Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Dental Hygiene

Scholarly Articles + Databases

Pharmacology databases

DailyMed

National Library of Medicine.

DailyMed provides health information providers and the public with a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date information about marketed drugs found in FDA approved labels and medication package inserts.

Dietary Supplement Labels Database (NLM)

The Dietary Supplements Labels Database offers information about ingredients in more than two thousand selected brands of dietary supplements. It enables users to determine what ingredients are in specific brands and to compare ingredients in different brands. Information is also provided on the health benefits claimed by manufacturers. These claims by manufacturers have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. Companies may not market as dietary supplements any products that are intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease.

Ingredients of dietary supplements in this database are linked to other National Library of Medicine databases such as MedlinePlus® and PubMed® to allow users to understand the characteristics of ingredients and view the results of research pertaining to them, including the following characteristics:

  • Uses in humans
  • Adverse effects
  • Mechanism of action

The Database can be searched by brand names, uses noted on product labels, specific active ingredients, and manufacturers.

Warnings and Recalls from the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA), related to specific ingredients and supplement brands have also been provided.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Lexi-Comp Online for Dentistry

Drug interactions, drug information, and clinical reference.
Campus access including UHC.

 

Marilyn Dow

Director, School of Dentistry Library
Dental School Library

dowmk@udmercy.edu
313-494-6905

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top