Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Environmental Engineering

Scholarly Articles + Databases

Environmental Databases

Michigan Electronic Library logoAcademic OneFile (Gale)

MEL.

Academic OneFile is a major source of  full-text articles 1980-date from the world's leading journals, magazines, and news and reference sources, in multiple disciplines.  It includes extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, and medicine as well as full-text coverage of the New York Times 1985-date. Some audio files and broadcast transcripts from National Public Radio Programming are included. Updated daily.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Science Direct

Contains original research articles in science, technology, engineering and medicine, sa well as a selection of  journals in the social sciences, humanities and business.  Articles tend to be very technical. Full text starts in 1995.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

GreenFILE (Ebsco)

GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. 

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Michigan Electronic Library logoEnvironmental Studies and Policy Collection (Gale)

MEL.

A custom collection of nearly 700 journals providing coverage of environmental issues and policies, including diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, and corporate interests.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

ASCE - American Society of Civil Engineers Journals

The following journals are available in full text:

  • Journal of Environmental Engineering, 1983-date
  • Journal of Geotechnical & Geoenvironmental Engineering 1997-date
  • Journal of Hydraulic Engineering, 1983-date
  • Journal of Materials in Civil Engineering, 1989-date
  • Journal of Architectural Engineering, 1995-date
  • Journal of Infrastructure Systems, 1995-date

Other ASCE journals can be searched and abstracts are available, but individual articles must be purchased or requested through Interlibrary Loan.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS)

Toxicology Data Network (TOXNET), National Library of Medicine.

"Toxicology data file, contains data in support of human health risk assessment. It is compiled by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and contains over 500 chemical records. IRIS data, focusing on hazard identification and dose-response assessment, is reviewed by work groups of EPA scientists and represents EPA consensus. Among the key data provided in IRIS are EPA carcinogen classifications, unit risks, slope factors, oral reference doses, and inhalation reference concentrations".

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB)

Toxicology Data Network (TOXNET), National Library of Medicine.

"Toxicology data file, focuses on the toxicology of potentially hazardous chemicals. It is enhanced with information on human exposure, industrial hygiene, emergency handling procedures, environmental fate, regulatory requirements, and related areas. All data are referenced and derived from a core set of books, government documents, technical reports and selected primary journal literature. HSDB is peer-reviewed by the Scientific Review Panel (SRP), a committee of experts in the major subject areas within the data bank's scope. HSDB is organized into individual chemical records, and contains over 4800 such records". 

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

DART: Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology/Environmental Teratology Database, a TOXNET Database

"Bibliographic database covers teratology and other aspects of developmental and reproductive toxicology. It contains over 100,000 references to literature published since 1965".

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

AGRICOLA (National Library of Agriculture)

AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) is a bibliographic database  created by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and its cooperators.  The database covers materials in all formats from the 15th century to the present. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. The AGRICOLA database does not contain full text articles, but thousands of AGRICOLA records are linked to full-text documents online; new links are added daily. AGRICOLA includes the NAL Catalog, containing citations to books, audiovisual materials, serial publications, and other materials in the NAL collection and NAL's Article Citation Database, containing citations, many with abstracts, to journal articles, book chapters, reports, and reprints, selected primarily from the materials found in the NAL Catalog. The database is updated daily.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Jill Werdell Spreitzer

Associate Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

werdeljc@udmercy.edu
313-993-1221

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Journals Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top