Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Communication Studies

Research Guides

Research methods

Distinctive qualities in communication research

Carbaugh, Donal A.; Buzzanell, Patrice M.. (Routledge/Taylor and Francis Group, 2010)
P 91.3 .D57 2009

Qualitative media analysis

Altheide, David L.. (Sage, 2012)
McNichols Campus Library
P 91.3 .A48 2013

Communications research in action : scholar-activist collaborations for a democratic public sphere

Napoli, Philip M.; Aslama, Minna. (Fordham University Press, 2011)
McNichols Campus Library
P 95.8 .C645 2011

Quantitative research in communication

Allen, Mike; Titsworth, Scott; Hunt, Stephen K.. (Sage, 2009)
McNichols Campus Library
P 93.7 .A44 2009

Communication Research: Strategies and Sources

Rubin, Rebecca B.. (Wadsworth, 2010)
P91.3 .R83 2010

Handbook of the arts in qualitative research : perspectives, methodologies, examples, and issues

Knowles, J. Gary; Cole, Ardra L.. (Sage 2008)
McNichols Campus Library
H 62 .K6275 2008

Qualitative inquiry & research design : choosing among five approaches

Creswell, John W.. (Sage Publications, 2007)
McNichols Campus Library
H 61 .C735 2007

Mass media research : an introduction

Wimmer, Roger D.; Dominick, Joseph R.. (Thomson Wadsworth, 2006)
McNichols Campus Library
P 91.3 .W47 2006

Topical issues in communications and media research

Kwansah-Aidoo, Kwamena (ed.).. (Nova Science Publishers, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
P 91.3 .T668 2005

Table of Contents

Understanding research methods : an overview of the essentials

Patten, Mildred L.. (Pyrczak Pub., c2005)
McNichols Campus Library
Q 180.55 .M4 P38 2005

Reading and Understanding Research

Locke, Lawrence F.. (Sage, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
Q 180 .A1 L63 2004

Qualitative research in journalism : taking it to the streets

Iorio, Sharon Hartin (ed.).. (Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 4784 .R38 Q35 2004

Handbook of political communication research

Kaid, Lynda Lee. (Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, 2004)
JA 85 .H36 2004

Table of Contents

Handbook of media and communication research : qualitative and quantitative methodologies

Jensen, Klaus Bruhn (ed.).. (Routledge, 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
P 91.3 .H34 2002

Precision journalism : a reporter's introduction to social science methods

Meyer, Philip. (Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 4775 .M48 2002

Info seeker : methods for successful research

Garner, Simon. (Insight Media, 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
LB 1047.3 .I64 2002 DVD

"This program ...covers five sections: deciding on a topic, breaking down the elephant (narrowing down a broad topic), collecting data, analysing data, and writing a report."

Research methods knowledge base

William M.K. Trochim. (Atomic Dog Publishing, 2001)
Q 180.55 .M4 T76 2001

Media and communication research methods : an introduction to qualitative and quantitative approaches

Berger, Arthur Asa. (Sage Publications, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
P 91.3 .B385 2000

Research paradigms, television, and social behavior

Asamen, Joy Keiko; Berry, Gordon L. (eds.).. (Sage Publications, 1998)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1992.6 .R465 1998

RESEARCH DESIGN

Visual communication research designs

Kenney, Keith R.. (Routledge, 2009)
McNichols Campus Library
P 93.5 .K46 2009

Practical research : planning and design

Leedy, Paul D.; Ormrod, Jeanne Ellis. (Pearson/Merrill Prentice Hall, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
Q 180.55 .M4 L43 2005

ETHICS

Danger in the field : risk and ethics in social research

Lee-Treweek, Geraldine; Linkogle, Stephanie (eds.).. (Routledge, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
H 62 .D24 2000

Ethics in qualitative research

Mauthner, Melanie. (Sage Publications, 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
H 62 .E777 2002

Citizen audience : crowds, publics, and individuals

Butsch, Richard. (Routledge, 2008)
McNichols Campus Library
P 96 .A832 U63 2008

Ratings analysis : the theory and practice of audience research

Webster, James G.; Phalen, Patricia F.; Lichty, Lawrence W.. (L. Erlbaum Associates, 2006)
McNichols Campus Library
HE 8700.65 .W42 2006

Media research methods : measuring audiences, reactions and impact

Gunter, Barrie. (Sage, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
P 91.3 .G86 2000

Research design : quantitative, qualitative, mixed methods, arts-based, and community-based participatory research approaches

Leavy, Patricia. (10th ed., Guildford Press, 2019)
McNichols Campus Library
H 62 .L396 2017

RADAR 96 reference guide

Arbitron.

This detailed website describes the methods Arbitron uses to determine radio audience ratings.

Content analysis guidebook online

Neuendorf, Kimberly A..

This site includes flowcharts and links to information on reliability assessments, codebooks and coding forms, and computer content analysis.

Content analysis : an introduction to its methodology

Krippendorff, Klaus. (SAGE, 2013)
McNichols Campus Library
P 93 .K74 2013

Text analysis info

Klein, Harald.

This site focuses on computer software for text analysis, including a glossary, and detailed, categorized links of software programs and how they work.

