. (Georgetown University Press, 2003)
McNichols Campus Library
QH 442.2 .G63 2003

Human embryonic stem cells

Chiu, Arlene; Rao, Mahendra S. (eds.). (Humana Press, 2003)
McNichols Campus Library
QP 277 .H87 2003

Playing God? : genetic determinism and human freedom

Peters, Ted. (Routledge, 2003)
McNichols Campus Library
QH 438.7 .P48 2003

Whose view of life? : embryos, cloning, and stem cells

Maienschein, Jane. (Harvard University Press, 2003)
McNichols Campus Library
QP 277 .M356 2003

Ethical issues in the patenting and control of stem cell research

McGee, Glenn; Banger, Elizabeth. Who owns life? Magnus, David; Caplan, Arthur; McGee, Glenn (eds.), Prometheus Books, 2002.
McNichols Campus Library
QH 445.2 .W46 2002

Future is now : America confronts the new genetics

Kristol, William; Cohen, Eric (eds.). (William Kristol and Eric Cohen.)
McNichols Campus Library
QH 442.2 .F88 2002

Table of Contents

Ethical issues in human stem cell research

United States. National Bioethics Advisory Commission. (National Bioethics Advisory Commission, 1999)
McNichols Campus Library
Government Document PREX 1.19:ST 4/ET 3/2/v.1-2

Cindy Gilham

Associate Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

gillhaca@udmercy.edu
313-993-1810

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Journals Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top