Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Communication Studies

Research Guides

Radio Broadcasting

Techniques and Handbooks

Broadcast voice handbook : how to polish your on-air delivery

Freedman, Michael G.; Utterback, Ann S.. (Bonus Books, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1991.8 .A6 U87 2005

Voices in the sky : radio debates

Snider, Alfred. (IDEA Press Books, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 4181 .S665 2005

Table of Contents

Radio producer's handbook

Kaempfer, Rick. (Allworth Press, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1991.75 .K34 2004

Table of Contents

VO : tales and techniques of a voice-over actor

Hogan, Harlan. (Allworth Press, 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1990.9 .A54 2002

NPR hosts on the art of interviewing

(National Public Radio, 1995)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 4784 .I6 N3 1995

"NPR interviewers show how to prepare and conduct interviews." (17 min.)

Basic radio skills

Australian Film, Television & Radio School. (Acrobat Publishers, 1991)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1991.5 .B37 1991

Seven VHS cassettes, 215 min. "Provides a comprehensive introduction to both the technical and creative aspects of the radio environment."

  • Vol. 1: Radio studio
  • Vol. 2: Radio interview
  • Vol. 3: Editing
  • Vol. 4: Announcing and presentation
  • Vol. 5: Radio talkback
  • Vol. 6: Radio news
  • Vol. 7: Radio writing

Covering the environmental beat : an overview for radio and TV journalists

Prato, Lou. (Environmental Reporting Forum, 1991)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 4888 .E65 P7 1991

Sportscasting

Hitchcock, John R.. (Focal Press, 1991)
McNichols Campus Library
GV 742 .H58 1991

Broadcast voice handbook : coping with stress

Utterback, Ann S.. (Bonus Books, 1990)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1991.8 .A6 U878 1992

1 audio cassette, 48 minutes.

"Ann Utterback explains how stress affects the speaking voice, gives advice on the importance of good health habits in lessening the buildup of stress, and offers exercises for reducing stress."

Broadcast voice handbook : vocal exercises

Utterback, Ann S.. (Bonus Books, 1990)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1991.8 .A6 U876 1990

1 audiocassette, 49 minutes.

"Ann Utterback describes vocal warmup exercises to improve breathing, tonation, resonation and articulation."

Broadcast voice handbook : vocal expressiveness

Utterback, Ann S.. (Bonus Books, 1990)
McNichols Campus Library
Circulation Desk PN 1991.8 .A6 U877 1991

1 audiocassette, 43 minutes.

"Ann Utterback describes techniques for improving vocal expressiveness when reading copy on the air."

Writing for radio

Film, Television & Radio School. (Acrobat Publishers, 1989)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1991.7 .W75 1989

"Interviews with writers at the 1988 Year of the writer conference held at the AFTRS."

Duncan's radio market guide

Duncan, James. (Duncan Media Enterprises, 1984-)
McNichols Campus Library
HF 6146 .R3 D863

Includes 1 CD-ROM.

Media promotion and marketing for broadcasting, cable, and the Internet

Eastman, Susan Tyler; Ferguson, Douglas A., Klein, Robert A. (eds.). (Elsevier/Focal Press, 2006)
McNichols Campus Library
HE 8689.7 .M37 P76 2006

Table of Contents

Broadcast History

Library of American Broadcasting

University Libraries, University of Maryland.

This collection, originally from the Broadcast Pioneers Library at the National Association of Broadcasters, includes scripts, photographs, oral histories and audio and video clips related to the history of broadcasting.

Sounds of change : a history of FM broadcasting in America

Sterling, Christopher H.; Keith. Michael C.. (University of North Carolina Press, 2008)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1991.3 .U6 S78 2008

Rise of radio, from Marconi through the Golden Age

Balk, Alfred. (McFarland & Co., 2006)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1991.3 .U6 B35 2006

Table of Contents

Transmitting the past : historical and cultural perspectives on broadcasting

Winn, J. Emmett; Brinson, Susan L. (eds.). (University of Alabama Press, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1990.6 .U5 T73 2005

Table of Contents

Radio Voices

Ritchie, Donald A.. Reporting from Washington : the history of the Washington press corps.
McNichols Campus Library
PN 4888 .O25 R58 2005

Empire of the air : the men who made radio

Ward, Geoffrey C.. (PBS DVD Video 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
TK 6548 .U6 L482 2002 DVD

"Story of radio from 1906-1955 and the three men who made it happen: Lee de Forest, Edwin Howard Armstrong, and David Sarnoff. Combines archival photographs, newsreels of the period, interviews, and radio soundtrack." (112 min.)

