Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Communication Studies

Research Guides

Media Convergence and Consolidation

JOURNAL ARTICLES

Facing the Challenges of Convergence: Media Professionals’ Concerns of Working Across Media Platforms

Huang, Edgar; Davison, Karen; Shreve, Stephanie; Davis, Twila; Bettendorf, Elizabeth; Nair, Anita. Convergence. (12(1), February 2006, pp. 83-98)
McNichols Campus Library
ELECTRONIC ACCESS ONLY

Available in the Sage Communications Database.  For off-campus access, sign in with your library card barcode at http://www.dalnet.lib.mi.us/dpa/udm/

Political Issue or Policy Matter?: The U.S. Federal Communications Commission's Third Biennial Review of Broadcast Ownership Rules

Blevins, Jeffrey Layne; Brown, Duncan H.. Journal Of Communication Inquiry. (30(1), January 2006, pp. 21-41)
ELECTRONIC ACCESS ONLY

Available in the Sage Communication Studies database.  For off-campus access, sign in with your library card barcode at http://www.dalnet.lib.mi.us/dpa/udm/

Operating in the public interest or in pursuit of private profits? News in the age of media consolidation

Champlin, Dell; Knoedler, Janet. Journal of Economic Issues 36.2 (June 2002): p459(10).. (36(2), June 2002, pp 459-468)
ELECTRONIC ACCESS ONLY

Available in the InfoTrac OneFile database.  For off-campus access, sign in with your library barcode at http://www.dalnet.lib.mi.us/dpa/udm/

E-convergence: re-casting media and entertainment

Heffes, Ellen M.. Financial Executive,. (18(3), May 2002, p.33)
ELECTRONIC ACCESS ONLY

Available in the WilsonSelectPlus database. For off-campus access, sign in with your library barcode at http://www.dalnet.lib.mi.us/dpa/udm/

BOOK CHAPTERS

Media ownership: bridging research and regulation;

Heintz, Katharine E.; Glaubke, Christina R.. Communications research in action: scholar activist collaborations for a democratic public sphere. Napoli, Philip M.; Aslama, Minna (eds.), Fordham University Press, 2011.
McNichols Campus Library
P 95.8 .C645 2011

Available in print and also online in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

BOOKS

Media convergence : the three degrees of network, mass, and interpersonal communication

Jensen, Klaus. (Routledge, 2010)
McNichols Campus Library
P 96 .T42 J46 2010

Words and money

Schiffrin, Andre. (Verso, 2010)
McNichols Campus Library
P 96 .E25 S35 2010

Understanding media convergence : the state of the field

Grant, August E.; Wilkinson, Jeffrey S. (eds.).. (Oxford University Press, 2009)
McNichols Campus Library
P 90 .U46 2009

Media concentration and democracy : why ownership matters

Baker, C. Edwin. (Cambridge University Press, 2007)
McNichols Campus Library
P 96 .E25 U6257 2007

Table of Contents

Convergence culture : where old and new media collide

Jenkins, Henry. (New York University Press, 2006)
McNichols Campus Library
P 94.65 .U6 J46 2006

Table of Contents

Conversations on convergence : insiders' views on news production in the 21st century

Quinn, Stephen. (Peter Lang, 2006)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 4731 .C66 2006

Table of Contents

Converging media, diverging politics : a political economy of news media in the United States and Canada

Skinner, David; Compton, James R.; Gasher, Michael (eds.).. (Lexington Books, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 4867 .C62 2005

Table of Contents

News incorporated : corporate media ownership and its threat to democracy

Cohen, Elliot D. (ed.).. (Prometheus Books, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
HE 8689.8 .N48 2005

Table of Contents

Quieted voice : the rise and demise of localism in American radio

Hilliard, Robert L.; Keith, Michael C.. (Southern Illinois University Press, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
HE 8698 .H55 2005

Table of Contents

Competition in the communications marketplace : how convergence is blurring the lines between voice, video, and data services

Subcommittee on Telecommunications and the Internet of the Committee on Energy and Commerce, House of Representatives, One Hundred Eighth Congress. (U.S. G.P.O., 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
Government Document Stacks Y 4.C 73/8:108-85

"hearing before the Subcommittee on Telecommunications and the Internet of the Committee on Energy and Commerce, House of Representatives, One Hundred Eighth Congress, second session, May 19, 2004."

