Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Addiction Studies

Research Guides

Compulsive Behavior

Addiction and grace

May, Gerald G.. (HarperSanFrancisco, c1991)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 533 .M39 1991

Addictionary : a primer of recovery terms and concepts, from abstinence to withdrawal

Wilson, Jan R.; Judith A.. (Hazelden, 1994)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 533 .W48 1994

Includes bibliographical references (p. 387-392) and index.

Addiction concept : working hypothesis or self-fulfilling prophesy?

Walters, Glenn D.. (Allyn & Bacon, c1999)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 564 .W365 1999

Includes bibliographical references (p. 215-266) and index.

Addiction process : effective social work approaches

Freeman, Edith M. (ed.). (Longman Pub. Co., c1991)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 533 .A32 1991

Includes bibiographical references and indexes.

Addiction treatment : science and policy for the twenty-first century

Henningfield, Jack E.; Santora, Patricia B.; Bickel, Warren K.. (Johns Hopkins University Press, 2007)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 564 .A2914 2007

Addictive behaviors : prevention and early intervention

Loberg, Tor; et al. (eds.). (Swets & Zeitlinger , c1989)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 533 .A33 1989

Notes: Based in papers presented at the Fourth International Conference on Treatment of Addictive Behaviors, Bergen Norway, August 16-20, 1987. Includes bibliographical references.

Addictive personality : understanding compulsion in our lives

Nakken, Craig. (Harper & Row, 1988)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 533 .N34 1988

Includes index.

Adolescent addiction : epidemiology, assessment, and treatment

(Academic Press, 2008)
McNichols Campus Library
RJ 506 .D78 A35 2008

Alcoholism : a matter of choice : a twenty-first century view of addiction

Hewitt, Jim. (Schenkman Books, c1999)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 5035 .H48 1999

Includes bibliographical references (p. 213-222) and index.

Awakened heart : living beyond addiction

May, Gerald G.. (HarperSanFrancisco, c1991)
McNichols Campus Library
BV 4501.2 .M418 1991

Behavior in excess : an examination of the volitional disorders

Mule, S. Joseph. (Collier Macmillan Publishers, c1981)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 569.5 .C69 B4 1981

Behavior Therapy For Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder

Turner, Samuel M.. (American Psychological Association, c1997)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 480 .A6 Series 2 no.7 1997

Summary: Dr. Turner demonstrates the behavioral treatment of obsesive-compulsive disorder, which involves prolonged exposure to fear-producing stimuli and the active blocking of associated compulsive behavior. The final six minutes consist of the therapist's reflections on the demonstration. (84 min.).

Binge eating : nature, assessment, and treatment

Fairburn, Christopher G. ; Wilson, G. Terence (eds.). (Guilford Press, c1993)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 552 .C65 B56 1993

Buried in treasures : help for compulsive acquiring, saving, and hoarding

Tolin, David F.. (Oxford University Press, 2007)
RC 533 .T65 2006

Contents: Introduction -- What is compulsive hoarding? -- How did this happen? -- Meet the bad guys -- Meet the good guys : strategies for beating hoarding -- Enhancing motivation -- Sorting/discarding : getting ready -- Sorting/discarding : let's go! -- Help with reducing acquiring -- Here come the bad guys : part 1. motivation and working time -- Here come the bad guys : part 2. taking on your brain -- Maintaining your success.

The Chase : career of the compulsive gambler

Lesieur, Henry R.. (Schenkman Pub. Co., c1984)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 6713 .L45 1984

Includes index. Bibliography: p. [294]-299.

The clinician's guide to 12-step programs : how, when, and why to refer a client

Parker, Jan; Guest, Diana L.. (Auburn House, 1999)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 533 .P273 1999

Includes bibliographical references (p. [147]-149) and index.

Cognitive behavior therapy of DSM-IV-TR personality disorders: highly effective interventions for the most common personality disorders

Sperry, Len. (2nd ed., Routledge, c2006)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 554 .S67 2006

Contents: Cognitive behavior therapy of the personality disorders: basic considerations -- Cognitive behavior therapy interventions with personality disorders: I -- Cognitive behavior therapy interventions with personality disorders: II -- Avoidant personality disorder -- Borderline personality disorder -- Dependent personality disorder -- Narcissistic personality disorder -- Histrionic personality disorder -- Obsessive-compulsive personality disorder.

