Notice: Undefined index: edit in /var/www/libs/inc/guides/guides.inc.php on line 607

Notice: Undefined variable: linkOpen in /var/www/libs/inc/guides/guides.inc.php on line 621

Notice: Undefined variable: image in /var/www/libs/inc/guides/guides.inc.php on line 621

Notice: Undefined variable: descriptionClose in /var/www/libs/inc/guides/guides.inc.php on line 627

Notice: Undefined variable: close in /var/www/libs/inc/guides/guides.inc.php on line 627

Notice: Undefined index: edit in /var/www/libs/inc/guides/guides.inc.php on line 631

Notice: Undefined variable: collapse in /var/www/libs/inc/guides/guides.inc.php on line 633

Warning: Missing argument 2 for clean(), called in /var/www/libs/inc/guides/guides.inc.php on line 660 and defined in /var/portal/newConnect.inc.php on line 18

Notice: Undefined variable: value in /var/portal/newConnect.inc.php on line 19

Warning: mysqli_real_escape_string() expects parameter 1 to be mysqli, string given in /var/portal/newConnect.inc.php on line 26

Notice: Undefined variable: collapseClose in /var/www/libs/inc/guides/guides.inc.php on line 650

Notice: Undefined index: edit in /var/www/libs/inc/guides/guides.inc.php on line 607

Notice: Undefined variable: linkOpen in /var/www/libs/inc/guides/guides.inc.php on line 621

Notice: Undefined variable: image in /var/www/libs/inc/guides/guides.inc.php on line 621

Notice: Undefined variable: descriptionClose in /var/www/libs/inc/guides/guides.inc.php on line 627

Notice: Undefined variable: close in /var/www/libs/inc/guides/guides.inc.php on line 627

Notice: Undefined index: edit in /var/www/libs/inc/guides/guides.inc.php on line 631

Notice: Undefined variable: collapse in /var/www/libs/inc/guides/guides.inc.php on line 633

Warning: Missing argument 2 for clean(), called in /var/www/libs/inc/guides/guides.inc.php on line 660 and defined in /var/portal/newConnect.inc.php on line 18

Notice: Undefined variable: value in /var/portal/newConnect.inc.php on line 19

Warning: mysqli_real_escape_string() expects parameter 1 to be mysqli, string given in /var/portal/newConnect.inc.php on line 26

Notice: Undefined variable: collapseClose in /var/www/libs/inc/guides/guides.inc.php on line 650
Research Guides | Ethics | Research guides | University of Detroit Mercy Libraries / Instructional Design Studio Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Ethics

Research Guides

Homelessness

For persons who need immediate shelter, call the Department of Human Services 24/7 hotline at 1-800-A-SHELTER  (1-800-274-3583)

Websites

BOOKS, VIDEOS, AND GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS

AUTHORS D

Data

SPECIAL EDUCATION

General Research

VIDEOs/DVDs

VIDEORECORDINGS

VIDEOS/DVDs

Directories

Annual Reports & 10Ks

BOOKS

Wiley CPA Examination Review

BOOKS

Tax Forms and Publications (instructions)

Books

Federal Tax Preparation Information

State Tax Tables and Sales Tax Tables

Coalition on Temporary Shelter (COTS)

This private, non-profit, Detroit organization manages  24-hour homeless shelters, transitional housing for individuals and families, and permanent supportive housing for the phyically or mentally disabled.  It also provides services through an education and employment center and a child care center. 

For those in need of emergency shelter or housing assistance, please call COTS at 313.831.3777

DRMM Homeless Services

Detroit Rescue Mission Ministries.

The Detroit Rescue Mission MInistries suppies emergency shelter, transitional housing and permanent housing in Wayne County.  It also provides employment and addiction counseling.

Annual Homeless Assessment Report to Congress (2009)

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.

This report includes counts of homeless people in the U.S., including locations where they use emergency shelters and transitional housing, and how much time they spend in emergency shelters annually.  Counts are broken down by individual, families, veterans, and the chronically ill.

For homeless veterans

U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.

This page includes resources for homeless veterans for safe housing, health care, mental health services and employment help. 

For immediate help, call the VA’s National Call Center for Homeless Veterans at 1-877-4AID-VET (1-877-424-3838)

Homeless & Special Housing Needs

Michigan State Housing Development Authority.

This website includes information on homeless shelters and homeless youth and runaway agencies in Michigan, a 24/7 shelter hotline, and funding for homeless program grants.

National Health Care for the Homeless Council

This website includes information for the public and clinicians on issues, policies and research on healthcare reform.

Shelter and other Homeless Assistance in the Detroit Area

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.

United States Interagency Council on Homelessness

"The mission of the United States Interagency Council on Homelessness (USICH) is to coordinate the federal response to homelessness and to create a national partnership at every level of government and with the private sector to reduce and end homelessness in the nation while maximizing the effectiveness of the Federal Government in contributing to the end of homelessness."

