Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Addiction Studies

Research Guides

Relapse Prevention

BOOKS AND GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS

Addictions : a comprehensive guidebook

McCrady, Barbara S.; Epstein, Elizabeth E.. (Oxford University Press, 1999)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 564 .M327 1999

Includes bibliographical references and index. Contents: Ch. 1. Alcohol and drug use, abuse, and dependence: classification, prevalence, and comorbidity -- Ch. 2. The course of treated and untreated substance use disorders: remission and resolution, relapse and mortality -- Ch. 3. Theories of etiology of alcohol and other drug use disorders -- Ch. 4. Alcohol -- Ch. 5. Sedative-hypnotic and anxiolytic agents -- Ch. 6. Stimulants: amphetamines and cocaine -- Ch. 7. Cannabis and hallucinogens -- Ch. 8. Opioids -- Ch. 9. Nicotine -- Ch. 10. Other drugs of abuse: inhalants, designer drugs, and steroids.

American Psychiatric Press textbook of substance abuse treatment

Galanter, Marc; Kleber, Herbert D. (eds.). (2nd ed., American Psychiatric Press, c1999)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 564 .A525 1999

Includes bibliographical references and index. Contents: Sec. 1. The nature of addiction. Neurobiology of alcohol -- Neurobiology of opiates/opioids -- Neurobiology of stimulants -- Neurobiology of hallucinogens -- Neurobiology of marijuana -- Epidemiology of drug dependence -- Genetics of substance abuse -- Principles of learning in the study and treatment of substance abuse: applying what we've learned -- Cross-cultural aspects of substance abuse -- Sec. 2. Overview of treatment. Goals of treatment -- Typologies of addiction -- Assessment of the patient -- Patient placement criteria -- Outcome research: alcoholism -- Outcome research: drug abuse -- Sec. 3. Treatment for specific drugs of abuse. Alcohol -- Cannabis -- Stimulants -- Hallucinogens -- Phencyclidine -- Tobacco -- Benzodiazepines and other sedative-hypnotics -- Opioids: detoxification -- Opioids: methadone maintenance -- Opioids: antagonists and partial agonists -- MDMA, ketamine, GHB, and the "club drug" scene -- Treatment modalities -- Psychodynamics -- Network therapy -- Individual psychotherapy: alcohol -- Individual psychotherapy: other drugs -- Relapse prevention -- Group therapy -- Family therapy: alcohol -- Family therapy: other drugs -- Sec. 5. Special approaches and treatment programs. Alcoholics Anonymous and other 12-step groups -- Inpatient treatment -- Employee assistance programs and other workplace interventions -- Community-based treatment -- Therapeutic communities -- Special populations -- Adolescent substance abuse -- Dual diagnosis -- Addiction in women -- Perinatal substance use -- HIV/AIDS and substance use disorders -- Treatment of pain in drug-addicted persons Sec. 7. Special topics. Diagnostic testing - laboratory and psychological -- Medical education -- Prevention -- Substance abuse treatment under managed care: a provider perspective.

Drug abuse treatment through collaboration : practice and research partnerships that work

Sorensen, James L. (ed.). (American Psychological Association, c2003)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 564 .D7775 2003

Includes bibliographical references and index. Contents: A challenge to practitioners : bringing evidence-based practices into clinical settings / H. Westley Clark -- Blending research and practice : designing treatment studies to meet real-world needs / Alan I. Leshner -- Introduction : the need for research-practice collaboration / James L. Sorensen ... [et al.] -- Therapeutic communities : research-practice reciprocity / George De Leon -- Auricular acupuncture for the treatment of cocaine addiction / Arthur Margolin -- Self-help groups / Joseph Nowinski -- The Tacoma syringe exchange studies : public health practice influences research / Holly Hagan, Don C. Des Jarlais, and David Purchase -- Drug courts / Elizabeth Piper Deschenes ... [et al.] -- Pharmacology, practice, and politics : a tale of two opiate pharmacotherapies / Walter Ling, Richard A. Rawson, and M. Douglas Anglin -- Relapse prevention in substance abuse treatment / Dennis M. Donovan -- Motivational interviewing / Theresa Moyers -- The outcomes movement in addiction treatment : comments and cautions / A. Thomas McLellan -- Benefits of integrating technology with treatment : the DENS project / Deni Carise and Őzge Gűrel -- Alcohol and drug abuse treatment demonstrations : developing and testing community interventions / Dennis McCarty -- National and local perspectives on the Center for substance abuse treatment practice/research collaborative and practice improvement collaborative intiatives / Alice A. Gleghorn and Frances Cotter -- Issues in implementing posttraumatic stress treatment outcome research in community-based treatment programs / Elisa Triffleman -- Integrating research into a treatment program / Vivian B. Brown -- Science-based strategic approaches to dissemination / Thomas E. Backer -- Conclusion : recommendations for practice-research collaboration / Joseph Guydish ... [et al.].