Consumer behavior and culture : consequences for global marketing and advertising

Mooij, Marieke de. (Sage, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
HF 5415.32 .M66 2004

Table of Contents

Contemporary world television

Sinclair, John (ed.).. (BFI, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1992.5 .C625 2004

Table of Contents

Memory bytes : history, technology, and digital culture

Rabinovitz, Lauren - ed.. (Duke University Press, 2004.)
McNichols Campus Library
P 96 .T42 M45 2004

New media monopoly

Bagdikian, Ben H.. (Beacon Press, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
P 96 .E25 B34 2004

Who owns the media? : global trends and local resistances

Thomas, Pradip N.; Nain, Zaharom (eds.).. (Palgrave, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
P 96 .E25 W524 2004

Table of Contents

Digital journalism : emerging media and the changing horizons of journalism

Kawamoto, Kevin (ed.).. (Rowman & Littlefield, 2003)
PN 4833 .D55 2003

Marketing convergence : how the leading companies are profiting from integrating online and offline marketing strategies

Jones, Susan K.; Spiegel, Ted. (Thomson/South-Western, 2003)
McNichols Campus Library
HF 5415 .J66 2003

Clear signals? : telecommunications, convergence and the quality of information

Federal Library and Information Center Committee, Library of Congress. (U.S. G.P.O., 1998)
McNichols Campus Library
Government Document Stacks LC 1.2:SI 2

Megamedia : how giant corporations dominate mass media, distort competition, and endanger democracy

Alger, Dean. (Rowman & Littlefield, 1998)
McNichols Campus Library
P 90 .E25 A44 1998

Technologies of freedom

Sola Pool, Ithiel de. (Belknap Press, 1983)
McNichols Campus Library
KF 2750 .P66 1983

WEBSITES

Federal Communications Commission Media Bureau

Federal Communications Commission.

This site includes FCC staff research reports and papers, communication industries' analysis, information on public hearings, and information FCC policies. 

Introduction to Media Studies

Coleman, Beth.

This online MIT course focuses on and includes keys to key readings on media convergence.

Media Consolidation on NOW

Public Affairs Television.

This companion site to the PBS television program : NOW includes information on the history of media regulation, proposed FCC rule changes, and statistics on local and national media ownership.  It also includes transcripts of interviews with FCC officials and with media magnate Barry Diller.

Newsplex

University of South Carolina College of Mass Communications and Information Studies.

This website includes information on upcoming convergence-related conferences, conference archives,  and Newsplex, a "multimedia  newsroom of the future" used for training and reserch.  The site also links to Convergence, a monthly newletter with articles on media and journalism convergence.

TechNewsWorld Media Convergence

TechNewsWorld.

This online technology news magazine includes many brief articles on media mergers and cross-platform media.

Telecommunications Policy Research Conference (TPRC)

The TPRC is an annual conference that brings together industry and academic researchers with public and private policy makers.  This site includes full-text papers from conferences going back to 2002.  Examples of papers include Jonathan D. Levy's Australian and US Approaches to Media Ownership Regulation and Richard A. Gershon's The Deregulation Paradox.

Big media, little kids: the impact of ownership concentrationon the availability of television programming for children

Heintz, Katharine E.; Glaubke, Christina R.. Communications research in action: scholar activist collaborations for a democratic public sphere. Napoli, Philip M.; Aslama, Minna (eds.), Fordham University Press, 2011.
McNichols Campus Library
P 95.8 .C645 2011

Available in print and also online in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

Jill Werdell Spreitzer

Associate Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

werdeljc@udmercy.edu
313-993-1221

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library

How can we help you?

Back to Top