Compulsive exercise and the eating disorders : toward an integrated theory of activity

Yates, Alayne.. (Brunner/Mazel, c1991)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 569.5 .E94 Y38 1991

Compulsive hoarding and acquiring : therapist guide

Steketee, Gail. (Oxford University Press, 2007)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 533 .S734 2007

Contents: Introductory information for clinicians -- Assessing hoarding -- Case formulation -- Treatment planning -- Enhancing motivation -- Skills training for organizing and problem solving -- Exposure methods -- Cognitive strategies -- Reducing acquiring -- Preventing relapse.

Constant Craving

(Films for the Humanities & Sciences, 2003)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 564 .C666 2003

Chemical addiction is now being treated like a disease, and a cure appears to be on the horizon. Approaching the topic of heroin, cocaine, alcohol, and nicotine addiction from a biological perspective, this program features new research into the meso-limbic reward pathway and efforts to implement treatments based on that research using Zyban, Naltrexone implants, and even a cocaine vaccine. (49 min.)

Counseling persons with addictions & compulsions : a handbook for clergy and other helping professionals

Weaver, Andrew J.. (Pilgrim Press, 2007)
McNichols Campus Library
BV 4460 .W427 2007

Contents: Part I: Introduction: Addictions, clergy, and faith -- Part II: Case studies. Alcohol ; Cocaine ; Compulsive buying ; Computers--excessive Internet use ; Ecstasy--MDMA ; Excessive exercise ; Gambling ; Heroin ; Inhalants ; Marijuana ; Methamphetamine ; Over-the-counter drug abuse ; Overeating ; Prescription drug dependence/abuse ; Steroids ; Tobacco ; Workaholism -- Summary and conclusions.

Craving for ecstasy : the consciousness and chemistry of escape

Milkman, Harvey B.; Sunderwirth, Stanley G.. (Lexington Books, 1987)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 533 .M55 1987

Includes index. Bibliography: p. [203]-205.

Craving for ecstasy and natural highs: a positive approach to mood alteration

Milkman, Harvey B.. (Sage Publications, c2010)
McNichols Campus Library
BF 335 .M53 2010

Deadly odds : the compulsion to gamble

Estes, Ken. (Edgehill Publications, 1990)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 569.5 .G35 .E78

Diseasing of America : addiction treatment out of control

Peele, Stanton. (Lexington Books, c1989)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 564 .P43 1989

Includes index. Bibliography: p. [289]-309.

Dispelling the myths about addiction : strategies to increase understanding and strengthen research

Institute of Medicine (U.S.). Committee to Identify Strategies to Raise the Profile of Substance Abuse and Alcoholism Research. (National Academy Press, 1997)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 564 .D57 1997

Dysfunctional church : addiction and codependency in the family of Catholicism

Crosby, Michael. (Ave Maria Press, c1991)
McNichols Campus Library
BX 1746 .C69 1991

Eating behavior in eating disorders

Walsh, B. Timothy (ed.). (American Psychiatric Press, c1988)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 552 .E18 E26 1988

"Outgrowth of a symposium presented at the 1987 American Psychiatric Assocation meeting in Chicago"

Encyclopedia of addictions

Hollen, Kathryn H.. (Greenwood Press, 2009)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 563.4 .H65 2009 v.1-2

Essential papers on obsessive-compulsive disorder

Stein, Dan J.; Stone, Michael H. (eds.). (New York University Press, c1997)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 533 .E87 1997

