Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Environmental Engineering

Research Guides

Wastewater Engineering

(To find additional resources, see subject headings at the bottom of this page.)

WEBSITES

Michigan Water Environment Association (MWEA)

The MWEA represents water quality professionals who seek to preserve and enhance water quality in Michigan by educating the public and promoting environmental practices and regulations.  It's webpage includes news, job postings, conference information, links to online courses, and educational resources such as a step-by-step guide to the wastewater treatment process.

Water Environment Federation (WEF)

The WEF is a nonprofit organization of professionals who work to preserve and improve the global water environment. They offer news and information on hot topics involving wastewater and the water environment, related careers, professional certification, and upcoming workshops and conferences. The website also features free job postings and a glossary of water environment terms.

Wastewater Resources

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.

This site provides information on wastewater treatment processes, programs, and standards, guidelines, and financial resources.

USGS Water Data for the Nation

United States Geological Survey.

This website includes data on surface water flow in streams and lakes, water quality, and ground water levels for over 1.5 million sites spread throughout the U.S..  It includes real-time, daily, monthly, annual and peak measurements and statistics.

USGS National Water Quality Assessment Data Warehouse

United States Geological Survey.

This website includes chemical concentrations in water, bed sediment, and aquatic organism tissues for 42 basins around the U.S..  It also includes nutrient samples, pesticide samples, and data on fish, algae and invertebrates.

BOOKS, eBOOKS AND VIDEOS

Overview of environmental laws and regulations : navigating the green maze

Bernosky, Joseph J.. (American Water Works Association, 2011)

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

Primer on using biological assessments to support water quality management

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Office of Science and Technology, Office of Water. (U.S. GPO, 2011)

Available free online

Efficacy of Ballast Water Treatment Systems

U.S. EPA Science Advisory Board.

Wastewater microbiology

Bitton, Gabriel. (4th ed., Wiley-Blackwell, 2011)

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

Ozonation of water and waste water: a practical guide to understanding ozone and its application

Gottschalk, C.. (2nd ed., Wiley-VCH, 2010)

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

Solid waste management in the world's cities : water and sanitation in the world's cities 2010

United Nations Human Settlements Programme. (UN-HABITAT/Earthscan, 2010)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 791 .S6528 2010

Sustainable wastewater management in developing countries : new paradigms and case studies from the field

Laugesen, Carsten Hollander.. (American Society of Civil Engineers, 2010)

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

Water balance covers for waste containment : principles and practice

Albright, William Henry. (American Society of Civil Engineers, 2010)

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

Contaminants of emerging concern in the environment : ecological and human health considerations

Halden, Rolf U. (ed.).. (American Chemical Society, 2010)
McNichols Campus Library
RA 565 .A2 A58 2010

From the 238th American Chemical Society Meeting, Washington D.C., 2009

Security and emergency planning for water and wastewater utilities

States, Stanley. (American Water Works Association, 2010)

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

Environmental engineering. Water, wastewater, soil, and groundwater treatment and remediation

Nemerow, Nelson L. (ed.).. (6th ed., Wiley, 2009)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 430 .E58 2009

Environmental law handbook

Sullivan, Thomas F. P.; Bell, Christopher L.. (20th ed., Government Institutes, 2009)
McNichols Campus Library
KF 3775 .E473 2009

Geographic information systems in water resources engineering

Johnson, Lynn E.. (CRC Press, 2009)
McNichols Campus Library
TC 409 .J66 2008

Natural processes and systems for hazardous waste treatment

Ong, Say Kee. (American Society of Civil Engineers, 2008)

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

Water infrastructure : successful strategies for local leadership

(U. S. Environmental Protection Agency, Local Government Advisory Committee, 2007)
McNichols Campus Library
EP 1.104:W 29/5/DVD

One DVE (13 minutes) and one booklet (14 pages)

Basic concepts of environmental chemistry

Connell, D. W.. (CRC/Taylor & Francis, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 193 .C67 2005

Environmental chemistry

Manahan, Stanley E.. (CRC Press, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 193 .M36 2005

Bioremediation : applied microbial solutions for real-world environmental cleanup

Atlas, Ronald M.; Philp, Jim (eds.). (ASM Press, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 192.5 .B55693 2005

Water treatment : principles and design

Montgomery Watson Harza (Firm). (2nd ed., Wiley, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 430 .W375 2005

Table of Contents

Hot spot pollutants : pharmaceuticals in the environment

Dietrich, Daniel R.; Webb, Simon F.; Petry, Thomas (eds.).. (Elsevier, Academic Press, c2005)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 196 .D78 H68 2005

Integrated environmental modeling : pollutant transport, fate, and risk in the environment

Ramaswami, Anu; Milford, Jana B.; Small, Mitchell J.. (J. Wiley, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 174 .R36 2005

Table of Contents

After the storm

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA); Weather Channel. (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency [Office of Water], 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
EP 1.104:ST 7/VIDEO

"Protecting the nation's water resources will take the awareness and effort of individual citizens. Three case studies focus on the interconnections between water supply,water quality related to storms, and the economic vitality and quality of life in our communities." (22 min.)