Hatherleigh guide to treating substance abuse, part I-II

(Hatherleigh Press, 1996)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 456 .H38 1996 vol.7-8

The Hatherleigh guides series ; vol. 7-8. Notes: "Part I, focuses on ... the diagnosis and treatment of substance use disorders; Part II, addresses important issues affecting special populations of individuals with substance abuse problems." Includes bibliographical references and indexes. Contents: pt. 1. An integrative approach for the evaluation and treatment of alcohol and drug abuse / Ralph E. Tarter -- Medications used in rehabilitation settings : considerations for therapists and counselors / Susan Gallagher-Lepak ... [et al.] -- Improved detoxification from drugs and alcohol through nutrition / Jeffrey S. Bland -- Naltrexone pharmacotherapy for the treatment of alcohol dependence / Robert L. DuPont and Mark S. Gold -- Inpatient versus outpatient treatment of alcoholism / Barbara W. Reeve -- Marital and family therapy in the treatment of alcoholism / Timothy J. O'Farrell -- Trends in hallucinogenic drug use : LSD, "Ectasy", and the rave phenomenon / Mark S. Gold -- Caffeine and anxiety disorder / Malcolm Lader -- Cognitive-behavioral group and family treatment of cocaine addiction / Paul Richard Smokowski and John S. Wodarski -- Motivational enhancement in the treatment of addictions / Emil Chiauzzi -- Reducing risk of relapse in addiction / Emil Chiauzzi -- Interagency collaboration : improving outcomes in the treatment of addictions / Michael D. McGee -- pt. 2. Substance abuse in the workplace : the role of employee assistance programs / John C. Thomas -- Substance abuse and disability / Elizabeth de Silva Cardoso ... [et al.] -- Substance abuse in pregnancy / Mindy Thompson Fullilove and Isabelle Dieudonné -- Clinical profile and evaluation of comorbid major depression and alcoholism / Jack R. Cornelius ... [et al.] -- Overcoming adolescent addiction : working with families and the role of 12-step programs / Robert L. DuPont -- Physical fitness programming for prevention and treatment of adolescent substance abuse / Thomas R. Collingwood -- Ethical issues in counseling adolescents who abuse alcohol and drugs / Tomás José Silber and Daniel Silber -- Geriatric alcoholism : identification and elder-specific treatment programs / Jayne Reinhardt and George Fulop -- Counseling chemically dependent patients with HIV infection / Michael Shernoff -- Issues in the diagnosis and treatment of comorbid addictive and other psychiatric disorders / Norman S. Miller -- Motivation-based assessment and treatment of substance abuse in patients with schizophrenia / Douglas Ziedonis and William Fisher.

Psychosocial treatments

McCance-Katz, Elinore F.; Clark, H. Westley (eds.). (Brunner-Routledge, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 564 .P855 2004

Key readings in addiction psychiatry series. Includes bibliographical references and index. Contents: Relapse prevention / Mary E. Larimer, Rebekka S. Palmer, and G. Alan Marlatt -- Motivational interviewing / William C. Noonan and Theresa B. Moyers -- Motivational interviewing to enhance treatment initiation in substance abusers / Kathleen M. Carroll ... [et al.] -- Network therapy for cocaine abuse / Marc Gallanter ... [et al.] -- The community reinforcement approach / William R. Miller and Robert J. Meyers, with Susanne Hiller-Sturmhöfel -- Voucher-based incentives / Stephen T. Higgins, Sheila M. Alessi and Robert L. Dantona -- A comparison of contingency management and cognitive-behavior approaches during methadone maintenance treatment for cocaine dependence / Richard A. Rawson ... [et al.] -- Self-help strategies among patients with substance use disorders / Joseph Westermeyer ... [et al.] -- Residential treatment for dually diagnosed homeless veterans / Wesley J. Kasprow ... [et al.] -- Psychotherapies for adolescent substance abusers / Yifrah Kaminer and Joseph A. Burleson -- The links between alcohol, crime and the criminal justice system / Susan E. Martin.

Relapse prevention counseling for African-Americans : a culturally specific model

Williams, Roland; Gorski, Terence T.. (Herald House/Independence Press, c1997)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 5824 .E85 W54 1997

Notes: "Based on the GORSKI-CENAPS Model." Includes bibliographical references.

Substance abuse : information for school counselors, social workers, therapists, and counselors

Fisher, Gary L.; Harrison, Thomas C.. (2nd ed., Allyn and Bacon, c2000)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 5825 .F566 2009

Includes bibliographical references (p. 343-365) and index. Contents: The role of the mental health professional in prevention and treatment -- Classification of drugs -- Models of addiction -- Culturally and ethnically diverse groups -- Assessment and diagnosis -- Client engagement and brief interventions -- Treatment of AOD problems -- Relapse prevention and recovery -- Twelve-step and other types of support groups -- Families -- Children, adult children, and codependency -- HIV/AIDS -- Gambling and other addictions -- Prevention -- Confidentiality and ethical issues.

