Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Environmental Engineering

Research Guides

Urban Water Engineering

American Public Works Association: Water and Sewers

This website includes job postings, free access to articles in the APWA Reporter magazine, and a photo database.

Design for flooding : architecture, landscape, and urban design for resilience to flooding and climate change

Watson, Donald. (John Wiley & Sons, 2011)
McNichols Campus Library
NA 2541 .W384 2011

Detroit's historic Water Works Park

Daisy, Michael. (Arcadia Pub., 2012)
McNichols Campus Library
F 574 .D47 D35 2012

Developing world perspective : health and deficiencies in provision for water and sanitation in urban areas of Africa, Asia, and Latin America and the Caribbean

McGranhan, Gordon; Satterthwaite, David. Cities and the health of the publi. Freudenberg, Nicholas; Galea, Sandro; Vlahov, David, Vanderbilt University Press, 2006.
McNichols Campus Library
RA 566.7 .C58 2006

Dry run : preventing the next urban water crisis

Yudelson, Jerry. (New Society Publishers, 2010)

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

Effects of urbanization on groundwater : an engineering case-based approach for sustainable development

Chang, Ni-Bin. (American Society of Civil Engineers, 2010)

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

Environmental and Water Resources Institute

"Created in 1999, the Environmental & Water Resources Institute (EWRI) is a civil engineering specialty institute of the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE), the country's oldest national engineering society...   The EWRI's vision is to be a recognized worldwide leader within ASCE for the integration of the technical expertise and public policy into the planning, design, construction and operation of environmentally sound and sustainable infrastructure impacting air, land, and water resources."

Forecasting urban water demand

Billings, R. Bruce. (2nd ed., American Water Works Association, 2008)

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

Hydrologic Engineering Center

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers.

 

This website offers free software for hydrologic engineering and planning developed by the center to provides technical support to the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in surface and groundwater hydrology, river hydraulics, risk analysis, and real-time water control management.

Journal of the American Water Resources Association

Available through the Wiley Online Library.  Includes water research and issues covered from multiple perspectives and disciplines.

Learning from L9WNOLA

Lohrer, Nathan.
McNichols Campus Library
NA 9127 .N4 L45 2011

Electronic Thesis

University of Detroit Mercy Architecture-- M(Arch)

Low Impact Development 2010 : redefining water in the city

Struck, Scott D.; Lichten, Keith H. (American Society of Civil Engineers, 2010)

"Proceedings of the 2010 International Low Impact Development Conference, April 11-14, 2010, San Francisco, California. Sponsored by Low Impact Development Technical Committee, Urban Water Resources Research Council, Environmental and Water Resources Institute (EWRI) of the American Society of Civil Engineers."

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

Privatizing water : governance failure and the world's urban water crisis

Bakker, Karen J.. (Cornell University Press, 2010)

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

Soil and Water Conservation Society Network

 

This website includes conservation news briefs, blogs, job postings, and a calendar of professional events.  The Michigan chapter site includes  information on regional meetings, workshops and conservation tours, newsletters, and a scholarship application.

Solid waste management in the world's cities : water and sanitation in the world's cities 2010

United Nations Human Settlements Programme. (UN-HABITAT/Earthscan, 2010)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 791 .S6528 2010

Standard guidelines for the design of urban stormwater systems, ASCE/EWRI 45-05 [electronic resource] : Standard guidelines for the installation of urban stormwater systems, ASCE/EWRI 46-05 ; Standard guidelines for the operation and maintenance of u

American Society of Civil Engineers. Urban Drainage Standards Committee; U.S. Environmental and Water Resources Institute. (American Society of Civil Engineers, 2006)

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

Stepping up : improving the performance of China's urban water utilities

Browder, Greg. (World Bank, 2007)

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

Sustainable infrastructure : the guide to green engineering and design

Sarté, S. Bry. (Wiley, 2010)
McNichols Campus Library
NA 2542.36 .S25 2010

TMDLs in the urban environment : case studies

Stein, Stuart. (American Society of Civil Engineers, 2010)

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

TMLD (Total Maximum Daily Load) of water pollutants.

Training workbook on water safety plans for urban systems

(World Health Organization, Western Pacific Region, 2008)

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency : Urban Waters

 

This website includes information on existing urban water programs, urban waters federal partnerships where the federal government works with under-served communities revitalize water systems, watershed planning and management, water quality, and pollution prevention.

Urban growth and land degradation in developing cities : change and challenges in Kano, Nigeria

Maconachie, Roy. (Ashgate, 2007)

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

Urban stormwater management in the United States

U.S. National Research Council. (National Academies Press, 2009)

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

Urban water cycle processes and interactions

Marsalek, Jiri. (Taylor & Francis, 2008)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 209 .U72 2008

Urban watersheds : geology, contamination, and sustainable development

Kaufman, Martin M.. (CRC Press, 2011)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 657 .K38 2011

Water centric sustainable communities : planning, retrofitting, and building the next urban environment

Novotny, Vladimir. (Wiley, 2010)
McNichols Campus Library
TD 346 .N68 2010

Available in print and online in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

Water Resources of the United States

U.S. Geological Survey.

 

This website includes current and historical data and maps of water quality, groundwater level, streamflow  and water use throughout the U.S.. It also features educational materials, videos of lectures and natural water processes, and information on natural hazards and emergency management.

Jill Werdell Spreitzer

Associate Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

werdeljc@udmercy.edu
313-993-1221

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Journals Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top