Content analysis reader

Krippendorff, Klaus; Bock, Mary Angela (eds.).. (Sage Publications, 2009)
McNichols Campus Library
P 93 .C65 2009

Introduction to Discourse Analysis: Theory and Method

Gee, James Paul. (Routledge, 2010)
McNichols Campus Library
P 302 .G4 2011

Television discourse : analysing language in the media

Lorenzo-Dus, Nuria. (Palgrave Macmillan, 2009)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1992.8 .L35 L67 2009

Advances in discourse studies

Bhatia, Vijay K.; Flowerdew, John; Jones, Rodney H. (eds.).. (Routledge, 2008)
McNichols Campus Library
P 302 .A324 2008

Discourse analysis

Widdowson, H. G.. (Oxford University Press, 2007)
P 302 .W53 2007

Sequence organization in interaction

Schegloff, Emanuel A.. (Cambridge University Press, 2007)
McNichols Campus Library
P 95.45 .S34 2007

Investigating media discourse

O'Keeffe, Anne. (Routledge, 2006)
McNichols Campus Library
P 96 .L34 O39 2006

Table of Contents

Conversation analysis as research methodology

Seedhouse, Paul. Applying conversation analysis. Richards, Keith; Seedhouse, Paul (eds.). Palgrave Macmillan, 2005.
McNichols Campus Library
P 95.45 .A66 2005

After rhetoric : the study of discourse beyond language and culture

Yarbrough, Stephen R.. (Southern Illinois University Press, 1999)
McNichols Campus Library
P 302 .Y37 1999

Discourse and Multimedia Analysis

Lemke, Jay.

This website was developed to accompany a course on discourse and multimedia analysis at the University of Michigan.  It includes links to online readings, a short glossary, and course notes.

Discourse in society

Teun A. van Dijk.

This website includes over forty full-text articles and book chapters by the author, an expert in the subject, on discourse methods and their applications.

Focus Groups: Theory and Practice

Stewart, David W., Prem N. Shamdasani, and Dennis W. Rook.. (SAGE Publications, c2007)
McNichols Campus Library
H 61.28 .S74 2007

Handbook of Interview Research: Context and Method

Gubrium, Jaber F. , and James A. Holstein, eds.. (Sage, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
H 61.28 .H36 2001

Special issue on Focus Groups

Carey, Martha Ann. Qualitative Health Research. (5(4), November 1995)

This special issue of Qualitative Health Research includes articles on focus group methodology, ethics, analysis, applications and pitfalls.

Focus group fundamentals

Grudens-Schuck, Nancy; Allen, Beverlyn Lundy; Larson, Kathlene.

This website from the Iowa State University Extension Center briefly summarizes the purposes, procedures and limitations of focus group research.

Narrative Methods for Organizational and Communication Research

Boje, David M.. (Sage, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 30.3 .B65 2001

Narrative analysis

Riessman, Catherine Kohler. (Sage, 1993)
P 302.7 .R54 1993

MEDIA FRAME ANALYSIS

Doing news framing analysis : empirical and theoretical perspectives

D'Angelo, Paul; Kuypers, Jim A.. (Routledge, 2010)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 4749 .D68 2010

Communication research measures

Free measurement instruments (mostly surveys) developed by faculty and graduate students at West Virginia University.

Mail and internet surveys : the tailored design method

Dillman, Don A.. (Wiley, 2007)
McNichols Campus Library
HM 538 .D55 2007

Table of Contents

How to conduct surveys : a step-by-step guide

Fink, Arlene. (Sage Publications, 2006)
McNichols Campus Library
HN 29 .F53 2006

Table of Contents

Designing and conducting survey research : a comprehensive guide

Rea, Louis M.; Parker, Richard A.. (Jossey-Bass, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
HA 31.2 .R43 2005

Table of Contents

Conducting research surveys via e-mail and the web

Schonlau, Matthias; Fricker, Ronald D. Jr.; Elliott, Marc N.. (Rand, 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
HA 29 .S366 2002

Survey research links

University of Illinois at Chicago Survey Research Laboratory.

This site includes links to codes of survey ethics and best practices, survey data analysis resources, and information on sample sizes and generating random samples.

Best Practices for Survey and Public Opinion Research

American Association for Public Opinion Research.

A detailed list of twelve necessary elements for conducting a quality survey.

What is a survey?

American Statistical Association : Survey Research Methods Section.

This online booklet explains how to plan a survey, conduct pretesting, collect data, analyze data, and judge survey quality.

META-ANALYSIS

Mass media effects research : advances through meta-analysis

Preiss, Raymond W.. (Erlbaum Associates, 2007)
McNichols Campus Library
HM 1206 .M374 2007

Table of Contents

Interpersonal communication research : advances through meta-analysis

Allen, Mike (ed.).. (Lawrence Erlbaum, 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
BF 637 .C45 I644 2002

STATISTICAL ANALYSIS

SPSS 16.0 Advanced Statistical Procedures Companion

NoruĊĦis, M. J.;. (Prentice Hall, 2008)
HA 32 .N6722 2008 + CD

Jill Werdell Spreitzer

Associate Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

werdeljc@udmercy.edu
313-993-1221

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library

How can we help you?

Back to Top