Radio and the struggle for civil rights in the South

Ward, Brian. (University Press of Florida, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1991.8 .A35 W37 2004

Inventing American broadcasting, 1899-1922

Douglas, Susan J.. (Johns Hopkins University Press, 1987)
McNichols Campus Library
HE 8698 .D685 1987

Invention and innovation in the radio industry

Maclaurin, W. Rupert. (Arno Press, 1971)
McNichols Campus Library
TK6547 .M32 1971

Early days of radio broadcasting

Douglas, George H.. (McFarland, 1987)
McNichols Campus Library
HE 8698 .D68 1987

History of radio to 1926

Archer, Gleason L.. (Arno Press, 1971)
McNichols Campus Library
TK6548.U6 A8 1971

Public broadcasting : the role of the Federal Government, 1912-76

Gibson, George H.. (Praeger, 1977)
McNichols Campus Library
HE8689.8 G5 1977

Encyclopedia of American radio, 1920-1960

Sies, Luther F.. (McFarland, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1991.2 .S57 2000

Don't touch that dial! : Radio programming in American life, 1920-1960

Macdonald, J. Fred. (Nelson-Hall, 1979)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1991.3 .U6 M3

Radio : the great years

Parker, Derek. (David & Charles, 1977)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1991.3 .G7 P37

Texas signs on : the early days of radio and television

Schroeder, Richard. (Texas A & M University Press)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1990.6 .U5 S36 1998

Selling radio : the commercialization of American broadcasting, 1920-1934

Smulyan, Susan. (Smithsonian Institution, 1994)
McNichols Campus Library
HE 8698 .S6 1994

Modern stentors : radio broadcasters and the Federal Government, 1920-1934

Rosen, Philip T.. (Greenwood Press, 1980)
McNichols Campus Library
HE8698 .R66

Media at war : radio's challenge to the newspapers, 1924-1939

Jackaway, Gwyneth. (Praeger, 1995)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 4815 .J27 1995

Ezra Pound's radio operas : the BBC experiments, 1931-1933

Fisher, Margaret. (MIT Press, 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
ML 410 .P7875 F57 2002

Radio active : advertising and consumer activism, 1935-1947

Newman, Kathy M.. (University of California Press, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
HF 6146 .R3 N48 2004

Table of Contents

"Ezra Pound speaking" : radio speeches of World War II

Pound, Ezra. (Greenwood Press, 1978)
McNichols Campus Library
PS3531.O82 E96 1978

Edited by Leonard W. Doob.

Radio comedy

Wertheim, Arthur Frank. (Oxford University Press, 1979)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1991.8 .C65 W47

Best of suspense : radio's outstanding theater of thrills

(Radio Spirits, 2003)
McNichols Campus Library
Circulation Desk PN 6120 .R2 B47 2003

Twenty CD's containing "Thirty-eight complete original radio shows with commercials; broadcast between 1942-1962."

House That Jack Built : my life story as a trailblazer in broadcasting and entertainment

Jackson, Hal; Haskins, James. (Amistad Press, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1991.4 .J33 A3 2001

Radio and television regulation : broadcast technology in the United States, 1920-1960

Slotten, Hugh R.. (Johns Hopkins University Press, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
HE 8689.8 .S56 2000

Arthur Godfrey : the adventures of an American broadcaster

Singer, Arthur J.. (McFarland, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1991.4 .G6 S57 2000

Big voices of the air : the battle over clear channel radio

Foust, James C.. (Iowa State University Press, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
HE 8698 .F68 2000

Golden throats and silver tongues : the radio announcers

Poindexter, Ray. (River Road Press, 1978)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1991.4 .A2 P6

Radio live! television live! : those golden days when horses were coconuts

Mott, Robert L.. (McFarland, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1992.3 .U5 M63 2000

Rockin' down the dial : the Detroit sound of radio from Jack the Bellboy to the Big 8

Carson, David. (Momentum Books, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
HE 8698 .C37 2000

Talking radio : an oral history of American radio in the television age

Keith, Michael C. (ed.). (M. E. Sharpe, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1991.2 .T35 2000

Radio and Cultures

Listener supported : the culture and history of public radio

Mitchell, Jack W.. (Praeger, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
HE 8697.95 .U6 M58 2005

Table of Contents

Quieted voice : the rise and demise of localism in American radio

Hilliard, Robert L.; Keith, Michael C.. (Southern Illinois University Press, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
HE 8698 .H55 2005

Table of Contents

Listening in : radio and the American imagination

Douglas, Susan J.. (University of Minnesota Press, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1991.3 .U6 D68 2004

Communities of the air : radio century, radio culture

Squier, Susan Merrill (ed.). (Duke University Press, 2003)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1991.6 .C66 2003

Hispanic media in Michigan

(Michigan Commission on Spanish Speaking Affairs, 2003)
McNichols Campus Library
P 94.5 .H58 H57 2003

Border radio : quacks, yodelers, pitchmen, psychics, and other amazing broadcasters of the American airwaves

Fowler, Gene; Crawford, Bill. (University of Texas Press, 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1991.3 .U6 F66 2002

Play-by-play : radio, television, and big-time college sport

Smith, Ronald A.. (Johns Hopkins University Press, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
GV 742 .S64 2001

Radio reader : essays in the cultural history of radio

Hilmes, Michele; Loviglio, Jason (eds.). (Routledge, 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1991.2 .R33 2001

Sounds in the dark : all-night radio in American life

Keith, Michael C.. (Iowa State University Press, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1991 .U6 K45 2001

