Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Communication Studies

Research Guides

Science and Technical Writing

Chicago guide to communicating science

Montgomery, Scott L.. (University of Chicago Press, 2003)

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

Chicago guide to writing about numbers

Miller, Jane E.. (University of Chicago Press, 2004)

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

Designing conference posters

Purrington, Colin.

Very detailed guidelines on poster layout and design

Doing science : design, analysis, and communication of scientific research

Valiela, Ivan. (Oxford University Press, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
Q 180 .A1 V35 2001

Engineering technical reports

This guide from the writing center at Colorado State University includes general guidelines and examples of technical reports.

Engineering writing with Dr. Robert LAne

University Writing Center, Texas A & M University.

This podcast discusses how documenting and sharing their work with different types of writing can positively affect engineers in their careers.

Engineers' guide to technical writing

Budinski, Kenneth G.. (ASM International, 2001)

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

How to write & illustrate a scientific paper

Gustavii, Bjorn. (Cambridge University Press, 2003)
McNichols Campus Library
T 11 .G86 2003

How to write a grant application

Hackshaw, Allan K.. (Wiley-Blackwell, 2011)
McNichols Campus Library
R 853 .P75 H33 2011

How to write and publish a scientific paper

Day, Robert A.; Gastel, Barbara. (Greenwood Press, 2006)
McNichols Campus Library
T 11 .D33 2006

Making sense : a student

Northey, Margot; Jewinski, Judi. (Oxford University Press, 2009)
McNichols Campus Library
T 11 .N675 2009

MIT guide to science and engineering communication

Paradis, James G.; Zimmerman, Muriel L.. (MIT Press, 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
Q 223 .P33 2002

Reporting results : a practical guide for engineers and scientists

Van Aken ,David C.; Hosford, William F.. (Cambridge University Press, 2008)
McNichols Campus Library
T 11 .V358 2008

Reports, proposals, and technical papers

Purdue Online Writing.

 

This webpage includes information on scientific writing style and document design, as well as examples of tables and figures.  It also has a section on writing report abstracts and specific information on writing engineering reports.

Research posters

Writing Center, Texas A & M University.

Tips and guidelines on the design and layout of research posters.

Science and technical writing : a manual of style

Rubens, Philip (ed.).. (2nd ed., Routledge, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
T 11 .S378 2001

Scientific writing : a reader and writer's guide

Lebrun, Jean-Luc. (World Scientific, 2007)

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

Scientific writing booklet

Tischler, Marc E..

This online booklet by a University of Arizona professor gives detailed instructions on how to write each sectionof a scientific paper. 

Short guide to writing about chemistry

Davis, Holly B.; Tyson, Julian F.; Pechenik, Jan A.. (Longman, 2010)
McNichols Campus Library
QD 8.5 .D38 2010

Style and Ethics of Communication in Science and Engineering

Humphrey, Jay D.; Holmes, Jeffrey W.. (Morgan & Claypool, 2009)
McNichols Campus Library
T10.5 .H865 2009

Technical writing A-Z : a commonsense guide to engineering reports and theses

Young, Trevor M.. (ASME Press, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
T 11 .Y69 2005

Telling stories : a short path to writing better software requirements

Rinzler, Ben. (Wiley Pub., 2009)
McNichols Campus Library
QA 76.76 .D47 R57 2009

Twenty-one suggestions for writing good scientific papers

Delong, Michael D..

Adapted from a paper by Ken Lertzman

Word usage in scientific writing

A short grammar guide from Iowa State University's College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

Writing and presenting scientific papers

Malmfors, Birgitta; Garnsworthy, Phil; Grossman, Michael. (Nottingham University Press, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

Writing for science

Goldbort, Robert. (Yale University Press, 2006)
McNichols Campus Library
T 11 .G626 2006

Writing guidelines for engineering and science students

Alley, Michael.

This useful website includes exercises and samples as well as guidleines for poster and slide presentations, engineering correspondence, formal reports, proposals and journal articles.

Writing science : how to write papers that get cited and proposals that get funded

Schimel, Joshua. (Oxford University Press, 2012)
McNichols Campus Library
T 11 .S35 2012

Writing scientific research articles : strategy and steps

Cargill, Margare; O'Connor, Patrick. (Wiley-Blackwell, 2009)
McNichols Campus Library
T 11 .C327 2009

Jill Werdell Spreitzer

Associate Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

werdeljc@udmercy.edu
313-993-1221

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library

How can we help you?

Back to Top