Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Environmental Engineering

Research Guides

Solid Waste

(To find additional resources, see subject headings at the bottom of this page.)

VIDEOS/DVDs

Solid waste management

Sutherlin, John W.. (Films for the Humanities & Sciences, 2003)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 794.2 .S65 2003

"produced by University of New Orleans, Urban Waste Management and Research Center ; written and directed by John W. Sutherlin." 4 DVDs:

  • Episode 1. Waste generation and waste characterization (45 min.)
  • Episode 2. Business and residential recycling and waste minimization (50 min.)
  • Episode 3. Managing greenwaste and special waste (49 min.)
  • Episode 4. Regionalization ; Solid waste management success stories (52 min.).

Organic clean-up : microbes and pollution

Harris, Neil. (Films for the Humanities & Sciences, 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 192.5 .O73 2002 DVD

Originally broadcast on the television series: Perspective. "Looks at how pollution from everyday industrial production and from ecological disasters like the Exxon Valdez oil spill can be cleaned up with bacterial treatment. demonstrating how microbes can and are being used successfully in the fight against pollution." (25 min.)

Toxic wastes

Stonebarger, Bill. (Hawkhill Video, 1998)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 175 .T69 1998

"Gives a historical and ecological perspective on the vexing toxic waste dilemma. Includes contemporary and archival photographs, art prints, and graphic examples."

  • Part 1: A history of toxic wastes (18 min.)
  • Part 2: Toxic wastes, today and tomorrow (21 min.)

BOOKS AND ARTICLES

Solid waste management in the world's cities

United Nations Human Settlements Programme. (Earthscan, 2010)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 791 .S6528 2010

Biosolids engineering and management

Wang, Lawrence; Shammas, Nazih K.; Hung, Yung-Tse. (Springer, 2008)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 767 .B524 2008

Handbook of solid waste management

Tchobanoglous, George; Kreith, Frank. (McGraw-Hill, 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 791 .K74 2002

Table of Contents

Toxic exports : the transfer of hazardous wastes from rich to poor countries

Clapp, Jennifer. (Cornell University Press, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 1045 .D44 C58 2001

Basics of solid and hazardous waste management technology

Shah, Kanti L.. (Prentice Hall, 2000.)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 791 .S53 2000

Municipal Solid Waste Slope Failure: Waste and Foundation Soil Properties

Eid, H.T., Stark, T.D., Evans, W.D., and Sherry, P.E.. Journal of Geotechnical and Geoenvironmental Engineering, ASCE. (126(5), 2000, pages: 397-407)
McNichols Campus Library
TA 710 .A495

Bioremediation of contaminated soils

Wise, Donald L. (ed.). (Marcel Dekker, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 878 .B555573 2000

Cyclic Characterization of OII Landfill Solid Waste,

Matasovic, N. and Kavazanjian, E., Jr.. Journal of Geotechnical and Geoenvironmental Engineering, ASCE. (124(3), 1998, pages: 197-210)
McNichols Campus Library
TA 710 .A495

International trade in hazardous waste

Asante-Duah, D. Kofi; Nagy, Imre V.. (E & FN Spon, 1998)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 1063 .T83 A83 1998

Standard handbook of hazardous waste treatment and disposal

Freeman, Harry M. (ed.). (2nd ed., McGraw-Hill, 1998)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 1032 .S73 1998

Hazardous wastes : sources, pathways, receptors

Watts, Richard J.. (J. Wiley, 1998)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 1030 .W38 1998

Microbial transformation and degradation of toxic organic chemicals

Young, Lily Y.; Cerniglia, Carl E. (eds.). (Wiley-Liss, 1995)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 192.5 .M326 1995

Bioremediation

Baker, Katherine H.; Herson, Diane S. (eds.). (McGraw-Hill, 1994)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 192.5 .B5567 1994

Hazardous waste management

LaGrega, Michael D.; Buckingham, Phillip L.; Evans, Jeffrey C.. (McGraw-Hill, 1994)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 1030 .L34 1994

Biodegradation and bioremediation

Alexander, Martin. (Academic Press, 1994)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 192.5 .A43 1994

Biotechnology for the treatment of hazardous waste

Stoner, Daphne L. (ed.). (Lewis Publishers, 1994)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 1061 .B54 1994

Plastics waste management : disposal, recycling, and reuse

Mustafa, Nabil (ed.). (M. Dekker, 1993)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 798 .P564 1993

