Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Addiction Studies

Research Guides

Dual Diagnosis

BOOKS

Addicted and mentally ill : stories of courage, hope, and empowerment

Bucciarelli, Carol. (Haworth Press, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 564.88 .B835 2004

For table of contents,  go to: http://www.loc.gov/catdir/toc/ecip0413/2003028213.html.

Addiction psychiatry current diagnosis and treatment

Miller, Norman S.. (Wiley-Liss, c1994)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 564.68 .M55 1994

Includes bibliographical references and index.

Chemical dependency counseling : a practical guide

Perkinson, Robert R.. (Sage Publications, c2002)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 564 .P47 2002

Includes bibliographical references (p. 521-532) and index.

Comorbidity of addictive and psychiatric disorders

Miller, Norman S.; Stimmel, Barry (eds.). (Haworth Press, c1993)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 564.68 .C65 1993

Has also been published as Journal of addictive diseases, volume 12, number 3, 1993. Includes bibliographical references.

Double jeopardy : chronic mental illness and substance use disorders

Lehman, Anthony F. ; Dixon, Lisa B. (eds.). (Harwood Academic Publishers, c1995)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 564.68 .D68 1995

Chronic mental illness series, v. 3 Includes bibliographical references and index.

Dual diagnosis

Rosenthal, Richard N.. (Brunner-Routledge, 2003)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 564.68 .D697 2003

Includes bibliographical references and index.

Dual diagnosis and treatment : substance abuse and comorbid medical and psychiatric disorders

Kranzler, Henry R.. (Marcel Dekker, c1998)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 564.68 .D78 1998

Includes bibliographical references and index.

Dual diagnosis : counseling the mentally ill substance abuser

Evans, Katie. (Evans, Katie)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 565 .E87 2001

Includes bibliographical references (p. 255-279) and index.

Dual diagnosis in a methadone population

Jackson, Fredericka Arlene. (University of Detroit Mercy, 1997)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 564.88 .J33 1997

Notes: Thesis (Ph.D.)--University of Detroit Mercy, 1997. Includes bibliographical references. Location: UDM McNichols Campus Library Thesis on Lower Level

Dual diagnosis : substance misuse and psychiatric disorders

Rassool, G. Hussein. (Blackwell Science, 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 564.68 .D795 2002

Includes bibliographical references and index.

Exploratory study : how therapists treat patients with coexisting substance use and psychiatric disorders in outpatient individual therapy

Ortman, Dennis C.. (University of Detroit Mercy, 1994)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 564.68 .O78

Thesis (Ph.D.)--University of Detroit Mercy, 1994. Includes bibliographical references. Location: UDM McNichols Campus Library Thesis on Lower Level.

Handbook of the dually diagnosed patient : psychiatric and substance use disorders

Dennison, Sylvia J.. (Lippincott Willians & Wilkins, c2003)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 564.68 .D466 2003

Includes bibliographical references and index.

Improving treatment compliance : counseling and systems strategies for substance abuse and dual disorders

Daley, Dennis C.. (Hazelden, c1999)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 564 .D345 1999

Includes bibliographical references (p. 217-233) and index.

Integrated treatment for dual disorders : a guide to effective practice

Mueser, Kim Tornvall. (Guilford Press, c2003)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 564.68 .I684 2003

Treatment manuals for practitioners series. Includes bibliographical references and index. Contents: Basics -- Substance abuse and severe mental illness -- Principles of integrated treatment -- Basic organizational factors -- Assessment process -- Assessment I: detection, classification, and functional assessment -- Assessment II: functional analysis and treatment planning -- Individual approaches -- Stage-wise case management -- Motivational interviewing -- Cognitive-behavioral counseling -- Group interventions -- Persuasion groups -- Active treatment groups -- Social skills training groups -- Self-help groups -- Working with families -- Family collaboration -- Behavioral family therapy -- Multiple-family groups -- Other treatment approaches -- Residential programs and other housing options -- Involuntary and coerced interventions -- Vocational rehabilitation -- Psychopharmacology -- Research -- Research on integrated dual-disorder treatment.

New treatments for chemical addictions

McCance-Katz, Elinore F.; Kosten, Thomas R. (eds.). (American Psychiatric Press, c1998)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 564 .N49 1998

Review of psychiatry series. Includes bibliographical references and index. Contents: Current issues in nicotine dependence and treatment -- Alcohol dependence: women, biology, and pharmacotherapy -- Opiate dependence and current treatments -- Substance abuse and HIV diseases: entwined and intimate entities -- Contemporary issues in dual diagnosis.

Lives at risk : understanding and treating young people with dual disorders

Ryglewicz, Hilary. (Free Press, c1996)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 564.68 .R97 1996

Includes bibliographical references (p.243-252) index.

Principles and practice of addictions in psychiatry

Miller, Norman S.. (Saunders, c1997)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 564.68 .P75 1997

Includes bibliographical references and index.

Substance abuse treatment for criminal offenders : an evidence-based guide for practitioners

Springer, David W.. (American Psychological Association, c2003)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 564 .S685 2003

Forensic practice guidebooks series. Includes bibliographical references (p. 185-237) and index.