This website includes the federal strategic plan to prevent and end homelessness as well as a 2012 ammendment, performance measures, toolkits, information on local and community action, and background information on programs and funding, and background papers on chronic homelessness, families with children, veterans, and youth.

Books and Ebooks

BOOKS, VIDEOS, AND GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS

AUTHORS D

Data

SPECIAL EDUCATION

General Research

VIDEOs/DVDs

VIDEORECORDINGS

VIDEOS/DVDs

Directories

Annual Reports & 10Ks

BOOKS

Wiley CPA Examination Review

BOOKS

Tax Forms and Publications (instructions)

Books

Federal Tax Preparation Information

State Tax Tables and Sales Tax Tables

At home on the street : people, poverty, and a hidden culture of homelessness

Wasserman, Jason Adam. (Lynne Rienner Publishers, 2010)

Contents:

  • Introduction: homelessness in the United States
  • Accessing a hidden population
  • Describing those who are homeless
  • Causes of homelessness
  • Urban space and relations on the street
  • The complex dispositions of those on the street
  • Street identities and creative resistance
  • Business, politics, and the moving ghetto
  • Homeless services: healing the sick
  • Religious approaches: saving souls
  • Conclusion: improving research, improving policy

Beside one's self: homelessness felt and lived

Robinson, Catherine. (Syracuse University Press, 2011)

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

Broken and shared : food, dignity, and the poor on Los Angeles' Skid Row

Dietrich, Jeff. (Tsehai Publishers, 2011)

This book is a compilation of essays written over the last forty years for the Catholic Agitator, a bimonthly newspaper of the Los Angeles Catholic Worker, a Catholic lay community that runs a soup kitchen, homeless shelter and hospice center in Los Angeles.

Countering corporate narratives from the streets : the Cleveland Homeless Oral History Project

Kerr, Daniel. Oral history and public memories. Hamilton, Paula; Shopes, Linda (eds.)., Temple University Press, 2008.

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

Culture of homelessness

Ravenhill, Megan. (Ashgate, 2008)

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

Dead end kids of St. Louis : homeless boys and the people who tried to save them

Stepenoff, Bonnie. (University of Missouri Press, 2010)

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

Hard lives, mean streets: violence in the lives of homeless women

Jasinski, Jana L.. (University Press of New England, 2010)

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

Homelessness, housing, and mental illness

Schutt, Russell K.. (Harvard University Press, 2011)
McNichols Campus Library

Hungry world: America's cold war battle against poverty in Asia

Cullather, Nick. (Harvard University Press, 2010)

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

Jesuits and the homeless : companions on life's journey

Creed, William E.. (Seminar on Jesuit Spirituality, 2007)

Lost in space : the criminalization, globalization, and urban ecology of homelessness

Amster, Randall. (LFB Scholarly Publishing, 2008)

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

Mobile care clinic: an integrated program for the homeless

Frothinger, Linda. Caring for the vulnerable : perspectives in nursing theory, practice, and research. De Chesnay, Mary; Anderson, Barbara A. (eds.).Jones and Bartlett Publishers, 2008.

Moving out, moving on : young people's pathways in and through homelessness

Mallett, Shelley. (Routledge, 2010)

Contents:

  • Youth homelessness in context
  • Participation and pathways
  • Becoming homeless
  • On the streets
  • Using the system
  • In and out of home
  • Going home
  • Conclusion : interdependence not independence

Now is the time! : public housing and anti-homelessness activism

Shaw, Todd Cameron. Now is the time! : Detroit black politics and grassroots activism. Duke University Press, 2009.

Shelter : where Harvard meets the homeless

Seider, Scott. (Continuum, 2010)

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

Shelters for the homeless : a feeble response to homelessness

Mandell, Betty Reid. Crisis of caregiving : social welfare policy in the United States. Mandell, Betty Reid (ed.)., Palgrave Macmillan, 2010.

Street kids : homeless youth, outreach, and policing New York's streets

Gibson, Kristina E.. (New York University Press, 2011)
McNichols Campus Library

Contents:

  • The street youth dilemma
  • The space of the streets
  • Blacc, a street kid from far Rockaway, Queens
  • Street outreach
  • Standup for kids and New York City outreach
  • Public space: policing street kids and outreach
  • Running off the map: mobility, street kids, and street outreach
  • Where does the "move along" dance take us?

Therapeutic services for homeless families and young people

Vostanis, Panos. Mental health interventions and services for vulnerable children and young people. Vostanis, Panos; Williams, Richard (eds.)., Jessica Kingsley Publishers, 2008.

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

Working with young homeless people

Robinson, Phil. (Jessica Kingsley Publishers, 2008)

For additional resources, search the UDM library catalog for the following LC subject headings:

Subject headings:

  • Homeless persons
  • Mentally ill homeless persons
  • Homeless youth
  • Street youth
  • Homelessness

Cindy Gilham

Associate Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

gillhaca@udmercy.edu
313-993-1810

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Journals Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top