Practical techniques for groundwater and soil remediation

Nyer, Evan K.. (Lewis Publishers, 1993)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 426 .N95 1993

Natural systems for waste management and treatment

Reed, Sherwood C.; Middlebrooks, E. Joe; Crites, Ronald W.. (McGraw-Hill, 1988)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 645 .R44 1988

GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS

Guide for industrial waste management

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Solid Waste and Emergency Response, 2003)
McNichols Campus Library
Circulation Desk EP 1.104:IN 2/2/CD

1 CD-ROM. ALSO AVAILABLE AT: http://www.epa.gov/epaoswer/non-hw/industd/guide.htm

RCRA orientation manual

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Office of Solid Waste, Communications, Information, and Resources Management Division. (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Solid Waste and Emergency Response, 2003)
McNichols Campus Library
Government Documents microform EP 1.8:R 31/3/2003

Manual for Resource Conservation and Recovery Act of 1976.

Perspectives on interstate and international shipments of municipal solid waste

United States. Congress. House. Committee on Energy and Commerce. Subcommittee on Environment and Hazardous Materials. (U.S. G.P.O., 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
Government Documents Y 4.C 73/8:107-61

"hearing before the Subcommittee on Environment and Hazardous Materials of the Committee on Energy and Commerce, House of Representatives, One Hundred Seventh Congress, first session, August 1, 2001."

Brownfields Revitalization and Environmental Restoration Act of 2001

United States. Congress. Senate. Committee on Environment and Public Works.. (U.S. G.P.O., 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
Government Documents Microform Y 1.1/5:107-2

"report (to accompany S. 350) together with additional and minority views"

Nonhazardous waste landfill publications

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Solid Waste and Emergency Response. (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Solid Waste and Emergency Response, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
Circulation Desk EP 1.104:N 73/CD

1 CD-ROM.

The Environmental Protection Agency Office of Solid Waste publications

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Office of Solid Waste and Emergency Response. (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Office of Solid Waste and Emergency Response, 1997)
McNichols Campus Library
Circulation Desk EP 1.104:SO 4

1 CD-ROM with over 100 publications.

Land Disposal Program Flexibility Act of 1995 : report together with dissenting views

United States. Congress. House. Committee on Commerce. (U.S. G.P.O., 1996)
McNichols Campus Library
Government Documents Microform Y 1.1/8:104-454

"(to accompany H.R. 2036) (including cost estimate of the Congressional Budget Office)"

Small quantity generator management practices : avoiding hazardous waste leaks and spills

Michigan. Dept. of Environmental Quality Waste Management Division.. (Michigan Dept. of Environmental Quality, Waste Management Division, 1996)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 1042 .M5 M5 1996

WEBSITES

Michigan's hazardous waste facility siting process, as revised

Tomboulian, Alice. (Metropolitan Affairs Corporation, 1988)
McNichols Campus Library
KFM 4580 .H39 M5

"a guide to the 1987 amendments to the Michigan Hazardous Waste Management Act (Act 64 of 1979) / prepared for Metropolitan Affairs Corporation by the East Michigan Environmental Action Council"

FRTR remediation technologies screening matrix and reference guide

Federal Remediation Technologies Roundtable (FRTR).

The FRTR, a collaborative body made up from representatives from several U.S. agencies, created this guide to help managers of waste and contaminant remediation projects find suitable remediation methods.  Each technology profile includes a description, limitations, performance data and costs. 

Triad Resource Center

Triad, a federal and state interagency project, helps engineers make decisions on how to characterize and remediate and waste sites.  It includes regulatory information, technical information and resources, and information on remediation training and workshops.

Municipal Solid Waste in the United States : 2001 Facts and Figures

United States Envirornmental Protection Agency.

This website includes statistics on the composition, generation and disposal of municipal solid waste, as well as information on prevention and management programs.

For additional resources, search the UDM library catalog for the following LC subject headings:
  • Bioremediation
  • Compost
  • Hazardous wastes
  • Integrated solid waste management
  • Microbial biotechnology
  • Plastic scrap -- Recycling
  • Pollution
  • Recycling (Waste, etc.)
  • Refuse and refuse disposal
  • Refuse collection
  • Sewage disposal
  • Sewage sludge
  • Sewage -- Purification
  • Soil remediation
  • Sanitary microbiology
  • Factory and trade waste

Jill Werdell Spreitzer

Associate Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

werdeljc@udmercy.edu
313-993-1221

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Journals Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top