Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Addiction Studies

Research Guides

Inhalant Abuse

Addictions : a comprehensive guidebook

McCrady, Barbara S.; Epstein, Elizabeth E.. (Oxford University Press, 1999)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 564 .M327 1999

Includes bibliographical references and index. Contents: Ch. 1. Alcohol and drug use, abuse, and dependence: classification, prevalence, and comorbidity -- Ch. 2. The course of treated and untreated substance use disorders: remission and resolution, relapse and mortality -- Ch. 3. Theories of etiology of alcohol and other drug use disorders -- Ch. 4. Alcohol -- Ch. 5. Sedative-hypnotic and anxiolytic agents -- Ch. 6. Stimulants: amphetamines and cocaine -- Ch. 7. Cannabis and hallucinogens -- Ch. 8. Opioids -- Ch. 9. Nicotine -- Ch. 10. Other drugs of abuse: inhalants, designer drugs, and steroids.

CSAP Substance Abuse Resource Guide: Inhalants

Center For Substance Abuse Prevention.

This resource guide presents lists and brief descriptions of materials available to help inform and educate youth, parents, teachers, and treatment providers about the dangers of inhalant abuse. (2004, CSAP)

Drugs, society, and human behavior

Ray, Oakley Stern; Ksir, Charles. (McGraw-Hill, c2002)
McNichols Campus Library
RM 315 .R37 2002

Includes bibliographical references and index. Contents: 1. Drug use : an overview -- 2. Drug use as a social problem -- 3. Addictions : theory and treatment -- 4. Preventing substance abuse -- 5. Drug regulations -- 6. The nervous system -- 7. The actions of drugs -- 8. Stimulants -- 9. Depressants and inhalants -- 10. Psychotherapeutic drugs -- 11. Alcohol in the body -- 12. Alcohol and society -- 13. Tobacco -- 14. Caffeine -- 15. Over-the-counter drugs -- 16. Opiates -- 17. Hallucinogens -- 18. Marijuana and hashish -- 19. Steroids and other drugs in sport.

Epidemiology of inhalant abuse: an international perspective

De la Rosa, Mario; Kozel, Nicholas J.; Sloboda, Zili (eds.). (U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, National Institutes of Health, National Institute on Drug Abuse ; [Washington, D.C. : Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O., distributor], 1995)
McNichols Campus Library
HE 20.3965:148

Government document.

Glue-sniffing; big trouble in a tube

Curtis, Lindsay R.. (Texas Alcohol Narcotics Education, 1967)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 5822.G5 C8

Handbook of substance abuse : neurobehavioral pharmacology

Tarter, Ralph E.; Ammerman, Robert T.; Ott, Peggy J.. (Plenum Press, c1998)
McNichols Campus Library
RA 564.15 .H36 1998

Includes bibliographical references and index. Contents: I. Alcohol. Pharmacology of alcohol / Walter A. Hunt -- Behavioral pharmacology of alcohol / Herman H. Samson, Forrest J. Files -- Psychological and psychiatric consequences of alcohol / Christopher S. Martin, Marsha E. Bates -- II. Caffeine. Pharmacology of caffeine / John W. Daly -- Behavioral pharmacology of caffeine / Suzette M. Evans -- Psychological and psychiatric consequences of caffeine / Marilyn E. Carroll -- III. Cannabis. Pharmacology of cannabis / Allyn C. Howlett -- Behavioral pharmacology of cannabinoids / Harriet de Wit, Jeffrey M. Kirk, Angela Justice -- Psychological and psychiatric consequences of cannabis / Bruce Phariss, Robert B. Millman, Ann Bordwine Beeder -- IV. Cocaine. Pharmacology of cocaine / S. John Gatley .... [et al.] -- Behavioral pharmacology of cocaine / Sharon L. Walsh -- Psychological and psychiatric consequences of cocaine / M. Elena Denison .... [et al.] -- V. Hallucinogens. Pharmacology of hallucinogens / Richard A. Glennon -- Behavioral pharmacology of hallucinogens / Nancy K. Morrison -- Psychological and psychiatric consequences of hallucinogens / Richard B. Seymour, David E. Smith -- VI. Inhalants. Pharmacology of inhalants / Eric B. Evans -- Behavioral pharmacology of inhalants / David E. Hartman -- Psychological and psychiatric consequences of inhalants / Stephen H. Dinwiddie -- VII. Nicotine. Pharmacology of nicotine / Neal L. Benowitz -- Behavioral pharmacology of nicotine / Kenneth A. Perkins, Maxine Stitzer -- Psychological and psychiatric consequences of nicotine / Janet Brigham --

Inhalant abuse

(National Institute On Drug Abuse, 2005)

Online government document. Includes: - What are inhalants? - What are the patterns of inhalant abuse? - What is the scope of inhalant abuse? - How are inhalants used? - How do inhalants produce their effects? - What are the short- and long-term effects of inhalant use? - What are the medical consequences of inhalant abuse? - What are the special risks for nitrite abusers? - Where can I get further scientific information about inhalant abuse? - Glossary and References

Inhalant abuse and dependence among adolescents in the United States

Li-Tzy Wu,; Daniel J. Pilowsky; William E. Schlenger. Journal of the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry. (43 (10), October 2004, p. 1206-1217)

Full-text online article (General OneFile).

National Inhalant Prevention Coalition

Synergies, a non-profit corporation based in Austin, Texas, founded the National Inhalant Prevention Coalition (NIPC) in 1992. The NIPC grew from a state-wide prevention project in Texas called the Texas Prevention Partnership which began in 1990. NIPC is a public-private effort to promote awareness and recognition of the under publicized problem of inhalant use. The NIPC is led by Synergies, a non-profit corporation, located in Austin, Texas. The NIPC serves as an inhalant referral and information clearinghouse, stimulates media coverage about inhalant issues, develops informational materials, produces ViewPoint (a quarterly newsletter), provides training and technical assistance and leads a week-long national grassroots inhalant education and awareness campaign. NIPC works with state agencies, schools, businesses, trade associations, media, civic organizations, law enforcement, Poison Control Centers and interfaith groups throughout the country to educate and devise multifaceted awareness and prevention campaigns designed to educate youth and adults about the debilitating effects of these dangerous gateway drugs. NIPC also provides inservice training for educators. Through NIPC's quarterly newsletter, resource bank, media relations, targeted initiatives and national contacts, NIPC puts organizations and individuals in touch with the latest research, the best ideas and news of successful programs to enhance local efforts. NIPC can be reached at: National Inhalant Prevention Coalition 2904 Kerbey Lane Austin, Texas 78703 phone: 800.269.4237 or 512.480.8953 fax: 512.477.3932 or e-mail: nipc@io.com

"Recognition and prevention of inhalant abuse"

Anderson, Carrie E.; Loomis, Glenn A.. American Family Physician. (68 (5), September 1, 2003, p.869)

Full-text online article.

Review of inhalants : euphoria to dysfunction

Sharp, Charles William; Brehm, Mary Lee. (National Institute on Drug Abuse , 1977)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 5822.G5 R48

DHEW publication ; no. (ADM) 77-553 National Institute on Drug Abuse research monograph series, no. 15.

Sociocultural perspectives on volatile solvent use

Beauvais, Fred; Trimble, Joseph E. (eds.). (Harrington Park Press, c1997)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 5822 .S65 S62 1997

Simultaneously issued ... as a special issue of Drugs & society, Volume 10, Numbers 1/2 1997. Includes bibliographical references and index.

Karl A. Ericson

Assistant Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

ericsoka@udmercy.edu
313-993-1120

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Journals Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top