Our urban environment : water quality

Sutherlin, John W.. (Films for the Humanities & Sciences, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 223 .O88 2004

Library owns 3 DVDs:

  • no. 2: Industry and our water quality (29 min.) ; title on disc label: Industrial point source water pollution
  • no. 4: Non-point source pollution and water quality, part II (27 min.). Title on disc label: Non-point source water pollution : a focus on stormwater
  • no. 6: Waste water treatment and its impact on water quality (31 min.). Title on disc label: Wastewater treatment and discharge.

Wastewater engineering : treatment and reuse

Metcalf & Eddy, Inc.. (4th ed., McGraw-Hill, 2003)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 645 .W293 2003

Table of Contents

Wastewater treatment and technology

Forster, Christopher F.. (Thomas Telford, 2003)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 745 .F67 2003

Water and wastewater calculations manual

Lin, Shun Dar; Lee, C. C.. (McGraw-Hill, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 351 .L55 2001

Ozonation of water and waste water : a practical guide to understanding ozone and its application

Gottschalk, Christiane; Libra, Judy, A..; Saupe, Adrian. (Wiley-VCH, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 461 .G68 2000

Environmental microbiology

Maier, Raina M.; Pepper, Ian L.; Gerba, Charles P.. (Academic Press, 2000.)
McNichols Campus Library
QR 100 .M345 2000

Water-supply and public health engineering

Smith, Denis (ed.). (Ashgate, 1999)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 345 .W268 1999

Adsorption design for wastewater treatment

Cooney, David O.. (Lewis Publishers, 1999)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 753.5 .C66 1999

Environmental design : an introduction for architects and engineers

Thomas, Reandall (ed.). (E & FN spon, 1996)
McNichols Campus Library
NA 2542.35 .E58 1999

Measures of environmental performance and ecosystem condition

Schulze, Peter C. (ed.). (National Academy Press, c1999)
McNichols Campus Library
GE 140 .M43 1999

The industrial wastewater systems handbook

Stephenson, Ralph L.; Blackburn, James B. Jr.. (Lewis, 1998)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 897.5 .S74 1998

Small and decentralized wastewater management systems

Crites, Ron; Tchobanoglous, George. (McGraw-Hill, 1998)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 746 .C75 1998

Wastewater treatment : troubleshooting and problem solving

Tillman, Glenn M.. (Ann Arbor Press, 1996)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 746 .T55 1996

Water and wastewater technology

Hammer, Mark J.; Hammer, Mark J., Jr.. (Prentice Hall, 1996)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 345 .H25 1996

Wastewater organisms : a color atlas

Berk, Sharon G.; Gunderson, John H.. (Lewis Publishers, 1993)
McNichols Campus Library
QR 48 .B47 1993

Environmental engineering and sanitation

Salvato, Joseph A.. (Wiley, 1992)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 145 .S24 1992

Natural systems for waste management and treatment

Reed, Sherwood C.; Middlebrooks, E. Joe; Crites, Ronald W.. (McGraw-Hill, 1988)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 645 .R44 1988

Infrastructure engineering and management

Grigg, Neil S.. (J. Wiley, 1988)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 159.3 .G75 1988
For additional resources, search the UDM library catalog for the following LC subject headings:
  • Environmental chemistry
  • Environmental engineering
  • Environmental health
  • Environmental indicators
  • Environmental management
  • Environmental monitoring
  • Factory and trade waste
  • Hydrology
  • Microbial ecology
  • Nature -- Effect of human beings on -- Evaluation
  • Nonpoint source pollution
  • Refuse and refuse disposal
  • Sanitary engineering
  • Sanitary microbiology
  • Sanitation
  • Sewage disposal
  • Sewage disposal plants
  • Sewage -- Purification
  • Sewage sludge -- Technological innovations
  • Sewerage
  • Urban ecology
  • Urban runoff – Managemet
  • Water -- Pollution – Prevention
  • Water -- Purification
  • Water quality management
  • Water reuse
  • Water-supply
  • Water-supply engineering

Jill Werdell Spreitzer

Associate Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

werdeljc@udmercy.edu
313-993-1221

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Journals Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top