Contents:  The defence neuro-psychoses / Sigmund Freud -- Theoretical (from "notes upon a case of obsessional neurosis") / Sigmund Freud -- Hat and anal erotism in the obsessional neurosis / Ernest Jones -- Contributions to the theory of the anal character / Karl Abraham -- Inhibitions, symptoms, and anxiety / Sigmund Freud -- Obsessional neurosis: a summary of psycho-analytic views as presented at the congress / Anna Freud -- Psychoanalytically oriented short-term dynamic or anxiety-provoking psychotherapy for mild obsessional neuroses / Peter E. Sifneos -- Therapy of the obsessive personality / Leonard Salzman -- The 'obsessional': on the psychological classification of obsessional character traits and symptoms / Joseph Sandler and Anandi Hazari -- Obsessive compulsive neurosis in children / Lewis L. Judd -- An experimental contribution to the psychology of obsessive-compulsive neurosis / Heinz Harmann -- The treatment of chronic obsessive-compulsive neurosis / Stanley Rachman -- Obsessional-compulsive problems: a cognitive-behavioral analysis -- Paul M. Salkovskis -- The organic background of obsessions and compulsions / Paul Schilder -- Obsessive-compulsive disorder: is it basal ganglia dysfunction? / Steven P. Wise and Judith L. Rapoport -- Obsessive-compulsive disorder: psychobiological approaches to diagnosis, treatment, and pathophysiology / Joseph Zohar and Thomas R. Insel -- Pharmacologic treatment of obsessive compulsive disorders / Michael A. Jenike -- Caudate glucose metabolic rate changes with both drug and behavior therapy for obsessive-compulsive disorder / Lewis R. Baxter ... [et al.] -- Childhood-onset obsessive compulsive disorder / Susan E. Swedo ... [et al.] -- The spectrum of obsessive-compulsive-related disorders / Dan J. Stein and Eric Hollander.

Feminist perspectives on addictions

Van Den Bergh, Nan (ed.). (Springer Pub. Co., c1991)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 533 .F45 1990

Includes bibliographical references and index.

Gender and addictions : men and women in treatment

Straussner, Shulamith Lala Ashenberg.; Zelvin, Elizabeth (eds.). (Jason Aronson, c1997)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 564 .G3727 1997

Series: Jerome D. Levin series. Notes: Includes bibliographical references and index.

Getting hooked : rationality and addiction

Elster, Jon; Skog, Ole-J�rgen (eds.). (Cambridge University Press, 1999)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 533 .G45 1999

Includes bibliographical references and index. Contents: Addiction and social interaction / Karl Ove Moene -- Addiction, weakness of the will, and relapse / Olav Gjelsvik -- The dangers of willpower / George Ainslie -- The neurobiology of chemical addiction / Eliot L. Gardner and James David -- To legalize or not to legalize: is that the question? / Helge Waal -- Rationality, irrationality, and addiction - notes on Becker's and Murphy's theory of addiction / Ole-Jørgen Skog -- Gambling and addiction / Jon Elster -- A visceral account of addiction / George Loewenstein -- Epilogue: rationally coping with lapses from rationality / Thomas Schelling

Handbook of addiction treatment for women

Straussner, Shulamith Lala Ashenberg; Brown, Stephanie (eds.). (Jossey-Bass, 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 564.5 .W65 H36 2002

Includes bibliographical references and indexes.

Impulse control disorders : a clinician

Grant, Jon E..
McNichols Campus Library
RC 569.5 .I46 G72 2008

Contents: Clinical characteristics of impulse control disorders -- Models for understanding impulse control disorders -- The compulsive-impulsive spectrum: the compulsive aspects of impulse control disorders -- The relationship of impulse control disorders to drug and alcohol addiction -- Intermittent explosive disorders: relationship to impulse control disorders -- Etiology of impulse control disorders -- Assessment of impulse control disorders -- How to treat impulse control disorders -- The role of the family -- Legal issues in impulse control disorders.

I shop, therefore I am : compulsive buying and the search for self

Benson, April Lane (ed.). (Jason Aronson, c2000)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 569.5 .S56 I12 2000

Meaning of addiction : compulsive experience and its interpretation

Peele, Stanton. (Lexington Books, c1985)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 564 .P45 1985

Includes indexes. Bibliography: p. [159]-186.

