Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Environmental Engineering

Research Guides

Flood Management

VIDEOS AND CD-ROMs

Storm that drowned a city

Penry-Davey, Caroline; Chinn, Peter. (WGBH Boston Video, 2006)
McNichols Campus Library
QC 944 .S76 2006

Originally broadcast on Nova in 2005.

"Featuring eyewitness testimony, Nova takes an in-depth look at what made Hurricane Katrina so deadly and analyzes how, despite technically sophisticated flood and storm defenses, this event has resulted in unprecedented destruction for the Gulf Coast. In less than 12 hours on August 29, 2005, Hurricane Katrina devastated the Louisiana coast, leading to more than a thousand deaths and transforming a city of over one million into an uninhabitable swamp. "Storm That Drowned a City" is NOVA's definitive investigation into the science of Hurricane Katrina, combining a penetrating analysis of what went wrong with a dramatic, minute-by-minute unfolding of events told through eyewitness testimony. What made this storm so deadly? Will powerful hurricanes like Katrina strike more often? How accurately did scientists predict its impact, and why did the levees protecting New Orleans fail?" (56 min.)

 

Venice flood gates

Tarrant, Anne. (Discovery Communications, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
TC 480 .V4 V46 2004

Originally broadcast on the television series Extreme engineering.
"Design and construction of the MOSE Project intended to protect the city of Venice, Italy, against floods caused by changes in the sea level." (53 min.)

Mitigation resource CD

Michigan library initiative. (U.S. Dept. of Homeland Security : FEMA, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 551.3 .M58 2004

Includes:

  • Answers to questions about the National Flood Insurance Program
  • Homeowner's guide
  • Repairing your flooded home
  • Are you ready
  • Protecting utilities
  • Taking shelter from the storm

Association of State Floodplain Managers

Association of State Floodplain Managers.

This professional organization is engaged in flood mitigation, preparedness, warning systems and recovery efforts. It is actively involved in floodplain and flood insurance legislation and policies, and also in research in flood mitigation.  The site includes news on legislation and floodplain maps, papers and reports on mitigation, a calendar of workshops and events, job postings and certification information.

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers.

This website includes information on the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers' history and missions, including its role in supporting the nation's water resources, environment, infrastructure, homeland security and warfighting. It inlcudes information on flood damage reduction, including  local projects and a Glossary of Flood Damage Reduction Terms.

National Flood Insurance Program

Federal Emergency Management Agency.

This website includes a list of free Floodplain management publications (most are downloadable, some are only available as hardcopies and must be ordered), a report on successful flood mitigation measures undertaken after the great Mississippi River flooding in 1993, information on regional flood risks, as well as detailed information on the National Flood Insurance Program.

Tsunami Risk Reduction for the Unites States

National Science and Technology Council.

This report details the plan prepared by the National Science and Technology Council to determine what threat possible tsunamis may pose to the U.S., to develop warning systems, to educate the public in how to respond to warnings and how to mitigate risks, and to coordinate efforts with international organizations in researching and communicating tsunami risks.

BOOKS, PAPERS & REPORTS

Design for flooding : architecture, landscape, and urban design for resilience to flooding and climate change

Watson, Donald. (John Wiley & Sons, 2011)
McNichols Campus Library
NA 2541 .W384 2011

Rising waters : the causes and consequences of flooding in the United States

Brody, Samuel D.; Highfield, Wesley E.; Kang, Jung E.. (Cambridge University Press, 2011)

Available through the ebrary database (students/staff/faculty only)

Risk and decision analysis in maintenance optimization and flood management

Kallen, M. J.; Kuniewski, S. P. (eds.). (IOS Press, 2009)

Available through the ebrary database.

Hurricanes Katrina and Rita : Using mitigation to build a safer Gulf Coast

Association of State Floodplain Managers. (Association of State Floodplain Managers, 2005)
ELECTRONIC ACCESS ONLY

Floodplain Management 2003 : State and Local Programs

Association of State Floodplain Managers. (Association of State Floodplain Managers)
McNichols Campus Library
ELECTRONIC ACCESS ONLY

Floodplain modeling using HEC-RAS

Dyhouse, Gary; Hatchett, Jennifer; Benn, Jeremy. (Haestad Press, 2003)
McNichols Campus Library
TC 409 .F56 2003

Stormwater conveyance modeling and design

Methods, Haestad; Durrans, S. Rocky. (Haestad Press, 2003)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 657 .S76 2003

Includes CD-ROM with, "academic versions of StormCAD Stand-Alone, PondPack, CulvertMaster, and FlowMaster software."

Components of a basement flooding protection program

Southeast Michigan Council of Governments. (Southeast Michigan Council of Governments, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
KFM 4389 .F6 C66 2000

Basement flooding and municipal liability : a policy discussion paper

Southeast Michigan Council of Governments. (Southeast Michigan Council of Governments, 1999)
McNichols Campus Library
KFM 4396.3 .F5 B37 1999

Isaac's storm

Larson, Erik. (Audio Adventures, 1999)
McNichols Campus Library
F 394 .G2 L372 1999

Three audiocassettes.

"Isaac Cline was one of the era's new men, a scientist who believed he knew all there was to know about the motion of clouds and the behavior of storms. The idea that a hurricane could damage the city of Galveston, Texas, where he was based was to him preposterous. It is the story of what can happen when human arrogance meets nature's last uncontrollable force, based on Cline's own letters, telegrams, and reports, the testimony of scores of survivors, and our latest understanding of the hows and whys of great storms." (315 min.)

Homeowner's guide to retrofitting : six ways to protect your house from flooding

Federal Emergency Management Agency. (Federal Emergency Management Agency, 1998)
McNichols Campus Library
TH 4812 .H664 1998

Rising tide : the great Mississippi flood of 1927 and how it changed America

Barry, John M.. (Simon & Schuster, 1997)
McNichols Campus Library
F 354 .B47 1997

$ubsidizing disaster : how your tax money and weak wetland protections increase your risk of being flooded

Hulsey, Brett. (Sierra Club Midwest Office, 1997)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 1683 .U6 H85 1997

Great flood of 1993 : causes, impacts, and responses

Changnon, Stanley A. (ed.).. (Westview Press, 1996)
McNichols Campus Library
GB 1399.4 .M72 G74 1996

After the flood : crises, concepts, conclusions

School of Architecture. University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. (School of Architecture/Building Research Council University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 1995)
McNichols Campus Library
TC 530 .A4 1995

Floodplain management in the United States : an assessment report

Natural Hazards Research and Applications Information Center, University of Colorado at Boulder. (Federal Emergency Management Agency, 1992)
McNichols Campus Library
TC 423 .F64 1992

"prepared for the Federal Interagency Floodplain Management Task Force"

Damming the Colorado : the rise of the Lower Colorado River Authority, 1933-1939

Adams, John A. Jr.. (Texas A&M University Press, 1990)
McNichols Campus Library
TC 425 .C6 A54 1990

Jill Werdell Spreitzer

Associate Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

werdeljc@udmercy.edu
313-993-1221

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Journals Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top