Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Economics

Research Guides

Gender Discrimination In Labor Markets

Books

Aspects of labor economics

National Bureau of Economic Research.. (Princeton University Press, 1962)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 4901 .U5 1960c

Contains bibliographical footnotes.

Bellwomen : the story of the landmark AT&T sex discrimination case

Stockford, Marjorie A.. (Rutgers University Press, c2004)
McNichols Campus Library
KF 2849 .A4 S76 2004

Includes bibliographical references (p. [223]-235) and index. Contents: The idea-November 1970 -- The petition-late fall 1970 -- The reaction-December 1970 -- The beginning-winter/spring 1971 -- Beneficiary profile: Gwen Thomas -- The paper-spring/summer 1971 -- The case-fall 1971/winter 1972 -- The testimony-winter/spring 1972 -- The field-spring 1972 -- Beneficiary profile: Margaret Hoppe -- The first agreement-spring/fall 1972 -- The explosion-fall 1972 -- The defense-late fall 1972 -- The settlement-late fall 1972/winter 1973 -- The benefit -- The impact.

Beyond economic man : feminist theory and economics

Ferber, Marianne A.; Nelson, Julie A. (eds.). (University of Chicago Press, 1993)
McNichols Campus Library
HQ 1190 .B48 1993

Includes bibliographical references and index. Contents: Introduction : the social construction of economics and the social construction of gender / Marianne A. Ferber and Julie A. Nelson -- The study of choice or the study of provisioning? Gender and the definition of economics / Julie A. Nelson -- The separative self : androcentric bias in neoclassical assumptions / Paula England -- Not a free market : the rhetoric of disciplinary authority in economics / Diana Strassmann -- Some consequences of a conjective economics / Donald N. McCloskey -- Socialism, feminist and scientific / Nancy Folbre -- Public or private? Institutional economics and feminism / Ann L. Jennings -- Discussion and challenges. What should mainstream economists learn from feminist theory? / Rebecca M. Blank -- Race, deconstruction, and the emergent agenda of feminist economic theory / Rhonda M. Williams -- Feminist theory, women's experience, and economics / Robert M. Solow -- Economics for whom? / Helen E. Longino.

Black women and white women in the professions : occupational segregation by race and gender, 1960-1980

Sokoloff, Natalie J.. (Routledge, 1992)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 6054.2 .U6 S65 1992

Series: Perspectives on gender (New York, N.Y.). Includes bibliographical references and index.

British and American women at work : do equal opportunities policies matter?

Dex, Shirley; Shaw, Lois Banfill. (St. Martin's Press, 1986)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 6135 .D48 1986

Includes index. Bibliography: p. 152-158.

Careers of professional women : commitment and conflict

Yohalem, Alice M.. (Allanheld, Osmun, c979)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 6053.6U5 Y63 1979

Series: Conservation of human resources series. Notes: "Landmark studies." Includes bibliographical references and index.

Challenging women: gender, culture, and organization

Maddock, Su. (Maddock, Su)
McNichols Campus Library
HQ 1236 .M342 1999

Includes bibliographical references (p. [228]-249) and index.

Comparable worth : issues and alternatives

Livernash, E. Robert. (2nd ed., Equal Employment Advisory Council, c1984)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 6061.2 .U6 C642 1984

Contesting the market : pay equity and the politics of economic restructuring

Figart, Deborah M.; Kahn, Peggy. (Wayne State University Press, 1997)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 6061.2 .U62 M536 1997

Includes bibliographical references (p. 190-214) and index.

Disappearing acts: gender, power, and relational practice at work

Fletcher, Joyce K.. (MIT Press, c1999)
McNichols Campus Library
TA 157 .F54 1999

Includes bibliographical references (p. [151]-158) and index.

Discrimination : its economic impact on blacks, women, and Jews

Cherry, Robert D.. (Lexington Books, c1989)
McNichols Campus Library
E 184 .A1 C446 1989

Includes bibliographies and index.

Equal employment policy for women : strategies for implementation in the United States, Canada, and Western Europe

Ratner, Ronnie Steinberg (ed.). (Temple University Press, 1980)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 6052 .E6

Revised papers prepared for conference convened May 1978 by Wellesley College Center for Research on Women. Includes index. Bibliography: p. [485]-503.