Mental disorders of the new millennium

Plante, Thomas G.. (Praeger, 2006)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 454 .M462 2006 v. 1-3

3 volumes. Contents: v. 1. Behavioral issues. The psychopathy of everyday life / Marty Kantor -- Narcissism: Greek tragedy, psychological syndrome, cultural norm / Jerrold Lee Shapiro and Susan Bernadett-Shapiro -- Anger disorders: diagnosing an unrecognized mood disorder / Heather C. Lench -- An overview of pathological gambling / Mark Griffiths -- Kleptomania / Jon Grant and Daniel Kim -- Mood disorders in children and adolescents / Jarrod M. Leffler and Mary A. Fristad -- Adult depression: features, burdens, models, and interventions / Michael J. Constantino ... [et al.] -- The will to die / Viola Mecke -- Helping adolescents with self-injurious behavior: cutting in developmental context / Lori Goldfarb Plante -- Reading, writing, and therapy: mental health issues among college students / Julie B. Jampel -- Pedophile priests: what do we know about Catholic clergy who sexually victimize minors? / Thomas G. Plante -- Specific phobia: a common problem, rarely treated / Christine D. Scher ... [et al.] -- Conclusion: how might we prevent abnormal behavior from occurring and developing? / Thomas G. Plante -- v. 2. Public and social problems. Post-traumatic stress disorder among U.S. combat veterans / Stanley Krippner and Daryl S. Paulson -- Family violence and its degrees of deviance : understanding the truth or paying the consequences / Christina M. Dalpiaz -- Abuse and neglect of older adults: what do we know about it and how can we identify it? / Daphne Nahmiash -- Homicide-suicide: an overview / Julie E. Malphurs and Maria Llorente -- Mothers who kill their children: considering patterns, prevention, and intervention / Cheryl L. Meyer and Michelle Oberman -- When the peer group becomes the parent: social and developmental issues associated with youth gangs / Mike Axelman and Sara Bonnell -- Substance abuse among adolescents / Steve Sussman, Silvana Skara, and Susan L. Ames -- Workaholism / Ronald J. Burke -- The remarkable normalcy of dying to kill in holy war / Rona M. Fields -- Culture in psychopathology - psychopathology in culture: taking a fresh look at an old problem / Juris G. Draguns -- How the effects of traumatic experience are passed "unto the following generations" / Judith Issroff -- Conclusion: how might we prevent abnormal behavior from occurring and developing? / Thomas G. Plante -- v. 3. Biology and function. Postpartum depression: more than the 'baby blues?' / Rudy Nydegger -- Persons with mental retardation: scientific, clinical, and policy advances / Robert M. Hodapp ... [et al.] -- Autism spectrum disorders: a crisis of urgent public concern / Ruth E. Cook -- Frequently asked questions about attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder (AD/HD) / Carolyn Pender and Bradley Smith -- Obsessive-compulsive disorder: diagnostic, treatment, gender, and cultural issues / Rudy Nydegger and Michele Paludi -- Eating disorders: anorexia nervosa, bulimia nervosa, and binge eating disorder / Jennifer Couturier and James Lock -- Body dysmorphic disorder: when does concern about appearance become pathological? / Shauna L. Shapiro and Angela Gavin -- Munchausen by proxy / Catherine C. Ayoub -- Alzheimer's disease: new concepts in diagnosis, treatment, and management / James E. Soukup -- The scientific foundations of gender identity disorders / Leslie M. Lothstein -- Sexual orientation and mental health: what the behavioral sciences know about sexual orientation and why it matters / John C. Gonsirek -- Conclusion: how might we prevent abnormal behavior from occurring and developing? / Thomas G. Plante.

Motivational interviewing : preparing people for change

Miller, William R.; Rollnick, Stephen. (2nd ed., Guilford Press, c2002)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 533 .M56 2002

Includes bibliographical references (p. 391-419) and index.

Motivational interviewing [videorecording]

(Allyn & Bacon, [2003?])
McNichols Campus Library
RC 533 .M68 2003

1 VHS videocassette (64 min.). Summary: Lewis and Carlson talk to William Miller about motivational interviewing and how it is designed to help people resolve their ambivalence about changing addictive behaviors. The therapist creates an atmosphere that is conducive to change by expressing empathy, helping clients explore the gaps between their current behaviors and the lives they would like to lead, avoiding arguments, rolling with resistance, and using encouragement. Includes footage of an actual counseling session.

Obsessive-compulsive behavior

(American Psychological Association, c2007)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 480 .A6 Series 2 no.18 2007

Summary: "Dr. Martin M. Antony demonstrates his approach to working with this common problem. Dr. Antony works within a cognitive-behavioral framework, which includes an exploration of the triggers that bring on the client's anxiety, prolonged exposure to these cues, and prevention of the client's compulsive behavior. The client is taught strategies for coping with anxiety that arises during the course of the practice. In this session, Dr. Antony works with a woman in her 30's who exhibits compulsive behavior surrounding counting and order."--APA website (www.apa.org) (96 min.)

