Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Ethics

Research Guides

Service Learning

National Service-Learning Clearinghouse

Learn and Serve America.

This comprehensive website includes project ideas, information on fundraising, information on program and volunteer management, fact sheets with discussions and resources for different topics, and lesson plans and syllabi.

Service-Learning Syllabi

Campus Compact.

Over 300 syllabi from university courses in various disciplines.

EPICS (Engineering Projects in Community Service)

Epics Program and Purdue University.

This website describes the EPICS service-learning program, where teams of undergraduate engineering students work with community and educational organizations over several years to help solve community engineering and technical problems.  The website includes resources for students, advisors and community partners.

Service-learning : history, theory, and issues

Speck, Bruce W.; Hoppe, Sherry L.. (Praeger, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
LC 220.5 .S4483 2004

Table of Contents

Evaluating service-learning programs in dental education

Henshaw, Michelle M.. (2004)
Dental School Library
RK 78.5 .H46 2004

Serve and learn : implementing and evaluating service-learning in middle and high schools

Pritchard, Florence Fay; Whitehead, George I. III. (Erlbaum Associates, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
LC 220.5 .P75 2004

Service-learning : the essence of the pedagogy

Furco, Andrew; Billig, Shelley H. (eds.). (Information Age Pub., 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
LC 220.5 .S473 2002

Multicultural service learning : educating teachers in diverse communities

Boyle-Baise, Marilynne. (Teachers College Press, 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
LC 1099 .B69 2002

Evaluating service-learning activities and programs

Payne, David A.. (Scarecrow Press, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
LC 220.5 .P39 2000

Integrating service learning and multicultural education in colleges and universities

O'Grady, Carolyn R.. (L. Erlbaum Associates, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
LC 220.5 .I58 2000

Combining service and learning in higher education : evaluation of the Learn and Serve America Higher Education program

Gray, Maryann J.. (RAND Education, 1999)
McNichols Campus Library
LC 220.5 .C646 1999

Toward a civil society : civic literacy and service learning

Lisman, C. David. (Bergin & Garvey, 1998)
McNichols Campus Library
LC 220.5 .L57 1998

Service learning

Schine, Joan G.. (Distributed by the University of Chicago Press, 1997)
McNichols Campus Library
LB 1573 .N27 1997

Service-learning : applications from the research

Waterman, Alan S.. (L. Erlbaum Associates, 1997)
McNichols Campus Library
LC 220.5 .S44 1997

Community service and higher learning : explorations of the caring self

Rhoads, Robert A.. (State University of New York Press, c1997)
McNichols Campus Library
LC 220.5 .R56 1997

A guide for developing community-responsive models in health professions education

Seifer, Sarena D.; Connors, Kara M. (eds.). (Community-Campus Partnerships for Health , 1997)
McNichols Campus Library
R 745 .G84 1997

Enriching the curriculum through service learning

Kinsley, Carol W.; McPherson, Kate (eds.). (Carol W. Kinsley and Kate McPherson.)
McNichols Campus Library
LB 220.5 .E67 1995

Service-learning reader : reflections and perspectives on service

Albert, Gail (ed.). (National Society for Experiential Education, 1994)
McNichols Campus Library
LC 220.5 .S46 1994

Service-Learning as a Counter-Hegemonic Practice: Evidence Pro and Con

Cipolle, Susan. Multicultural Education, v.11, n.3, (Spring 2004), p.12. (11(3), Spring 2004, 12)
ELECTRONIC ACCESS ONLY

For off-campus access, login to the databases and search WilsonSelectPlus http://research.udmercy.edu/resources/remote_access.php

The Dynamic Tensions of Service Learning in Higher Education

Kezar, Adrianna; Rhoads, Robert A.. Journal of Higher Education, March 2001 v72 i2 p148. (72(2), March 2001, 148-171)
ELECTRONIC ACCESS ONLY

For off-campus access, login to the databases and search Infotrac OneFile http://research.udmercy.edu/resources/remote_access.php

Service-Learning and Multicultural/Multiethnic Perspectives From Diversity to Equity

Weah, Wokie; Simmons, Verna Cornelia; Hall, McClellan. Phi Delta Kappan, May 2000 v81 i9 p673. (8(9), May 2000m 673-675)
McNichols Campus Library
LJ 121 .P4

For off-campus access, login to the databases and search Infotrac OneFile http://research.udmercy.edu/resources/remote_access.php

A Time to Serve, A Time to Learn - Service-Learning and the Promise of Democracy

Kielsmeier, James C.. Phi Delta Kappan. (81(9), May 2000, 652)
McNichols Campus Library
LJ 121 .P4

What we know about service learning

Shumer, Robert; Belbas, Brad. Education and Urban Society. (28(2), Feb. 1996, 208-223)
McNichols Campus Library
LC 5101 .E38

Service learning from a social justice perspective

Maybach, Carol W.. Education and Urban Society, 28, 224-236.. (28(2), (Feb. 1996), 224-236)
McNichols Campus Library
LC 5101 .E38 v.18

The sleeping giant of school reform

Nathan, Joe; Kielsmeier, Jim. Phi Delta Kappan. (72(10), June 1991, 738-742)
McNichols Campus Library
LJ 121 .P4

School-based community service: what we know from research and theory

Conrad, Daniel; Hedin, Diane. Phi Delta Kappan. (72, June 1991, 743-749)
McNichols Campus Library
LJ 121 .P4

For off-campus access, login to the databases and search Infotrac OneFile http://research.udmercy.edu/resources/remote_access.php

Cindy Gilham

Associate Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

gillhaca@udmercy.edu
313-993-1810

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Journals Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top