Facing the stained glass ceiling: gender in a protestant seminary

Finlay, Barbara. (University Press of America, c2003)
McNichols Campus Library
BV 676 .F55 2003

Includes bibliographical references (p. [141]-145) and index.

Fetal rights, women's rights : gender equality in the workplace

Samuels, Suzanne Uttaro. (University of Wisconsin Press, c1995)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 6067.2 .U6 S25 1995

Includes bibliographical references (p. 211-220) and index.

From scarcity to visibility: gender differences in the careers of doctoral scientists and engineers

Lomg, J. Scott (ed.). (National Academy Press, c2001)
McNichols Campus Library
Q 149 .U5 F76 2001

Includes bibliographical references (p. 222-230).

Gender-based wage discrimination : hearing of the Committee on Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions, United States Senate, One Hundred Sixth Congress, second session, on examining the Bureau of Labor Statistics report which provides a full picture

United States. Congress. Senate. Committee on Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions. (U.S. G.P.O., 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
Y 4.L 11/4:S.HRG.106-631

Government document. "Printed for the use of the Committee on Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions." Distributed to some depository libraries in microfiche. Shipping list no.: 2001-0024-P. Includes bibliographical references.

Gender inequality at work

Jacobs, Jerry A. (ed.). (Sage Publications, c1995)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 6060 .G46 1995

Includes bibliographical references and index. Contents: Sex composition and gendered earnings inequality : a comparison of job and occupational models / Donald Tomaskovic-Devey -- Gendered instructions : cultural lag and gender bias in the hay system of job evaluation / Ronnie J. Steinberg -- Further evidence on compensating differentials and the gender gap in wages / Jerry A. Jacobs and Ronnie J. Steinberg -- Jobs, authority, and earnings among managers : the continuing significance of sex / Barbara F. Reskin and Catherine E. Ross -- Women's entry into management : trends in earnings, authority, and values among salaried managers / Jerry A. Jacobs -- Gender, power, and postindustrialism / Monica Boyd, Mary Ann Mulvihill, and John Myles -- Cumulative versus continuous disadvantage in an unstructured labor market : Gender differences in the careers of television writers / William T. Bielby and Denise D. Bielby -- Occupational sex segregation and women's early career job shifts / Rachel A. Rosenfeld and Kenneth I. Spenner -- Trends in occupational and industrial sex segregation in 56 countries, 1960-1980 / Jerry A. Jacobs and Suet T. Lim -- Shifting gender boundaries : women's inroads into American Sociology / Patricia A. Roos and Katharine W. Jones -- Male flight from computer work : a new look at occupational resegregation and ghettoization / Rosemary Wright and Jerry A. Jacobs -- Gender and the formation of a women's profession : the case of public school teaching / Jo Anne Preston -- Assessing gender at work : evidence and issues / Pamela Stone

Global construction of gender : home-based work in the political economy of the 20th century

Prügl, Elisabeth. (Columbia University Press, c1999)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 2333 .P78 1999

Includes bibliographical references and index.

Good for business : making full use of the nation's human capital : the environmental scan : a fact-finding report of the Federal Glass Ceiling Commission

United States. Federal Glass Ceiling Commission. (U.S. G.P.O., Supt. of Docs., [1995])
McNichols Campus Library
Y 3.2:G 46/B 96

Government document. Includes bibliographical references. Some issues also available via Internet from the Cornell partnership web site (PDF only). Address as of 2/9/2000: http://www.ilr.cornell.edu/GlassCeiling/GlassCeiling.pdf ; current access available via PURL.

In the way of women : men's resistance to sex equality in organizations

Cockburn, Cynthia. (ILR Press, c1991)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 6060.5 .G7 C59 1991

Series: Cornell international industrial and labor relations reports. no. 18. Includes bibliographical references (p. 242-255) and index.

Justice, gender, and affirmative action

Clayton, Susan D.; Crosby, Faye J.. (University of Michigan Press, c1992)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 6060.5 .U5 C58 1992

Series: Critical perspectives on women and gender. Notes: "Published in cooperation with the Society for the Psychological Study of Social Issues." Includes bibliographical references (p. 129-144) and index.