Overcoming overeating : living free in a world of food

Hirschmann, Jane R.; Munter, Carol H..
McNichols Campus Library
RC 552 .E18 H57 1988

Includes index. Bibliography: p. 233-234.

Principles and practice of relapse prevention

Wilson, Peter H. (ed.). (Guilford Press, c1992)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 489 .R44 P75 1992

Psychodynamics of addiction

Weegmann, Martin; Cohen, Robert I. (eds.). (Whurr, 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 564 .P784 2002

Includes bibliographical references (p. 169-175) and index.

Psychology and treatment of addictive behavior

Dowling, Scott (ed.). (International Universities Press, 1995)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 533 .P76 1995

Series: Workshop series of the American Psychoanalytic Association, monograph 8. Notes: Includes bibliographical references (p. 191- 213) and indexes.

Recovering from sexual abuse, addictions, and compulsive behaviors : "numb" survivors

Knauer, Sandy. (Haworth Social Work Practice Press, 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 533 .K58 2002

Includes bibliographical references (p. 347-354) and index. Contents: The need for anesthesia -- The nature of addiction, compulsion, and the trance state: an addict's limited range of dysfunctional choices -- Family-of-origin issues: how the stage is set for addictions and compulsions -- Feeling "less-than" -- Life through gray-colored lenses -- Fear as a catalyst for addictive behaviors -- Violence as an outgrowth of shame, fear, and depression -- Drugs and alcohol as anesthesia -- Weight issues, eating disorders, and disturbed body images as anesthesia -- Codependency as an addiction -- Sexual addiction and sexual codependency -- Religious addiction versus spirituality -- Assorted addictions and compulsions commonly seen in survivors -- Switching addictions -- Establishing healthy boundaries -- Addictions as a spiritual issue -- Using the twelve steps for healing from sexual abuse, addictions, and compulsive behaviors.

Self-harm behavior and eating disorders : dynamics, assessment, and treatment

Levitt, John L.; Sansone, Randy A.; Cohn, Leigh (eds.). (Brunner-Routledge, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 552 .S4 S456 2004

Contents:  The prevalence of self-harm behavior among those with eating disorders / Randy A. Sansone and John L. Levitt -- Dying to live: eating disorders and self-harm behavior in a cultural context / Mervat Nasser -- Impulsive and compulsive self-injurious behavior and eating disorders: an epidemiological study / Angela Favaro, Silvia Ferrara, and Paolo Santonastaso -- Self-harm and suicide attempts in bulimia nervosa / Charles B. Anderson and Cynthia M. Bulik -- Borderline personality disorder: self-harm and eating disorders / Randy A. Sansone, Lori Sansone, and John L. Levitt -- Feminist perspectives on self-harm behavior and eating disorders / Beth Hartman McGilley -- Assessment tools: eating disorder symptoms and self-harm behavior / Randy A. Sansone and Lori A. Sansone -- An assessment tool for self-injury: the Self-Injury Self-Report Inventory (SISRI) / K.R. Juzwin -- An overview of psychotherapy strategies for the management of self-harm behavior / Randy A. Sansone, John L. Levitt, and Lori A. Sansone -- Therapy-related assessment of self-harming behavior in patients with eating disorders: a case illustration / Laurence Claes, Walter Vandereycken, and Hans Vertommen -- Dialectical behavior therapy strategies in the management of self-harm behavior in patients with eating disorders / Elizabeth Blocher McCabe and Marsha D. Marcus -- An integrative cognitive therapy approach to the treatment of multi-impulsive bulimia nervosa / Tricia Cook Myers ... [et al.] -- Eclectic treatment of eating disorders and self-injury: a case illustration / Monika Ostroff -- Interventions and strategies for families and friends of the self-harming patient with an eating disorder / Carolyn Costin -- A self-regulatory approach to the treatment of eating disorders and self-injury / John L. Levitt -- Group therapy approaches to the treatment of eating disorders and self-injury / John L. Levitt and Randy A. Sansone -- Psychotropic medications, self-harm behavior, and eating disorders / Randy A. Sansone, John L. Levitt, and Lori A. Sansone.

