Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Addiction Studies

Research Guides

Adult Children Of Alcoholics

Children of alcoholics : a sourcebook

Page, Penny Booth. (Garland Pub., 1991)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 5132 .P34 1991

Series: Garland reference library of social science. v. 461. Includes indexes.

Children of alcoholics : critical perspectives

Windle, Michael T.; Searles, John S. (eds.). (Guilford Press, c1990)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 569.5 .A29 C45 1990

Series: Guilford substance abuse series Includes bibliographical references.

Children of chemically dependent parents : multiperspectives from the cutting edge

Rivinus, Timothy M.. (Brunner/Mazel Publishers, c1991)
McNichols Campus Library
RJ 507 .A42 C49 1990

I

Family secrets : life stories of adult children of alcoholics

V., Rachel. (Harper & Row, c1987)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 5132 .V17 1987

Bibliography: p. [259]-260.

Fierce : a memoir

Moss, Barbara Robinette. (Scribner, c2004)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 5132 .M673 2004

Group psychotherapy with adult children of alcoholics : treatment techniques and countertransference considerations

Vannicelli, Marsha. (Guilford Press, c1989)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 569.5 .C63 V36 1989

Includes index. Bibliography: p. 208-216.

Healing the child within : discovery and recovery for adult children of dysfunctional families

Whitfield, Charles L.. (Health Communications, c1987)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 569.5 .C63 W47 1987

Bibliography: p. 144-151

It will never happen to me

Black, Claudia. (M.A.C., Printing and Publications Division, 1982)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 5132 .B53 1982

WEBSITES

Adult Children of Alcoholics (ACA)

Organization web page. Includes: Mission, FAQ, Events, Meetings, Intergroups, Contact Information, Literture.

Children Of Denial

Black, Claudia. (MAC Pub., c.1982)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 5132 .B627 no.1

Claudia Black discusses common emotional problems found in children of alcoholic parents and what can be done to help them. (Children Of Alcoholics Series, no. 1). (32 min.)

Process Of Recovery For Adult Children Of Alcoholics

Black, Claudia. (Mac Publishing, 1987)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 5132 .B627 no.3

Covers important points in the process of recovery for adult children of alcoholics: recovery as a process rather than an event; the need to give up the compulsion for absolute control; the importance of allowing access to one's own feelings; the fact that fears are more threatening than reality; the importance of setting limits and boundaries; and the importance of acknowledging one's own needs. (Children Of Alcoholics Series, part 3). (42 min.)

Roles : the script for children of alcoholics [videorecording]

Black, Claudia. (Claudja, c1986)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 5132 .B627 no.2

1 VHS videocassette (50 min.). Taped lecture. Video 2 in a series for children of alcoholics. Summary: (Producer) In this video geared for children and adults, Claudia Black describes the four roles--responsible, adjuster, placater, acting out--that children of alcoholics commonly take on.

Karl A. Ericson

Assistant Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

ericsoka@udmercy.edu
313-993-1120

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Journals Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top