Latinas and African American women at work: race, gender, and economic inequality

Browne, Irene (ed.). (Russell Sage Foundation, c1999)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 6057.5 .U5 L37 1999

Includes bibliographical references and index. Contents: Latinas and African American women in the U.S. labor market / Irene Browne -- The economic progress of African American women / Mary Corcoran -- Losing ground: the erosion of the relative earnings of African American women during the 1980s / John Bound and Laura Dresser -- The economic progress of Mexican and Puerto Rican women / Mary Corcoran, Colleen M. Heflin, and Belinda L. Reyes -- Gender, race, ethnicity, and wages / Paula England, Karen Christopher, and Lori L. Reid -- Occupational segregation by race and ethnicity among women workers / Barbara F. Reskin -- Generational paths into and out of work: personal narratives of Puerto Rican women in New York / Aixa N. Cintrón-Vélez -- Mexican-origin women in southwestern labor markets / Susan González Baker -- Getting off and staying off: racial differences in the work route off welfare / Kathryn Edin and Kathleen Mullan Harris -- Stereotypes and realities: images of black women in the labor market / Irene Browne and Ivy Kennelly -- Perceptions of workplace discrimination among black and white professional-managerial women / Elizabeth Higginbotham and Lynn Weber -- Black women and the new world order: toward a fit in the economic marketplace / Delores P. Aldridge -- Now you see 'em, now you don't: race, ethnicity, and gender in labor market research / Barbara F. Reskin and Camille Z. Charles -- Latinas and African American women in the labor market: implications for policy / Joya Misra.

Lifting a ton of feathers : a woman's guide for surviving in the academic world

Caplan, Paula J.. (University of Toronto Press, [1993])
McNichols Campus Library
LB 2332.3 .C37 1993

Includes bibliographical references (p. [237]-273).

Maintstreaming equality in the European Union : education, training and labour market policies

Rees, Teresa L.. (Routledge, 1998)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 6134.5 .R44 1998

Includes bibliographical references (p. [216]-246) and index.

Not as far as you think : the realities of working women

Moore, Lynda L.. (Lexington Books, c1986)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 6095 .M66 1986

Includes bibliographical references.

Old boys--new women : the politics of sex discrimination

Abramson, Joan. (Praeger, 1979)
McNichols Campus Library
KF 3467 .A16

Pink collar blues : work, gender & technology

Probert, Belinda; Wilson, Bruce (eds.). (Melbourne University Press , 1993)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 6220 .P56 1993

Includes bibliographical references (p. 154-170) and index. Contents: Gendered work / Belinda Probert and Bruce W. Wilson -- The masculine mystique : a feminist analysis of science and technology / Judy Wajcman -- Women's skills and word processors : gender issues in the development of the automated office / Juliet Webster -- New technology and work organisation : the role of gender relations / Eileen Appelbaum -- Naming women's workplace skills : linguistics and power / Cate Poynton -- Human-centred systems, gender and computer supported co-operative work / Mike Hales -- Gender, unions and the new workplace : realising the promise? / Miriam Henry and Suzanne Franzway.

Pink collar workers : inside the world of women's work

Howe, Louise Kapp. (Putnam, c1977)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 6095 .H68 1977

Bibliography: p. 295-301.

Promoting gender equality at work : turning vision into reality for the twenty-first century

Date-Bah, Eugenia (ed.). (Zed Books Ltd, 1997)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 6053 .P68 1997

A study prepared for the International Labour Office within the framework of the Interdepartmental Project on Equality for Women in Employment. Includes bibliographical references and index.

Reach for the top :wWomen and the changing facts of worklife

Nichols, Nancy A. (ed.). (Harvard Business Review, c1994)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 6054.4 .U6 R43 1994

Series: The Harvard business review book series. Includes bibliographical references and index.

Science glass ceiling : academic women scientists and the struggle to succeed

Rosser, Sue Vilhauer. (Routledge, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
Q 130 .R675 2004

Includes bibliographical references (p. 149-153) and index. Contents: Who are the women scientists? -- Opportunities and challenges -- Life in the lab -- Differences across the disciplines -- Differences and academic institutions -- With Jane Daniels -- A brighter future : change the institutions, not the women.

Sex & business

Hite, Shere. (Financial Times Prentice Hall, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
HF 5549.5 .S45 H58 2000

Sex and the workplace

Gutek, Barbara A.. (Jossey-Bass, c1985)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 6060.3 .G88 1985

Series: Jossey-Bass management series. Jossey-Bass social and behavioral science series. Notes: Includes index. Bibliography: p. 203-210.