Sex and the Internet : a guidebook for clinicians

Cooper, Al (ed.). (Brunner-Routledge, 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 560 .S43 C664 2002

Contents:  Introduction. The Internet : the next sexual revolution / Al Cooper and Eric Griffin-Shelley -- Internet sexuality : known risks and fresh chances for women / Sandra Leiblum and Nicola Döring -- Men who have sex with men, and the Internet : emerging clinical issues and their management / Michael W. Ross and Michael R. Kauth -- Access to pleasure : onramp to specific information on disability, illness, and changes throughout the lifespan / Mitchell S. Tepper and Annette F. Owens -- Effects of Internet sexuality on children and adolescents / Robert E. Longo, Steven M. Brown, and Deborah Price Orcutt -- Virtual sexuality in the workplace : a wake-up call for clinicians, employers, and employees / Al Cooper, Irene McLoughlin, Pauline Reich, and Jay Kent-Ferraro -- The electronic bedroom : clinical assessment of online sexual problems and Internet-enabled sexual behavior / David Greenfield and Maressa Orzack -- Treating online compusive sexual behavior : when cybersex is the drug of choice / David L. Delimonico, Elizabeth Griffin, and Patrick J. Carnes -- The new "Elephant in the living room": effects of compulsive cybersex behaviors on the spouse / Jennifer P. Schneider -- Paraphilias and the Internet / Nathan W. Galbreath, Fred S. Berlin, and Denise Sawyer -- Harnessing the power of the Internet to improve sexual relationships / Al Cooper, Coralie Scherer, and I. David Marcus -- Sexuality and the Internet : ethics and regulation / S. Michael Plaut and Karen M. Donahey -- Obtaining data about human sexual functioning from the Internet / Eric P. Ochs, Kenneth Mah, and Yitzchak M. Binik -- The future of Internet sexuality / Azy Barak and William A. Fisher.

Sexual Addiction

(Films for the Humanities, 1987)
McNichols Campus Library
HQ 71 .D68

(28 min.)

Sin as addiction

McCormick, Patrick T.. (Paulist Press, c1989)
McNichols Campus Library
BT 715 .M374 1989

Special problems in counseling the chemically dependent adolescent

Sweet, Eileen Smith (ed.). (Haworth Press, c1991)
McNichols Campus Library
RJ 506 .D78 S64 1991

"Has also been published as Journal of adolescent chemical dependency, volume 1, no. 4 1991"--T.p. verso. Includes bibliographical references.

Strong feelings : emotion, addiction, and human behavior

Elster, Jon. (MIT Press, c1999)
McNichols Campus Library
BF 531 .E475 1999

Includes bibliographical references and index.

Substance abuse and emotion

(American Psychological Association, c2010)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 564 .S8265 2010

Contents: Introduction : the complex interplay between substance abuse and emotion / Jon D. Kassel and Jennifer C. Veilleux -- Negative reinforcement : possible clinical implications of an integrative model / Danielle E. McCarthy ... [et al.] -- Positive reinforcement theories of drug use / Harriet de Wit and Luan Phan -- Cognitive theories of drug effects on emotion / Jon D. Kassel ... [et al.] -- Drug craving and affect / Stephen T. Tiffany -- Developmental perspectives : affect and adolescent substance use / Craig R. Colder .. [et al.] -- Evolutionary substrates of addiction : the neurochemistries of pleasure seeking and social bonding in the mammalian brain / Jaak Panksepp -- Emotions and relapse in substance use : evidence for a complex interaction between psychological, social, and biological processes / Katie Witkiewitz and Johnny Wu -- The complexities of modeling mood-drinking relationships : lessons learned from daily process research / Cynthia Mohr ... [et al.] -- Ecological momentary assessment of mood/smoking relationships in adolescent smokers / Robin Mermelstein, Donald Hedeker, and Sally Weinstein -- Cerebral deficits associated with impaired cognition and regulation of emotion in methamphetamine abuse / Andy C. Dean and Edythe D. London -- Addiction and emotion : theories, assessment techniques, and treatment implications / David H. Epstein, Jessica Wilner-Reid, and Kenzie L. Preston -- Afterword : new frontiers in substance abuse and emotion / Jon D. Kassel and Daniel P. Evatt.

