Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Communication Studies

Research Guides

Grassroots journalism

Alt-Press Watch (ProQuest)

This database includes full text articles from approximately 200 grassroots newspapers, magazines and journals.  Publications such as The Village Voice and Agains the Current provide alternatives to corporate, mainstream news outlets.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Alternative and activist new media

Lievrouw, Leah A.. (Polity, 2011)
McNichols Campus Library
P 95.8 .L54 2011

Alternative media

Atton, Chris. (SAGE, 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
P 96 .A442 G743 2002

Association of Alternative Newsmedia

This website includes information about and links to 120 alternative news organizations that focus on local news.  "There are a wide range of publications in AAN. What ties them together are a strong focus on local news, culture and the arts; an informal and sometimes profane style; an emphasis on point-of-view reporting and narrative journalism; a tolerance for individual freedoms and social differences; and an eagerness to report on issues and communities that many mainstream media outlets ignore."-- from the website

Citizen Journalism

Ludtke, Melissa (ed.).. Nieman Reports. (Winter 2005)

This volume of Nieman Reports includes thirteen essays on how the internet and new technology, such as smart phones cameras, are shaping how news is reported, allowing the public to play a more active part.

CNN iReport

This website invites readers to submit stories, photos and videos on topics in the news that they want to share with a wider audience.

Digital media and democracy : tactics in hard times

Boler, Megan. (MIT Press, 2008)
McNichols Campus Library
P 95.8 .D54 2008

Available in print and also online the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

LA Weekly

This alternative newsletter boasts the largest circulation of any in the U.S..  It is known for its confrontational political reporting and its coverage of the L.A. arts and cultural scene.

Media, profit, and politics : competing priorities in an open society

Harper, Joe; Yantek, Thom (eds.).. (Kent State University Press, c2003)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 4751 .K465 2001

Media perspectives for the 21st century

Papathanassopoulos, Stylianos (ed.).. (Routledge, 2011)
McNichols Campus Library
P 90 .M3679 2011

Metro Times

The Metro Times is Detroit's largest alternative newspaper that includes "Hard-hitting journalism, in-depth profiles of local artists, musicians, and cultural icons"-- from the website.

My odyssey through the underground press

Kindman, Michael. (Michigan State University Press, 2011)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 4874 .K5457 A3 2011

People's movements, people's press : the journalism of social justice movements

Ostertag, Bob. (Beacon Press, 2006)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 4888 .U5 O88 2006

Pew Center for Civic Journalism

"The Pew Center is an incubator for civic journalism experiments that enable news organizations to create and refine better ways of reporting the news to re-engage people in public life."  This website includes research, articles and publications on civic journalism.

Pressthink

Rosen, Jay.

This blog, by Jay Rosen, a journalism professor at New York University, attempts to question the overall philosophy and goals of the press.

Public journalism 2.0 : the promise and reality of a citizen-engaged press

Rosenberry, Jack; St. John, Burton III.. (Routledge, 2010.)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 4784 .C615 P83 2010

Smoking typewriters : the Sixties underground press and the rise of alternative media in America

McMillian, John C.. (Oxford University Press, 2011)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 4888 .U5 M35 2011

Soundbitten : the perils of media-centered political activism

Sobieraj, Sarah. (New York University Press, 2011)
McNichols Campus Library
JA 85.2 .U6 S66 2011

Struggles for Equal Voice: The History of African American Media Democracy

Kiuchi, Yuya. (SUNY Press, 2012)
PN 1992.8 .A34 K58 2012

Village Voice

The Village Voice is one of the largest alternative newspapers in the U.S..  It has been the recipient of three Pulitzer Prizes and is known for it's investigative journalism, editorials, and reviews of New York's arts and culture.  

We the media : grassroots journalism by the people, for the people

Gillmor, Dan. (O'Reilly, 2006)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 4784 .O62 G55 2006

Your guide to citizen journalism

Glaser, Mark.

This website includes information on the history and terminology of citizen journalism, as well as links to additional resources

Jill Werdell Spreitzer

Associate Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

werdeljc@udmercy.edu
313-993-1221

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library

How can we help you?

Back to Top