Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Criminal Justice

Research Guides

Statistics for Criminal Justice

American FactFinder

US Census Bureau.

Search by zip code to find demographic census information from population to housing and get a fact sheet on any community.

Bureau of Justice Statistics

U.S. Department of Justice.

Find statistics on crime and victions, law enforcement, criminal offenders, corrections, courts and sentencing and much more.

Census (U.S. Census Bureau)

This is the official U.S. Census Bureau website, providing information about 2010 census and access to the 2000 census data. In addition to the standard census tables in the general categories of people and households, business and industry, and geography, the site also provides access to survey and sample data. Information includes anonymous data from many social, financial and medical studies that are conducted by the Bureau of the Census. Population clocks show U.S. and World population estimates updated minute-to-minute.

 

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Detroit Crime Statistics

City of Detroit.

Provides crime statistics and a link to create crime maps which can be narrowed down to particular streets and neighborhoods. 

Federal Bureau of Investigation-Unifom Crime Reports

U.S. Department of Justice, Federal Bureau of Investigation.

This website provides links to annual reports from the FBI. Featured reports include Crime in the United States, Hate Crime Statistics, and Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted.

Federal Justice Statistics Resource Center

US Department of Justice Bureau of Justice Statistics.

"The Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS), through its Federal Justice Statistics Resource Center (FJSRC), compiles comprehensive information describing suspects and defendants processed in the Federal criminal justice system. The goal of FJSRC is to provide uniform case processing statistics across all stages of the Federal criminal justice system. Using data obtained from Federal agencies, FJSRC compiles comprehensive information that describes person-cases processed through the system. FJSRC applies uniform definitions to commonly used statistics describing data from each stage of case processing. The data definitions used by the FJSRC are consistent with definitions used by other BJS programs that report on case processing in state courts so that comparisons may be made between case processing statistics between the Federal and state systems."

FedStats

FedStats, which has been available to the public since 1997, provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic. With convenient searching and linking capablilties to more than 100 agencies that provide data and trend information on such topics as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more, FedStats is your one location for access to the full breadth of Federal statistical information.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Hate Crime Statistics

Hate Crime Statistics is part of the FBI's Uniform Crime Report. Each year the statistics include "data regarding incidents, offenses, victims, and offenders in reported crimes that were motivated in whole or in part by a bias against the victim's perceived race, religion, ethnicity, sexual orientation, or disability."

Michigan--Uniform Crime Report

Michigan State Police.

Find Michigan crime statistics from 1997 - present by crime, race, age, and sex.  Narrow by county and jurisdiction. 

Michigan State Police Statistics

State of Michigan.

This website features a crime statistics database that is searchable both statewide and at the county level. It also provides links to other statistics, such as traffic enforcement statistics and narcotic crime trends.

National Archive of Criminal Justice Data

"The mission of the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) is to facilitate research in criminal justice and criminology, through the preservation, enhancement, and sharing of computerized data resources; through the production of original research based on archived data; and through specialized training workshops in quantitative analysis of crime and justice data."

National Crime Victimization Survey

Bureau of Justice Statistics.

"Presents 110 tables with detailed data on major variables measured by the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS). 

Topics covered include --

  • crimes of violence (rape, gender, sexual assault, robbery, assault) and theft (pocket picking, purse snatching, burglary, theft, and motor vehicle theft), with data on victim characteristics (gender, age, race, ethnicity, marital status, income, and residence)
  • crime characteristics (time and place of occurrence, distance from home, weapon use, self-protection, injury, medical care, economic loss, and time lost from work)
  • victim-offender relationship
  • victims' perceptions of substance use by offenders and of offender characteristics (age, race, and gender)
  • whether crimes were reported to the police and reasons why
  • police response time for reported crimes"

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics Online

"The Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics brings together data from more than 100 sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States. These data are displayed in over 1,000 tables."

Jill Werdell Spreitzer

Associate Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

werdeljc@udmercy.edu
313-993-1221

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Library Instruction Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top