Substance abuse disorders [videorecording]

(Alvin H. Perlmutter, Inc., c1991)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 454 .W92 no.6

1 videocassette (VHS) (59 min.) + textbook + 1 study guide + 1 faculty guide. Series: The world of abnormal psychology, program 6. Notes: The Annenberg/CPB Project. Study guide and faculty guides for entire series bound together. Summary: This program focuses on alcohol, cocaine, and nicotine addiction. It considers the effects of substance abuse on the individual and society and examines causal factors and treatment approaches.

Trauma recovery and empowerment : a clinician's guide for working with women in groups

Harris, Maxine. (Free Press, c1998)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 552 .T7 H37 1998

Amazon.com:

"Millions of women seek help every year for troubling depression or anxiety, for puzzling physical symptoms like headaches, muscle aches, and stomach cramps, for addictions to drugs, alcohol, or food and for problems with relationships. What their therapists or physicians are beginning to discover is that trauma, whether past or ongoing, is the cause of many of these problems. For almost five years, 27 clinicians and more than 500 participants have developed and refined the interventions contained in this manual, combining the best elements of the social skills training, psycho-educational and psychodynamic techniques, and the peer support groups that studies show are highly effective with survivors. Trauma Recovery and Empowerment guides leaders through the entire trauma recovery process. Each section includes specific discussion questions, a sampling of typical responses, and experimental exercises for each topic. A first-person account by a trauma survivor or therapist brings each session to life. "

Treating gambling problems

McCown, William George. (John Wiley & Sons, c2007)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 569.5 .M3553 2007

Contents: Conceptual foundations of gambling disorders -- Recognizing gambling disorders: signs and symptoms -- Utilizing optimal professional resources -- Developing an effective treatment plan -- Recovery theories, programs, and tools -- Continuing care: when and how should clients be discharged -- Posttreatment recovery management : models and protocols of relapse prevention -- New beginnings: moving beyond the addiction.

Treatment of obsessive compulsive disorder

Steketee, Gail. (Guildford Press, c1993)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 533 .S74 1993

Twelve Steps

(Gerald T. Rogers Productions, 1986)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 4998 .T971 (VHS)

Shows how support groups, using the Twelve Steps of Alcoholics Anonymous, help people who have problems with alcoholism, substance abuse, overeating, compulsive gambling, child abuse, etc. Emphasis is on the Twelve Steps and how people incorporate them into their lives. VHS (36 min.)

Understanding addiction as self medication : finding hope behind the pain

Khantzian, Edward J.. (Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, c2008)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 564 .K536 2008

Contents: Why the self-medication hypothesis? -- Addiction: disease or disorder -- The SMH and addiction as a problem in self-regulation -- Self-medication hypothesis research: study of affect regulation and drug preference / Jesse J. Suh -- Contexts and models for understanding addiction: a brief overview -- Suffering and self-medication -- Self-medication, psychiatric disorders, and emotional pain -- Trauma and the self-medication hypothesis -- Addiction and the perpetuation of suffering -- Nicotine, marijuana, and the SMH -- Behavioral addictions: does the SMH apply? -- The neurobiology of addiction and the SMH -- How the SMH can guide treatment and recovery.

Visions of addiction : major contemporary perspectives on addiction and alcoholism

Peele, Stanton (ed.). (Lexington Books, c1988)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 564 .V57 1988

Includes bibliographies and index.

What's wrong with addiction?

Keane, Helen. (New York University Press, 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 533 .K425 2002

Includes bibliographical references (p. 205-221) and index. Contents: Introduction : What's wrong with addiction? -- The substance of drugs -- Reading the signs of disorder : diagnosing dependence -- Further and further from the normal world : the addicted self -- Smoking, addiction and time -- Disorders of eating and the healthy diet : how to eat well -- Sex and love addiction : the ethics and erotics of intimacy -- The recovery habit -- Conclusion.

Wild hunger : the primal roots of modern addiction

Wilshire, Bruce W.. (Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, c1998)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 569.5 .D47 W55 1998

Karl A. Ericson

Assistant Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

ericsoka@udmercy.edu
313-993-1120

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Journals Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top