Treating co-occurring disorders : a handbook for mental health and substance abuse professionals

Hendrickson, Edward L.; Schmal, Marilyn Strauss; Ekleberry, Sharon C.. (Haworth Press, c2004)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 564.68 .H46 2004

Haworth addictions treatment series. Includes bibliographical references (p. 219-233) and index. Contents: The new reality: multifarious caseloads -- Then and now: concepts and treatment of co-occurring disorders -- Frequently co-occurring Axis I psychiatric and substance use disorders -- Personality disorders that frequently co-occur with substance use disorders -- Assessment -- Introduction to treatment: goals and themes -- Psychoeducation and group therapy -- Individual therapy and case management -- Family interventions -- Promoting long-term stability: relapse prevention and symptom management -- Substance abuse and mental health recovery movements -- Supervising staff with multifarious caseloads -- Measuring change: reasonable outcome and performance standards.

Treating psychological trauma and PTSD

Wilson, John P.; Friedman, Matthew J.; Lindy, Jacob D. (eds.). (Guilford Press, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 552 .P67 T7645 2004

Contents:

Theory, models, and clinical paradigms of treatment. Treatment goals for PTSD / John P. Wilson, Matthew J. Friedman, and Jacob D. Lindy -- A holistic, organismic approach to healing trauma and PTSD / John P. Wilson, Matthew J. Friedman, and Jacob D. Lindy -- Clinical treatment of PTSD. An overview of clinical considerations and principles in the treatment of PTSD / John P. Wilson -- Allostatic versus empirical perspectives on pharmacotherapy for PTSD / Matthew J. Friedman -- An allostatic approach to the psychodynamic understanding of PTSD / Jacob D. Lindy and John P. Wilson -- Acute posttraumatic interventions / Beverley Raphael and Matthew Dobson -- Cognitive-behavioral approaches to PTSD / Lori A. Zoellner, Lee A. Fitzgibbons, and Edna B. Foa -- Group psychotherapy for PTSD / David W. Foy ... [et al.]. Clinical treatment approaches for special trauma populations. Treatment of persons with complex PTSD and other trauma-related disruptions of the self / Laurie Anne Pearlman -- Dual diagnosis and treatment of PTSD / Alexander C. McFarlane -- Cross-cultural treatment of PTSD / J. David Kinzie -- Treatment methods for childhood trauma / Kathleen Nader -- Treatment of PTSD in families and couples / Laurie Harkness and Noka Zador -- Treatment of PTSD in persons with severe mental illness / Kim T. Mueser and Stanley D. Rosenberg -- Case history analysis and practical considerations. Case history analysis of the treatments for PTSD : lessons learned / Jacob D. Lindy, John P. Wilson, and Matthew J. Friedman -- Practical considerations in the treatment of PTSD : guidelines for practitioners / John P. Wilson, Matthew J. Friedman, and Jacob D. Lindy -- Respecting the trauma membrane : above all, do no harm / Jacob D. Lindy and John P. Wilson.

Understanding psychiatric medications in the treatment of chemical dependency and dual diagnoses

Preston, John. (C.C. Thomas, c1995)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 564.68 .P74 1995

Includes bibliographical references (p. 109-111) and index.

Journal Articles

Dual diagnosis

Telias, Darwin. International Journal of Psychosocial Rehabilitation. (5, 2001, p. 101-110)

Full-text online article.

Homelessness and Dual Diagnosis

Drake, Robert E.; Osher, Fred C.; Wallach, Michael. American Psychologist. (46 (11), November 1991, p. 1149-1158)
McNichols Campus Library

Online article.

Videorecording

Dual Diagnosis: Chemical Dependency And Mental Illness

(AHA, 1988)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 645.68 .D82 1988 (VHS)

Discusses the coexisting of psychiatric illness and chemical dependency, and the difficulties of proper diagnosis and treatments. Combines lecture and interviews with dual diagnosis patients to deliver a message of hope. (22 min.)

Dual Diagnosis Website

Mental Illness, Drug Addiction and Alcoholism, MIDAA.

This site is designed to provide information and resources for service providers, consumers, and family members who are seeking assistance and/or education in this field. Includes: - Introduction to the Dual Diagnosis Website - Dual Disorders: Glossary & Clinical Profiles - Training Opportunities - Education and Training Events - Motivational Interviewing Training Seminars - Dual Diagnosis Literature, Articles, Chapters and Abstracts - Education and Training Videos - Educational and Program Materials Available for Order

Dual Recovery Anonymous World Services

Dual Recovery Anonymous™ is an independent, nonprofessional, twelve step, self-help fellowship organization for people with a dual diagnosis. Our goal is to help men and women who experience a dual illness. We are chemically dependent and we are also affected by an emotional or psychiatric illness. Both illnesses affect us in all areas of our lives; physically, psychologically, socially, and spiritually. Website also an online resource center.

HelpLine Fact Sheet : Dual Diagnosis in Adolescence

National Alliance for the Mentally Ill (NAMI). (NAMI, 2005)

National Association for the Dually Diagnosed (NADD)

NADD is the leading North American expert in providing professionals, educators, policy makers, and families with education, training, and information on mental health issues relating to persons with intellectual or developmental disabilities. The mission of NADD is to advance mental wellness for persons with developmental disabilities through the promotion of excellence in mental health care.

Professional interview series: introducing Kenneth Minkoff, MD

AtHealth.com.

Welcome to Athealth.com's Professional Interview Series. Athealth.com is pleased to feature Dr. Kenneth Minkoff, who answers questions about evidence-based, best clinical practices in the treatment of co-occurring substance use and mental health disorders.

Karl A. Ericson

Assistant Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

ericsoka@udmercy.edu
313-993-1120

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Journals Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top