Treating co-occurring disorders : a handbook for mental health and substance abuse professionals

Hendrickson, Edward L.; Schmal, Marilyn Strauss; Ekleberry, Sharon C.. (Haworth Press, c2004)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 564.68 .H46 2004

Haworth addictions treatment series. Includes bibliographical references (p. 219-233) and index. Contents: The new reality: multifarious caseloads -- Then and now: concepts and treatment of co-occurring disorders -- Frequently co-occurring Axis I psychiatric and substance use disorders -- Personality disorders that frequently co-occur with substance use disorders -- Assessment -- Introduction to treatment: goals and themes -- Psychoeducation and group therapy -- Individual therapy and case management -- Family interventions -- Promoting long-term stability: relapse prevention and symptom management -- Substance abuse and mental health recovery movements -- Supervising staff with multifarious caseloads -- Measuring change: reasonable outcome and performance standards.

Treating substance abusers in correctional contexts : new understandings, new modalities

Pallone, Nathaniel J. (ed.). (Haworth Press, c2003)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 8836.5 .T74 2003

Notes: "Co-published simultaneously as Journal of offender rehabilitation, volume 37, numbers 3/4 2003." Includes bibliographical references and index. Contents: Editor's foreword : watching history unfold again, or, back to the future? / Nathaniel J. Pallone -- To punish or to treat : substance abuse within the context of oscillating attitudes toward correctional rehabilitation / Nathaniel J. Pallone, James J. Hennessy -- Perceptions of a prison-based substance abuse treatment program among some staff and participants / Sarah Goodrum ... [et al.] -- Illicit drug and injecting equipment markets inside English prisons : a qualitative study / Rhidian Hughes -- Multiple measures of outcome in assessing a prison-based drug treatment program / Michael L. Prendergast, Elizabeth A. Hall, Harry K. Wexler -- Differential impact of deterrence vs. rehabilitation as drug interventions on recidivism after 36 months / Hung-En Sung -- Criminal violence and drug use : an exploratory study among substance abusers in residential treatment / Eric J. Workowski -- RSAT programs for young offenders in California : a descriptive study / Angela Hegamin, David Farabee -- Predicting retention of drug court participants using event history analysis / Elaine M. Wolf, Kathryn A. Sowards, Douglas A. Wolf -- Treating substance abuse offenders in the southwestern United States : a report evaluating the long-term effectiveness of the Yuma County Adult Drug Court / Sherri McCarthy, Thomas Franklin Waters -- Factors in successful relapse prevention among Hong Kong drug addicts / Chau-kiu Cheung, Tak-yan Lee, Chak-man Lee -- A crack kid grows up : a clinical case report / Sherri McCarthy, Thomas Franklin Waters.

Treatment of substance use disorders

Sevarino, Kevin Allen (ed.). (Brunner-Routledge, c2002)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 564 .T739 2002

Key readings in addiction psychiatry series. Includes bibliographical references and index. Contents: Medications for alcohol, illicit drug, and tobacco dependence : an update of research findings / Raye Z. Litten and John P. Allen -- The pharmacotherapy of relapse prevention using anticonvulsants / Thomas R. Kosten -- Current developments in psychosocial treatments of alcohol and substance abuse / Lynne Siqueland and Paul Crits-Christoph -- Drug therapy for alcohol dependence / Robert M. Swift -- Alcoholism treatment and medical-care costs from Project MATCH / Harold D. Holder ... [et al.] -- Use of anticonvulsants in benzodiazepine withdrawal / Kenneth P. Pages and Richard K. Ries -- Pharmacologic treatment of heroin-dependant patients / Patrick G. O'Connor and David A. Fiellen -- Methadone verus l-alpha-acetymethadol (LAAM) in the tretment of opiate addiction : a meta-analsys of the randomized, controlled trials / Motron Glanz ... [et al.] -- Old psychotherapies for cocaine dependence revisited / Kathleen M. Carroll -- New treatments for smoking cessation / John R. Hughes.

White knuckles and wishful thinking : learning from the moment of relapse in alcoholism and other addictions

DuWors, George Manter. (2nd ed., Hogrefe & Huber Publishers, c2000)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 565 .D79 2000

Amazon.com: "Practical guide identifying a common cognitive pathway addicts go through when they relapse. Gives students and practitioners new tools in the efforts to prevent relapse and enhance recovery."

VIDEOS

Here's To You, Sister

(Films for the Humanities & Sciences, 1998)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 5137 .H47 1998

In this program, women speak candidly about their addiction and what caused them to become alcoholics. At a recovery program, women alcoholics learn ways to stay sober and deal with the looming reality of relapse. Originally broadcast in 1993 on the television program Man Alive. (25 min.)

Karl A. Ericson

Assistant Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

ericsoka@udmercy.edu
313-993-1120

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Journals Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top