Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Criminal Justice

Research Guides

Domestic Violence and Violence Against Women

Subject Headings for Research on Domestic Violence

Subject headings to use when researching Domestic Violence:

 

battered females

battered woman syndrome

child abuse

domestic violence

elder abuse

emotional abuse

family violence

partner abuse

spouse abuse

violence against women

wife abuse

 

Family Violence

dmoz Open Directory Project.

From their website: "The Open Directory Project is the largest, most comprehensive human-edited directory of the Web. It is constructed and maintained by a vast, global community of volunteer editors." Websites are catagorized into broad topics such as, child abuse, elder abuse, men's issues, women's issues, offender treatment and more. They are then subcategorized, for example under child abuse, sub topics include fetal alcohol syndrome, shaken baby syndrome, sexual abuse, etc.

Domestic Violence

dmoz Open Directory Project.

From their website: "The Open Directory Project is the largest, most comprehensive human-edited directory of the Web. It is constructed and maintained by a vast, global community of volunteer editors." Find websites categorized in broad topics, such as dating violence, medical aspects, offender treatment, honor killing, shelters, and more.  Other topics are suggested.

Institute on Domestic Violence in the African American Community (IDVAAC)

From their webpage, "The Institute on Domestic Violence in the African American Community (IDVAAC) is an organization focused on the unique circumstances of African Americans as they face issues related to domestic violence, including intimate partner violence, child abuse, elder maltreatment, and community violence. IDVAAC’s mission is to enhance society’s understanding of and ability to end violence in the African-American community."

The Institute also provides a number of videos on YouTube on a variety of relevant topics.  Current initiatives include: fatherhood and domestic violence, safe return--prison reentry, domestic violence healing, and spirituality, faith, and domestic violence.

MINCAVA Electronic Clearinghouse

Minnesota Center Against Violence and Abuse.

The Clearinghouse provides articles, videos, and bibliographies on a variety of topics including domestic violence, sexual violence, stalking, trafficking, workplace violence, youth violence, child abuse as well as providing lists of toolkits, training, and organizations involved in the various topics.

RAINN Rape Abuse and Incest National Network

From their website: "RAINN operates the National Sexual Assault Hotline at 1.800.656.HOPE and the National Sexual Assault Online Hotline at rainn.org, and publicizes the hotlines' free, confidential services; educates the public about sexual violence; and leads national efforts to prevent sexual violence, improve services to victims and ensure that rapists are brought to justice."

Stop Abuse for Everyone

From their website: "Stop Abuse For Everyone (SAFE) is a human rights organization that provides services, publications, and training to serve those who typically fall between the cracks of domestic violence services: straight men, GLBT victims, teens, and the elderly. We promote services for all victims and accountability for all perpetrators." Find resources by population or by country/state. Their Blog has even more information.

Futures Without Violence

From their website: "We advance the health, stability, education, and security of women and girls, men and boys worldwide...Striving to reach new audiences and transform social norms, we train professionals such as doctors, nurses, athletic coaches, and judges on improving responses to violence and abuse. As well, we work with advocates, policy makers and others to build sustainable community leadership and educate people everywhere about the importance of respect and healthy relationships – the relationships that all individuals, families, and communities need and deserve.

"

WHO Multi-country Study on Women's Health and Domestic Violence against Women

World Health Organization.

Read the 11 chapter report, WHO Multi-country Study on Women's Health and Domestic Violence against Women, from this website. 24,000 women in 10 countries were interviewed.

Jill Werdell Spreitzer

Associate Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

werdeljc@udmercy.edu
313-993-1221

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Library Instruction Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top