Sex, race, and the law : legislating for equality

Gregory, Jeanne. (Sage Publications, 1987)
McNichols Campus Library
KD 3102 .G74 1987

Series: Sage contemporary criminology. Notes: Includes index. Bibliography: p. [206]-212.

So ordered : making partner the hard way

Hopkins, Ann Branigar. (University of Massachusetts Press, c1996)
McNichols Campus Library
KF 3467 .H66 1996

Includes index.

Squaring up : policy strategies to raise women's incomes in the United States

King, Mary C. (ed.). (University of Michigan Press, c2001)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 6061.2 .U6 S72 2001

Includes bibliographical references and index. Contents: Why we need policies to raise women's incomes / Mary C. King -- Moving beyond "get a job": what real welfare reform would look like / Randy Albelda, Chris Tilly -- What would we gain by subsidizing child care? / Barbara R. Bergmann -- Public support for parents / Nancy Folbre -- Are older women economically secure? : reforming Social Security / Lois B. Shaw, Catherine Hill -- Raising the minimum wage and living wage campaigns / Deborah M. Figart -- Pay equity: did it work? / Margaret Hallock -- Just ask: women's strengths in collective bargaining / Peter Donohue -- Promoting women's economic progress through affirmative action / M.V. Lee Badgett, Jeannette Lim -- Great work if you can get it: women in the skilled trades / Barbara Byrd -- Is teaching more girls more math the key to higher wages? / Catherine J. Weinberger -- A policy agenda to raise women's incomes in the United States / Mary C. King.

Suppressed, forced out and fired : how successful women lose their jobs

Reeves, Martha E.. (Quorum, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 6060 .R44 2000

Includes bibliographical references (p. [219]-231) and index.

Tales from the boom-boom room: women vs. Wall Street

Antilla, Susan. (Bloomberg Press, c2002)
McNichols Campus Library
HG 4928.5 .A585 2002

Includes bibliographical references (p. 295-330) and index.

Unequal pay for women and men : evidence from the British birth cohort studies

Joshi, Heather; Paci, Pierella. (MIT Press, 1998)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 6061.2 .G7 J67 1998

Includes bibliographical references (p. [165]-175) and index.

Who gets the good jobs? : combating race and gender disparities

Cherry, Robert D.. (Rutgers University Press, c2001)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 4903.5 .U58 C46 2001

Includes bibliographical references (p. 251-271) and index.

Women and equality in the workplace : a reference handbook

Giele, Janet Zollinger; Stebbins, Leslie F.. (ABC-CLIO, c2003)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 6095 .G48 2003

Series: Contemporary world issues. Includes bibliographical references (p. 259-277) and index.

Women and men in management

Powell, Gary N.; Graves, Laura M.. (Sage Publications, 2003)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 6054.3 .P69 2003

Notes: Rev. ed. of: Women & men in management. 2nd ed. c1993. Includes bibliographical references and index. Contents: Sex, gender, and work -- Yesterday and today -- Becoming women and men -- Making employment decisions -- Working in teams -- Leading people -- Dealing with sexuality in the workplace -- Pursuing careers -- Promoting nondiscrimination, diversity, and inclusion.

Women and the law

Fredman, Sandra. (Oxford University Press, 1997)
McNichols Campus Library
K 3243 .F74 1997

Includes bibliographical references and index.

Women and the workplace : the implications of occupational segregation

Blaxall, Martha.; Reagan, Barbara Benton (eds.). (University of Chicago Press, 1976)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 6052 .W56 1976

"Expanded version of the proceedings of a workshop conference on occupational segregation held in May 1975 ... jointly sponsored by the American Economic Association Committee on the Status of Women in the Economics Profession (CSWEP) and the Center for Research on Women in Higher Education and the Professions at Wellesley College." "Originally appeared as a supplement to the Spring 1976 issue of Signs: journal of women in culture and society." Includes bibliographical references and index.

Women and workplace discrimination: overcoming barriers to gender equality

Gregory, Raymond F.. (Rutgers University Press, c2003)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 6095 .G733 2003

Includes bibliographical references (p. 209-223) and index.

Women, power, and AT & T : winning rights in the workplace

Herr, Lois Kathryn. (Northeastern University Press, c2003)
McNichols Campus Library
KF 2849 .A4 H47 2003

Includes bibliographical references (p. [164]-183) and index.

