Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Chemistry

Scholarly Articles + Databases

Databases for Chemisty

ACS - American Chemical Society Journals

Contains the full text of all core American Chemical Society journals from the beginning of each journal, the earliest issue being from 1879. The entire collection can be searched directly from the initial screen; all journals can be browsed from this screen as well. Effective January 2010, the complete run of The Journal of Chemical Education is also available from this site.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

SciFinder Scholar (ACS)

SciFinder ScholarTM is a research discovery tool that allows college students and faculty to access a wide diversity of research from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, material science, agricultural science, and more! 

With one single source, you can explore scientific information in journals and patent literature from around the world:

references from nearly 9,500 currently published journals and patents from more than 50 active patent issuing authorities

important scientific discoveries from the present to the mid-1800s

the latest scientific breakthroughs almost as soon as they are published with references added daily and some patent information as recent as two days ago

the world's largest collection of organic and inorganic substance information 

Inquire at the Research and Information Desk for additional information on accessing SciFinder.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Highwire Press

Highwire Press is a collaborative online publishing effort that incorporates online journals from many publishers. This links directly to the publisher listing. Access to over 200 Sage journals is available through Highwire Press. There is also a substantial collection of freely accessible journals in Highwire, some of which limit access to journal issues that are 12 or more months old.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Science Direct

Provides full-text of nearly 1900 journals published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries. Beginning coverage for journals varies, but most start in 1995 or 1996 and continue to the most recent issue. For many titles, articles in press are also available. Most journals are in the fields of science, technology or medicine, but journals in the social sciences, humanities and business are also included. The title holdings listed in "Full Text Journals in UDM Databases" show the start date for journals included in the Science Direct Freedom Collection; for most dates prior to 1995, only abstracts are available.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Wiley Online Library

The Wiley Online Library includes all electronic book and journal publications from Wiley. Journals formerly in the Blackwell Synergy collection are now included in the Wiley Online Library. Full text is available for these journals from at least 2001 (except for new journals) and coverage for some goes back to the 1970s. Volumes available through UDM are preceded by an open padlock icon.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Cindy Gilham

Associate Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

gillhaca@udmercy.edu
313-993-1810

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Journals Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top