Culture of American college radio

Sauls, Samuel J.. (Iowa State University Press, 2000.)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1991.67 .C64 S38 2000

Radio in the global age

Hendy, David. (Blackwell, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
HE 8694 .H45 2000

Studying radio

Barnard, Stephen. (Oxford University Press, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
HE 8699 .G7 B376 2000

Radio Free Dixie : Robert F. Williams & the roots of Black power

Tyson, Timothy B.. (North Caroline University Press, 1999)
McNichols Campus Library
F 264 .M75 T97 1999

Voice over : the making of Black radio

Barlow, William. (Temple University Press, 1999)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1991.8 .A35 B37 1999

Legendary pioneers of Black radio

Williams, Gilbert A.. (Praeger, 1998)
McNichols Campus Library
ML 406 .W56 1998

Cool gent : the nine lives of radio legend Herb Kent

Kent, Herb. (Lawrence Hill Books, 2009)
McNichols Campus Library
ML 429 .K47 A3 2009

Richard Durham's Destination freedom : scripts from radio's Black legacy, 1948-50

Durham, Richard. (Praeger, 1989)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 6120 .N4 D87 1989

Edited by J. Fred Macdonald.

Entrepreneurs of profit and pride : from Black-appeal to radio soul

Newman, Mark. (Praeger, 1988)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1991.8 .A35 N49 1988

Dynamics of black radio : a research report

Bachman, R. Dwight. (Creative Universal Products, 1977)
McNichols Campus Library
PN4888.R33 B3

Signals in the air : Native broadcasting in America

Keith, Michael C.. (Praeger, 1995)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1991.8 .I53 K45 1995

Psychology of radio

Cantril, Hadley; Allport, Gordon W.. (Arno Press, 1971)
McNichols Campus Library
TK 6570 .B7 C34 1971

Radio and Politics

Radio's intimate public : network broadcasting and mass-mediated democracy

Loviglio, Jason. (University of Minnesota Press, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1991.3 .U6 L68 2005

Table of Contents

Radio : a post nine-eleven strategy for reaching the world's poor

Sposato, Stephen; Smith, William. (University Press of America, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 76 .S66 2005

Dirty discourse : sex and indecency in American radio

Hilliard, Robert L.; Keith, Michael C.. (Iowa State Press, 2003)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1991.8 .S44 H55 2003

Rebels on the air : an alternative history of radio in America

Walker, Jesse. (New York University Press, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1991.3 .U6 W35 2001

Conflicting communication interests in America : the case of National Public Radio

McCourt, Tom. (Praeger, 1999)
McNichols Campus Library
HE 8697.95 .U6 M363 1999

Messages from the underground : transnational radio in resistance and in solidarity

Street, Nancy Lynch; Matelski, Marilyn J.. (Praeger, 1997)
McNichols Campus Library
HE 8697.8 .S77 1997

Stations of the Cross : Adorno and Christian right radio

Apostolidis, Paul. (Duke University Press, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
BV 656 .A66 2000

Radio Canada International : voice of a middle power

Hall, James L.. (Michigan State University Press, 1997)
McNichols Campus Library
HE 8697.45 .C2 H35 1997

Radio Free Europe and the pursuit of democracy : my war within the Cold War

Urban, George R.. (Yale University Press, 1997)
McNichols Campus Library
HE 8697.8 .U73 1997

War of the black heavens : the battles of Western broadcasting in the Cold War

Nelson, Michael. (Syracuse University Press, 1997)
McNichols Campus Library
HE 8697.8 .N45 1997

Radio priest : Charles Coughlin, the father of hate radio

Warren, Donald. (Free Press, 1996)
McNichols Campus Library
BX 4705 .C7795 W35 1996

Rebel radio : the story of El Salvador's Radio Venceremos

López Vigil, José Ignacio. (Curbstone Press, 1994)
McNichols Campus Library
Stacks F 1488.3 .L6813 1994

Translated by Mark Fried.

Broadcasting propaganda : international radio broadcasting and the construction of political reality

Wasburn, Philo C.. (Praeger, 1992)
McNichols Campus Library
HE 8697.8 .W37 1992

Comparing broadcast systems : the experiences of six industrialized nations

Browne, Donald R.. (Iowa State University Press, 1989)
McNichols Campus Library
HE 8689.4 .B76 1989

National and international systems of broadcasting; their history, operation, and control

Emery, Walter B.. (Michigan State University Press, 1969)
McNichols Campus Library
HE 8689.4 .E5

Radio warfare : OSS and CIA subversive propaganda

Soley, Lawrence C.. (Praeger, 1989)
McNichols Campus Library
D 810 .P7 U53 1989

World communications : a 200-country survey of press, radio, television, and film

United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization, Dept. of Mass Communications. (5th ed., Unipub, 1975)
McNichols Campus Library
P 90 .W64 1975

Soviet censorship

Dewhirst, Martin; Farrell, Robert. (Scarecrow Press, 1973)
McNichols Campus Library
Z657 .D41 1973

Jill Werdell Spreitzer

Associate Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

werdeljc@udmercy.edu
313-993-1221

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library

How can we help you?

Back to Top