Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Environmental Engineering

Research Guides

Engineering Ethics

Encyclopedia of science, technology, and ethics

Mitcham, Carl (ed.).. (Macmillan Reference USA, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
Q 175.35 .E53 2005

Engineering, business and professional ethics

Robinson, Simon. (Elsevier/Butterworth-Heinemann, 2007)
McNichols Campus Library
TA 157 .E555 2007

Engineering, social justice and sustainable community development : summary of a workshop

National Academy of Engineering. (National Academies Press, 2010)

Available electronically only through the ebrary database.

Engineering ethics : balancing cost, schedule, and risk--lessons learned from the space shuttle

Pinkus, Rosa Lynn B.. (Cambridge University Press, 1997)
McNichols Campus Library
TA 157 .E673 1997

Engineering ethics : concepts and cases

Harris, Charles E.. (Thomson/Wadsworth, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
TA 157 .H357 2005

Engineering peace and justice: The responsibility of engineers to society

Vesilind, P. Aarne. (Springer, 2010)
McNichols Campus Library
TA 157 .V47 2010

Engineering project : its nature, ethics, and promise

Moriarty, Gene. (Pennsylvania State University Press, 2008)
McNichols Campus Library
TA 157 .M835 2008

Ethics

American Society of Civil Engineers.

This site includes the ASCE Code of Ethics and Policies, numerous ethics case studies and discussions, ethics guidelines for professional conduct,  a link to a brochure on "Guidance on Licensing and Ethical Responsibilities for Civil Engineers, and online engineering ethics courses and webinars.

Ethics

National Society of Professional Engineers.

This site includes the NPSE Code of Ethids as well as Board of Ethical Review cases.

Ethics and professionalism

Galloway, Patricia D.. 21st-century engineer : a proposal for engineering education reform, ASCE Press, 2008.
McNichols Campus Library
T 65 .G17 2008

Ethics education and scientific and engineering research : what's been learned? what should be done? : summary of a workshop

Arenberg, Carol R.; Hollander, Rachelle D.. (National Academies Press, 2009)

Available only electronically through the ebrary database (authentication required)

Ethics in Engineering

ASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineers).

This website includes a "COde of Ethics for Engineers" and an online discussion forum focused on ethics topics.

Ethics in engineering practice and research

Whitbeck, Caroline. (Cambridge University Press, 1998)
McNichols Campus Library
TA 157 .W47 1998

Geology for engineers and environmental scientists

Kehew, Alan E.. (Prentice Hall, 2006)
McNichols Campus Library
TA 705 .K38 2006

Lessons amid the rubble : an introduction to post-disaster engineering and ethics

Pfatteicher, Sarah K. A.. (Johns Hopkins University Press, 2010)
McNichols Campus Library
TA 656 .P488 2010

Online Ethics Center for Engineering and Research

National Academy of Engineering.

This site includes links to professional engineering ethics codes, an online engineering ethics discussion forum, teaching tools such as syllabi, assignments and evaluation tools, and hundreds of engineering ethics case studies.

Professionalism and ethics video

(Insight Media, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
HF 5387 .P765 2004 DVD

1 DVD (21 minutes)

"This program presents three vignettes about ethical issues that arise in professional engineering practice. It highlights such issues as protecting the public interest, acting as a faithful agent for an employer, and avoiding conflicts of interest."

    Contributors include:
  • Association of Professional Engineers, Geologists and Geophysicists of Alberta
  • Association of Professional Engineers of Ontario
  • Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of the Province of Manitoba
  • redengine/Direct Hit Productions

Scientific life : a moral history of a late modern vocation

Shapin, Steven. (University of Chicago Press, 2008)
McNichols Campus Library
Q 180.55 .M67 S53 2008

Textbook on professional ethics and human values

Naagarazan, R. S.. (New Age International (P) Ltd., Publishers, 2006)

Jill Werdell Spreitzer

Associate Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

werdeljc@udmercy.edu
313-993-1221

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Journals Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top