Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Ethics

Research Guides

Minimum Wage

The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA)

U.S. Department of Labor.

This website includes an overview of the FLSA, fact sheets, guides and tools for compliance, and contact information for the Department of Labor.

Legal Information Institute: Minimum Wage

Cornell University Law School.

Text of the U.S. Fair Labor Standards Act:

TITLE 29 > CHAPTER 8 > § 206. Minimum wage

Historical amendments are listed here:

Michigan's minimum wage and overtime

Michigan Department of Energy, Labor & Economic Growth.

This site provides a brief overview of Michigan's minimum wage law, who is covered, and how it works with the federal minimum wage.

Minimum wages database

International Labour Organization.

This searchable database, provided by ILO, a UN specialized agency, includes information on the minimum wage rates and legislation for about 100 countries. 

Changes in basic minimum wages in non-farm employment under state law: selected years 1968 to 2011

United States Department of Labor.

A chart showing state and federal historical minimum wages.

Maximum support for raising the minimum

Dimoch, Michael.

Pew Research Center poll data showing American's level of support for the proposed minimum wage increase in 2006

Impact of raising the federal minimum wage

Burtless, Gary.

This video from the Brookings Institution discusses the impacts of raising the minimum wage on unemployment and low-wage earners.

Survey of the effects of the minimum wage on prices

Lemos, Sara. Journal of Economic Surveys. (22(1), Feb. 2008, 187-212)

Available in the Wiley Online Library (off-campus authentication required).

Conclusion and Discussion (Minimum wages and employment)

Neumark, David; Wascher, William L.. Foundations and Trends in Microeconomics. (3(1-2), Jan. 2007, 163-167)

Available in the Academic OneFile database (Off campus access requires authentication).

Cindy Gilham

Associate Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

gillhaca@udmercy.edu
313-993-1810

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Journals Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top