Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Communication Studies

Research Guides

Documentaries

Arab-Israeli conflict in the media : producing shared memory and national identity in the global television era

Ashuri, Tamar. (Tauris Academic Studies, 2010)

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required).


Table of Contents:

  • The television documentary and the representation of national identity and shared memory
  • Television, nationalism and globalization
  • Co-producing television programmes
  • The cultural economy of the 'Televised history': The Fifty Years War -- the production process
  • Editing national and culture: the final three cuts
  • TV 'Tension': Globalization vs. nationalism and shared vs. cosmopolitan  memory in co-produced television documentaries  
  • Conclusion

Cruel radiance : photography and political violence

Linfield, Susie. (University of Chicago Press, 2010)

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required).

Curating oral histories : from interview to archive

MacKay, Nancy. (Left Coast Press, 2007)

Available in the ebrary database.

Documentary testimonies : global archives of suffering

Sarkar, Bhaskar; Walker, Janet. (Routledge, 2010)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1995.9 .D6 D5775 2010

How to setup, light, & shoot great looking interviews (using a light kit that costs under $1500)

Jensen, Doug. (Vortex Media, 2006)
McNichols Campus Library
TR 891 .H68 2006 DVD

One DVD (60 minutes).

KenBurns

This website includes biographical and professional background on Ken Burns, as well as links to descriptions and clips of more than twenty of his films.
 

Michael Moore : filmmaker, newsmaker, cultural

Bernstein, Matthew (ed.).. (University of Michigan Pres, 2010)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1998.3 .M665 M53 2010

Photographs for a lifetime

Lange, Dorothea. (Viking Penguin, 1982)
McNichols Campus Library
TR 653 .L35 1982

Photography as activism : images for social change

Bogre, Michelle. (Focal Press, 2012)
McNichols Campus Library
TR 820.5 .B655 2012

Contents:


·    Chapter One: Activism: Practice and Process
o    Philosophy and Psychology
o    History: Early Activism
o    History: Early Conflict and War Photography
o    Social Reform and the Progressive Era
o    Farm Security Administration


·    Chapter Two: Moments in Time
o    Modern History
o    W. Eugene Smith
o    Mary Ellen Mark
o    Susan Meiselas
o    Donna Ferrato v
o    British Activism: Chris Killip and Paul Graham
o    Stephen Shames v
o    Sebastiô Salgado


·    Chapter Three: Constructing a Better World
o    Eugene Richards
o    Marcus Bleasdale
o    Tom Stoddart v
o    Jonathan Torgovnik
o    Edward Kashi
o    Brent Stirton
o    Stephen Dupont
o    Walter Astrada


·    Appendix: Resources
o    Websites, Magazines & Galleries
o    Festivals & Events
o    Non-Profits & NGOs
o    Miscellaneous Projects
o    Foundations & Grants
o    Photographers & Artists
 

Radio utopia : postwar audio documentary in the public interest

Ehrlich, Matthew C.. (University of Illinois Press, 2011))
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1991.3 .U6 E37 2011

Recording Memories from Political Violence : A Film-maker's Journey

McLaughlin, Cahal. (Intellect Ltd., 2010)

Available in the ebrary database.

Robert Frank's The Americans: the art of documentary photography

Day, Jonathan. (Intellect, 2011)

Available in the ebrary database.

Shanghai television's documentary channel : Chinese television as public space

Berry, Chris. TV China. Zhu, Ying;, Berry Chris (eds.). Indiana University Press, 2009.

Available in the ebrary database.

Shut up and shoot documentary guide : a Down & dirty DV production

Artis, Anthony Q.. (Focal Press, 2008)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1995.9 .D6 A78 2008

Trespassing through shadows : memory, photography, and the Holocaust

Liss, Andrea. (University of Minnesota Press, 1998)
McNichols Campus Library
D 804.35 .L577 1998

Available in print and online through the ebrary database.

Jill Werdell Spreitzer

Associate Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

werdeljc@udmercy.edu
313-993-1221

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library

How can we help you?

Back to Top