Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Communication Studies

Research Guides

Audio and Video Production

Adobe Audition 2.0 : essential training

Williams, Bruce. (Adobe Systems, 2006)
McNichols Campus Library
TK 7881.65 .A361 2006

"Video training, beginning-intermediate."

"Audition 2.0 Essential Training allows the user to record, mix, edit, and master professional digital music and audio files with powerful tools that bring flexibility and control to the desktop studio. Users can create music, produce radio spots, restore imperfect recordings, and bring audio and video together using smart integration with Adobe video applications."

Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended : Retouching Motion Pictures

Bouton, Gary David. (Course Technology, 2008)

ELECTRONIC BOOK: available in ebrary

Art and science of digital compositing : techniques for visual effects, animation and motion graphics

Brinkmann, Ron. (Morgan Kaufmann Publishers/Elsevier, 2008)
T 385 .B75 2008

Includes book and DVD.

Audio postproduction for film and video

Rose, Jay. (Focal Press, 2009)
TK 7881.4 .R67 2009

Includes one music CD.

Authentic sound effects

Holzman, Keith. (Elektra, 1987)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1590 .S68 A9

Includes 3 CDs.

  • "Volume 1 includes household sounds and workplace effects.
  •   Volume 2 includes transportation and "mood" effects - surf, stream, etc.
  •   Volume 3 includes weapons, amusement, crowd effects, music, and special effects (broken glass, rain, body falling downstairs, etc.)."

Cue & cut : a practical approach to working in multi-camera studios

Singleton-Turner, Roger. (Manchester University Press, 2011)
McNichols Campus Library
PN1992.75 .S565 2011

Cut by cut : editing your film or video

Chandler, Gael. (Michael Wiese Productions, 2012)
McNichols Campus Library
TR 899 .C45 2012

Digital video secrets : what the pros know and the manuals don't tell you

Levelle, Tony. (Michael Wiese Productions, 2008)
McNichols Campus Library
TK 6680.5 .L48 2008

Fundamentals of film directing

Irving, David K.. (McFarland & Co., 2010)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1995.9 .P7 I74 2010

Greenscreen made easy : keying and compositing for indie filmmakers

Hanke, Jeremy. (Michael Wiese Productions, 2009)
McNichols Campus Library
TR 858 .H3525 2009

High definition postproduction : editing and delivering HD

Browne, Steven E.. (Elsevier Focal Press, 2007)
McNichols Campus Library
TR 899 .B7225 2007

Master handbook of audio production : a guide to standards, equipment, and system design

Whitaker, Jerry C.. (McGraw-Hill, 2003)
McNichols Campus Library
TK 7881.4 .M37 2003

Table of Contents

Mixing audio: concepts, practices and tools

Izhaki, Roey. (Focal Press, 2012)
McNichols Campus Library
TK 7881.4 .I94 2012

Motion picture and video lighting

Brown, Blain. (Elsevier/Focal Press, 2008)
McNichols Campus Library
TR 891 .B76 2008

Includes book and DVD.

Table of Contents

Photoshop for video

Harrington, Richard. (3rd ed., Elsevier/Focal Press, 2007)
McNichols Campus Library
TR 899 .H3898 2007

Includes book and DVD.

Portable video : ENG & EFP

Medoff, Norman J.; Fink, Edward J.; Tanquary, Tom. (Focal, 2007)
McNichols Campus Library
TR 895 .M44 2007

Reality check : the business and art of producing reality TV

Essany, Michael. (Focal Press/Elsevier, 2008)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1992.8 .R43 E87 2008

Single-camera video production

Musburger, Robert B.. (4th ed., Focal Press, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
TK 6655 .V5 M88 2005

Sound design & science fiction

Whittington, William. (University of Texas Press, 2007)
McNichols Campus Library
TR 897 .W49 2007

Table of Contents

Sound in the studio

Tanaka, Arthur; Beeh, Peter. (Classroom Video, 2003)
McNichols Campus Library
QC 225.15 .S68 2001

Sound reporting : the NPR guide to audio journalism and production

Kern, Jonathan. (University of Chicago Press, 2008)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 4784 .R2 K47 2008

Technology of video and audio streaming / David Austerberry

Austerberry, David. (2nd ed., Focal Press, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
TK 5105.386 .A97 2005

Videomaker presents advanced editing

(Videomaker, 2003)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1992.94 .V53 2003

"The experts at Videomaker magazine demonstrate the editing tools and techniques that will give your videos the professional touch. Includes advanced editing tools, the art of editing, video filters and color effects, compositing, titles and graphics, and encoding and output." (30 min.)

Videomaker presents basics of videography

(Videomaker, 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
Video Collection TR 882 .V53 2002

  • Part 1: Basic shooting (27 min.). Camcorder features; Button basics; Lighting basics; Sound advice; Composition; Smooth moves
  • Part 2: Sound success (27 min.). Microphone types; Wired or wireless?; Indoor audio problems & solutions; Outdoor audio problems & solutions; Mixing & editing audio; Audio sweetening.
  • Part 3: Light it right! (27 min.). Light theory: an intro to the basics; Tools & terms of lighting; Studio lighting: a step-by-step guide; Indoor daytime lighting; Outdoor daytime: fun in the sun; Outdoor nighttime lighting: easy tips.
Includes bonus content from Ulead, Digital Juice and Tri Lab.

Video Production Standards, Equipment, and System Design

Whitaker, Jerry; Benson, Blair. (McGraw-Hill Professional, 2002)

ELECTRONIC BOOK: available in ebrary

Video production techniques : theory and practice from concept to screen

Diefenbach, Donald L.. (Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, 2008)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1992.94 .D54 2008

"The companion DVD provides original demonstrations, clips from professional works, and interviews with film and video professionals."

Jill Werdell Spreitzer

Associate Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

werdeljc@udmercy.edu
313-993-1221

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library

How can we help you?

Back to Top