Women's work : gender equality vs. hierarchy in the life sciences

Smith-Doerr, Laurel. (Lynne Rienner Publishers, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
QH 305.5 .S53 2004

Includes bibliographical references (p. 179-197) and index.

Women's work, men's work : sex segregation on the job

Reskin, Barbara F.; Hartmann, Heidi I. (eds.). (National Academy Press, 1986)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 6060.5U5 W66 1986

Includes index. Bibliography: p. 141-161.

Work smarts for women : the essential sex discrimination survival guide

Paniccia, Patti. (Ballantine Books, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 6060.5 .U5 P36 2000

Includes bibliographical references (p. 419-439) and index.

Working women in Japan : discrimination, resistance, and reform

Cook, Alice Hanson; Hayashi, Hiroko. (New York State School of Industrial and Labor Relations, c1980)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 6197 .C66

Series: Cornell international industrial and labor relations reports. no. 10. Notes: Includes index. Bibliography: p. 117-120.

Working your way to the bottom : the feminization of poverty

Scott, Hilda. (Pandora Press, 1984)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 6060 .S39 1984

Includes index. Bibliography: p. [165]-180.

MEDIA

Beyond the glass ceiling [videorecording]

(Cable News Network, c1992)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 6054.4 .U6 B49 1992

1 VHS videocassette (ca 30 min.). Summary: Many talented women, nearly half the workforce in the United States, are trapped beneath an executive "glass ceiling", an invisible but real barrier that keeps them from the top ranks of executive leadership. This program takes a critical look at the challenges and the opportunities for women beyond that glass ceiling.

Conversation on gender issues and employment equity [videorecording]

(University of Detroit Mercy, 1991)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 6060.5 .C2 C66 1991

1 VHS videocassette (90 min.). Notes: Recorded at the University Center, University of Detroit Mercy, McNichols Campus. VHS format. Summary: Pam Milne, a religious studies professor at the University of Windsor, discusses the attempts made at her school to improve the balance of male and female faculty members through enlightened hiring practices.

Entrepreneurship for women: escape from the pink-collar ghetto [videorecording]

Taylor, Charlotte. (National Center for Research in Vocational Education, c1985)
McNichols Campus Library
HF 5500 .3 .U54 T39

1 videocassette (VHS) (55 min.). Series: Leaders in action Other Titles: Escape from the pink-collar ghetto. Summary: Charlotte Taylor discusses the economic significance of advances made by women as owners and operators of businesses, the social and economic factors that have contributed to these trends and barriers women have encountered, and the need for educational institutions to develop business education programs designed to raise the aspirations of young women and provide them with the business skills necessary to compete in the entrepreneurial arena.

Ouvričres du monde/Working women of the world [Videorecording]

(First Run/Icarus Films, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 6073 .C6 O89 2002

1 VHS videocassette (54 min.). Notes: French with English subtitles. Summary: Focusing on Levi Strauss & Co., "Working Women Of The World" follows the relocation of garment production from Western countries to nations such as Indonesia, the Philippines, and Turkey where low wages are the rule and employee rights are nonexistent.

Sex fairness in career guidance : a learning kit. [Kit]

Stebbins, Linda B.; Ames, Nancy L.; Rhodes, Ilana. (Abt Associates, [1975?])
McNichols Campus Library
M/G 16 S74

Multimedia kit contains: 1 book (265 p.) 8 cards, 6 duplicate sheets, 1 audio-cassette; in container, (23x30x5 cm.). UDM McNichols Campus Circulation Desk AV Collection.

Work [videorecording]

Board of Governors Universities in cooperation with Governors State University. (Communications Services, 1993)
McNichols Campus Library
HQ 1426 .W65 no.15

1 VHS videocassette (60 min.). "PBS Adult Learning Service"--Publicity material. Recorded March 7, 1995 by the Learning Resource Center, Outer Drive Campus, University of Detroit Mercy. Summary: The interrelationships between gender socialization and gender stratification influence work choice and experience. This program shows how work status affects prestige, power and privilege, and strategies for networking, mentoring and advocacy for women workers. Includes interviews with Melissa Josephs and Sheila Rogers of Women Employed and Eileen Kreutz of Chicago Women in Trades.

Marilyn Dow

Director, School of Dentistry Library
Dental School Library

dowmk@udmercy.edu
313-494-6905

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Library Instruction Journals Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top