Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Environmental Engineering

Career + Professional

Professional Organizations -- Environmental Engineering

American Academy of Environmental Engineers

The American Academy of Environmental Engineers is a group of select engineers that helps develop accreditation standards for environmental engineering programs and creates study groups to find and promote solutions for major environmental problems. Members have passed oral and written exams and reviews. The website includes career information, an events calendar, and links to free reports on diesel engines, gas turbines, and ordnance.

Air & Waste Management Association (A&WMA)

The A&WMA is a nonprofit, professional organization of environmental professionals that provides a neutral forum for research and discussion, promotes professional development, and promotes global environmental responsibility through public education and outreach. The A&WMA website provides a calendar of conferences and workshops, information on fee-based online courses, and free articles and proceedings (scroll down) on waste management.

Water Environment Federation (WEF)

The WEF is a nonprofit organization of professionals who work to preserve and improve the global water environment. They offer news and information on hot topics involving wastewater and the water environment, related careers, professional certification, and upcoming workshops and conferences. The website also features free job postings and a glossary of water environment terms.

Soil Science Society of America (SSSA)

The SSSA is an international educational group that is dedicated to "conservation and wise use of natural resources to produce food, feed, and fiber crops while maintaining and improving the environment."  Its website includes information on professional certification, free job postings, information on meetings, conferences and continuing education workshops, and a searchable glossary of soil science terms.

Association of Environmental Engineering and Science Professors (AEESP)

The AEESP is an international, nonprofit society that supports improved teaching, research, and public outreach. The AEESP website includes searchable job postings, a few free reports and manuals, and listings and descriptions of institutions offering environmentally-related degrees.

American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)

The ASCE provides continuing education, leadership training, and technological development, to its members to benefit their careers, the profession and the public. The ASCE website offers a free resume database, free job postings, email job alerts, internship information, and fee-based online and videotaped courses and seminars. The site also includes free electronic newsletters, including a student newsletter, civil engineering news and related legislative news, ethics resources, programs to involve kids in engineering, and a large section on the history of civil engineering. The Southeastern Michigan Branch of the ASCE also hosts events and sponsors scholarships.

Jill Werdell Spreitzer

Associate Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

werdeljc@udmercy.edu
313-993-1221

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Journals Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top